• I think these comments are worthy of discussion under a new

thread.

The subject is Bob Marley and I quote Bricktop)
    "Take away the locks and ganja smoking and you would never have heard of Bob Marley. Not a prolific lyricist. Prolific songwriter. And unnuh a talk bout nursery rhyme? Bob had his fair share of nursery rhyme lyrics. Not to mention he became known internationally for a cover tune."
    "A fake? Where yuh see me say anything like that? All I am saying is that the phenomenon that is Bob Marley was due to image more than anything else."
    So was Bob Marley a creation of a clever and successful marketing strategy? a "Menudo" or sorts? or was he indeed truly a genius of reggae whose music would have brought him to the fore regardless?
    Last edited by Peter R; April 1, 2009, 07:08 PM.

Pretty freaking rediculous. what a joke.

My own opinion is that Bob was a GENIUS. Won't say too much more at this point.

it's moot.

To answer this question:
          So was Bob Marley a creation of a clever and successful marketing strategy?

Yes but he was also a genius on music. To understand my point; watch a
          documentary called catch a fire. Without a doubt;the Wailers' and Bob music was skillfully manipulated to penetrate the European and North American market.

I have many documentaries on Bob, also
            books.

So did Chris Blackwell say to himself: " I think I'll take the next ganja smoking dreadlocks I see and turn him into a superstar?"

Bob was great no doubt, but the marketing aspect has certainly helped a lot.

No! What he saw was talent and he
                  knew he could take Bob places. Incidentally Rolling Stone manager came and saw Bob, asked to sign this gifted singer (after seeing one concert in KgN) he was told his friend Blackwell already signed Bob.

bob was also very shrewd with his money too. You may see on some albums, some songs written by Rita et al, this was for a purpose (I won't get in on the board).

In a nutshell: The ganja smoking dread is just a way to belittle ourselves (note I said ourselves)because at the time the plantation elite viewed Bob with scorn.

Quote: the stone that the builder refuse shall be the head corner stone..

I put it to you that Chris Blackwell knew talent and potential when he saw it... Bob's genius came to the fore and his international fame and success probably far exceeded anything Blackwell had imagined in his wildest dreams.

Ok..see my post below... I wrote the above because the implication by Bricktop's comment (he can correct me) is that the image of the ganja smoking dreadlocks is what contributed to Bob's fame.

Not to mention he became known internationally for a cover tune."
                        Which cover chune that? I shot the sherrif? Eric Clapton knew the work of a genius when he saw it.

Bob is so so talent. It was a pity that I discovered him (or started listening to him) until just a few years before his passing. I credit one Errol Thompson and his Turntable Time pprogram for featuring Bob and his music and lyrics that made me stop and started taking notice. Otherwise, it was the Chilites and Stylistics and those music for me.

One thing I liked about Bob's music was that it was constantly evolving. With the release of each album, the music showed growth and took on new life.

I always said about Brickie, "young bud nuh know storm".
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

And a lightworker.

Meditate on his lyrics and you will see that he was seeing more than the obvious.

"Grow your dreadlocks, dont be afraid of the wolf pack
                            Keep your culture, dont be afraid of the vulture"

Bob sung on many levels. In a single song, he could address the current time as well as eternal truths and values. He could address the plight of the sufferaz in Jamaica, while addrssing the common plight of all man.

Bob transcended local issues, even when it seemed he was addressing them directly.

When I relisten to some of Bob songs, its seems they were just cut now, as he is speaking to issues seemingly more relevant today, than back in the 1970s. I believe he somehow projected forward to the mess we are now in.

He was right, the PRIME cause of our problems today is spiritual, yet most of us refuse to acknowledge that, despite the growing evidence. However, I think there is a growing understanding that is leading to an ultimate awareness that WE are the cause of our own misfortune.