For Mosiah and others about Vaz

What about my point that it should be part of a non-partisan plan? Any agreement or disagreement there?

Do you see that if it were, these things probably would have got done a long time ago, freeing up our MPs do deal with other things?

Stop trying to disagree with me just because we are supposed to be on different sides. If we can't get some consensus here, why do we expect our warring politicians to do any better?

Am I saying something that is tinted one colour or the other?

You getting there, Gamma. Don't let your difficult early years prevent you from understanding my point!

Where was the outrage from you when the beloved Omar Davies "run wid it"?
        Were you outraged when Shaw made similar comments during the run-up to the last by-election?

First thing is Vaz is not the best MP since independence to that area. Leopoald Lynch was.

"Do you know the JPS has a Rural Electrification Program? I wonder if they only take orders from politicians?!?"

I worked with Rural Electrification program on two projects. That was my first job out of high school. Brother Sam Clayton from Mystic Revelation of Rastafari was my supervisor then so I am aware of Rural Electrification program. I am not sure what influence politicians have over it but it falls under some minister.

There is no doubt we have to deal with Human Resource issue but along with that comes the need for roads, water and light. Who is going to invest in somewhere there are no basic utilities?

When I came to Jamaica in 2004 a close family member was building a little Bar and Guest house up inna Fort George above Annotto Bay. He and the people had to pipe their own water. He completed the project and used his connection to have a big splash up there. Many people from Kingston came but said they wouldn't come again as the roads were terrible. I know a nice house in Hart Hill that couldn't be rented because of No Water. If the proper infrastructures are not in place and people carrying water on their head and there is no leadership in the community how is it going to grow? How is it going to be productive.

The basic needs go hand in hand with education, human resources and productivity. In order for coffee to be transported big trucks have to go to the Blue Mountain and you see what happened in East Portland the other day. Blue mountain coffee can provide employment and small business for people as well.

In West Portland crime was not on the agenda because there was no crime, Road repair was as many of the major roads were a disaster. If they are fix then the agenda change.

We have to approach this in two ways. Every MP have to think locally to upgrade their constitiuency and then there must be an overall plan to address many of the need of the country as a whole but we have to juggle both at the same time as we can't continue to deny so many people of basic services and expect them not to think about it when they are voting.

I have no problem with who fix the road whether it is green or orange or the people, just fix the road. Yes we need meaningful jobs and proper training to uplift ourselves but some of the basic condition that some of these people have to live through is terrible and the neglect they have had can't be forgotten when they vote.

I hate to have to go back to Vaz but what I am telling you is part of his agenda seems to be to attract investement to Portland. He is the only current MP or caretaker on the Portland Develoment Committee or what it name.

Mo I support the stance that we can't vote for water and road alone but don't fool yourself it must be a part of a comprehensive plan as you have to think local and international at the same time, no one or the other.

well to be honest you didn't do such a great point job of making your point BUT i have not been saying anythng materially different from the get go.

Were you outraged when Shaw made similar comments during the run-up to the last by-election?
              Shaw made a run wid it comment? I obviously missed that. Strange, none of the news media picked it up? Okay, since you're at ground zero ... tell us what he said. We'll forget that you were quick to jump and follow the crowd who tried to imply that Vaz and the JLP was behind the fire at the comrades house.

Yuh expect me to read all that? Do you understand my point now?

yes but it would help if you read all of it.

I'll go back to it when time allows.

Assasin, I read it, and you have not disappointed.

You clearly are still missing my point. One of these days, when I pass thru Atlanta, we will talk about it over a cold one.

Just one thing before I go - you say we can't vote for water and road alone. Well, what else are we voting for?

No need to answer, because I am certainly not going to get into a debate with you where you refuse to understand any and everything I say.

We nuh have to debate nuh further. As you say we can talk about it still.
                        A nuh nothing still a just healthy discussion.

Sounding bitter Don1. Every MP has access to the Constituency Development Fund all they have to do is put forth their proposal suh nuh bother with the the implications bout relationship with the PM. Yuh comrade Fitz Jackson praised the PM for making the funds available.

"people should get services according to their needs."

Suh why the bickering about the efforts in West Portland? It has been said time and again that the worst roads in Jamaica were in Portland, does "people should get services according to their needs" apply here?

Some people who didn't have electricity and water have access to it now, does "people should get services according to their needs" apply here?

Where was the outrage from you when the beloved Omar Davies "run wid it"?
                          Bitter??

Vaz seems to be in charge of projects in the PM's office.
                          I'm just saying that an MP who has elevated access to state funds and chooses to direct that to his constituency is nothing to greet with fanfare... that goes for both sides... PNP or JLP.

Yes their constituents benefit but if the division of resources is not needs based... that's not the optimum strategy for development.

Resources going to those with the most influence.. not to where it is most needed necessarily... that skews development.

My beloved Omar?? Whey yuh get dat from bredrin?

So because places have no crime they must not get special attention even when the community is the biggest producer of Blue Mountain coffee and have no roads. Fix the road and give some of the junglist work in the coffee plantation.

Did you realise that some MP haven't used their constituency development fund yet? you have any idea how many people from these go live inna the ghettos of Kingston and turn Gunmen? If you can give them service they might not. it would be wise to get some of the people out of the ghetto instead of more moving in.

Imagine if Portia Simpson did do the same for her constituency?

The priority is different and everybody think their project is the most important. Vaz has been working in Portland before he became a MP so how do you explain that? He has had many fund raisers in Kingston for Portland but you wouldn't know that as you have no interest.
                            Vaz for National Hero.

Because you didn't read my post before I will tell that I spent most of my life in South East Mary and West Portland. That is where many of my relatives and friends live. Every trip I make to Jamaica I visit West Portland and South East St.Mary.

I later moved to Kingston, Runaway Bay and Mobay but my name is still known in those communities.
                              Understood... everything falls into place now.

Bitter??

Vaz seems to be in charge of projects in the PM's office.
                                I'm just saying that an MP who has elevated access to state funds and chooses to direct that to his constituency is nothing to greet with fanfare... that goes for both sides... PNP or JLP.

Yes their constituents benefit but if the division of resources is not needs based... that's not the optimum strategy for development.

Resources going to those with the most influence.. not to where it is most needed necessarily... that skews development.

My beloved Omar?? Whey yuh get dat from bredrin?
                                I notice once again you ignore the fact that he is one of the few that its said to have used up all his CDF allocation todate.

Portia Simpson was PM, how did she use her "elevated access to state funds" to improve her constituency?

I think it time yuh stop trying to twist things.