• Gays launch 'Boycott Jamaica' website

Jamaica Observer

Posted: 3/30/2009 10:20:24 AM

A new website, Boycott Jamaica,has been launched which calls for an international boycott of Jamaican products and tourism until the state relaxes legislation against homosexuals and takes action against homophobia.

It singles out two Jamaican products, Myers Rum and Red Stripe beer and also recommends a list of alternative vacation destinations.

"Isn’t it time we stop rewarding this hate state with our tourism dollars? Isn’t it time to stop drinking Jamaican beverages, such as Myers Rum and Red Stripe Beer?" said a statement on the homepage of the website.

The site also uses as its tagline, the lyric "Let’s Get Together and Feel Alright", taken from Bob Marley's 'One Love', perhaps the best-known Jamaican song overseas.

Jamaica Observer

A new website, Boycott Jamaica,has been launched which calls for an international boycott of Jamaican products and tourism until the state relaxes legislation against homosexuals and takes action against homophobia.

It singles out two Jamaican products, Myers Rum and Red Stripe beer and also recommends a list of alternative vacation destinations.

"Isn’t it time we stop rewarding this hate state with our tourism dollars? Isn’t it time to stop drinking Jamaican beverages, such as Myers Rum and Red Stripe Beer?" said a statement on the homepage of the website.

The site also uses as its tagline, the lyric "Let’s Get Together and Feel Alright", taken from Bob Marley's 'One Love', perhaps the best-known Jamaican song overseas.
    Well now we are all on the same page. Dem nuh waan come Jamaica and we nuh waan dem come here. Didn't Rita Marley just sign up wit HILCO to manage Bob's estate and stamp out unaiuthorised reproduction of his image and music? Smaddy betta mek dem know dat di happy man dem a use him song lyrics widout permission

P.S. What does Myers and Red Stripe have to do with the State?

dem nuh si dat dem punishing all those gays employed in the tourist industry?

you can gwaan talk cause a nuff hotel now a accept gay wholesale inna them hotel. Them call it the pink dollar.

dem nuh si dat dem punishing all those gays employed in the tourist industry?
          Hedonism Playmaker dem vex now

This is good PR for Jamaica .Now all the heterosexuals will know where the battboys vacation or dont vacation.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica Observer

Is Maudib behind this??

P.S. What does Myers and Red Stripe have to do with the State?
                Better dem did seh saal fish as Red Stripe nuh Jamaican own either.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Their defence will be that one of dem name "Alright"

And if the campaign is successful, what will be the potential backlash against gays living in Jamaica???

Jakan gays should tell them that this act is not "helpful".

You agree with State Legislation against homosexuals ?

fiya bun!!

Mi notice you love di 'Banana'

A wha dis DATEFINDER.COM or REGGAEBOYZSC.COM?