Bartlett's tourism roadmap

I am no defender, but the fact is you are mixing up Bartlett's claims with rumours and careless reporting. Non of those quotes can be attributed to Ed Bartlett. He has never said what you accused him of saying.

Whether you call is just doing is work or good work, there is no other tourism minister in the recent past who have had a more comprehensive plan and has worked as hard. There is a lot to criticise in this JLP government but fair is fair and I will defend that.

The fact is Bartlett has so far surprise the hell out of me and with a minister of tourism a little less knowledgeable and not as hard working we could have been in great trouble.
    Unless you follow him around and catalogue everything that Bartlett says (which is possible but very unlikely) it is impossible for you to determine everything he has said in the past.... you can say perhaps that you have not seen reports of him saying a certain thing... that's all you can reasonably say.
    Suffice it to say that I have seen statements attributed to him indicating super performance beyond all rivals in the region.

I am not saying that Bartlett is doing badly... this seems to be the irritant for you... since you claim he is the best thing since sliced bread.

Bartlett is doing a competent job of promoting the industry imho ... but nothing to get excited about really... at least to me.

To his credit (at least to the foreign press) he has attributed much of Jamaica's tourism performance and resilience to massive recent investment in rooms, attractions, airport modernization and access highways... it is notable that you do not acknowledge his statements on that matter.

To Jamaicans like you.. he trumpets his great plans as the driver for our relative success... that's the message spin for domestic consumption.

You fall for the spin hook, line and sinker. Try to be more discerning.
    Last edited by Don1; March 29, 2009, 11:45 AM.

"it is notable that you do not acknowledge his statements on that matter"

The fact is you are attributing things said by the man that you can't prove and was not said in public and that is my problem.

"To Jamaicans like you.. he trumpets his great plans as the driver for our relative success... that's the message spin for domestic consumption.

You fall for the spin hook, line and sinker. Try to be more discerning. "

That is your opinion and I take it with a grain of salt as you don't really know me. All I ask you to do is to prove statements you attributed to Ed. Bartlett and get your fact right. What Bartlett has done since becoming minister of tourism is well documented so I don't have to debate the facts, the rest including your arguement you are yet to prove is just politics.

Now you can't prove it, yes attack poor me and people like me

"it is notable that you do not acknowledge his statements on that matter"

The fact is you are attributing things said by the man that you can't prove and was not said in public and that is my problem.

Neither can you prove that he did not say what I saw.
        I state that I have seen this reported but will not spend the time to dig it up.. you choose to say that this is not true.... and that i'm either mistaken or lying.. I guess.

"To Jamaicans like you.. he trumpets his great plans as the driver for our relative success... that's the message spin for domestic consumption.

You fall for the spin hook, line and sinker. Try to be more discerning. "

That is your opinion and I take it with a grain of salt as you don't really know me. All I ask you to do is to prove statements you attributed to Ed. Bartlett and get your fact right. What Bartlett has done since becoming minister of tourism is well documented so I don't have to debate the facts, the rest including your arguement you are yet to prove is just politics.

It's ok to take my opinions with a grain of salt... no problem.
        When Bartlett says one thing to Jamaicans and another to Jamaicans.. he does what all politicians do. You take what he says in the Jamaican press as gospel... without the benefit of other sources.

It's no wonder your views are so simplistic.

Now you can't prove it, yes attack poor me and people like me
        Not attacking you.. just pointing out the fuller picture on tourism and the folly of relying mainly on politician's statements.

Make that... "another thing to foreigners"

I never accused Barlett of saying anything that I can't prove, you were the one who attributed statements and untrue to the man and you can't prove it.

You said you don't deal with politics or rumours but you can't back up your chat and that is why I had to point it out. Like all of us you are open to accepting rumours . Again ust point it out to me where Barlett said all the things you attributed to him and the argument done.

Look like is just now yuh reach..

Yuh did miss the 'Rooms' argument when di man claim Barlett was misrepresenting the room stock ?

Only to realize him out of him depth when it come to the topic..

Lately him ah slip in how Bartlett ah benefit from di increased room stock..

Cut and bring back ah nuh good ting...

LOL !!

Mi read Don1 agenda long time.. mi nuh know WHO him ah try fool pon di site.. him nuh know seh wi deh yah long time and si true all ah dem disguises..

Cho.

Look like is just now yuh reach..

Yuh did miss the 'Rooms' argument when di man claim Barlett was misrepresenting the room stock ?

Only to realize him out of him depth when it come to the topic..

Lately him ah slip in how Bartlett ah benefit from di increased room stock..

Cut and bring back ah nuh good ting...

LOL !!

Mi read Don1 agenda long time.. mi nuh know WHO him ah try fool pon di site.. him nuh know seh wi deh yah long time and si true all ah dem disguises..

Cho.
                You need to read where I posted above, Barlett's comments to foreigners correctly pointing out that Jamaica's relative success in tourism is due largely to the recent massive investments in the sector... rooms, attractions, airports and highways... he is to be congratulated for his candour to foreigners.
                For a Jamaican audience he cites his wonderful strategy as the cause... expecting that they will fall for this spin.... just as all politicians do.

Only partisan clowns and the naive believe that some strategy executed over the last 18 has resulted in the industry holding its own.

Now that you have been schooled, get back to the public trough devil!! LOL!!
                Last edited by Don1; March 30, 2009, 02:50 PM.

so a di room improve the air seats them too? and plan events etc.

As usual say samething, build it and they will come. You wonder why the Trelawny stadium is the way it is now.

Your spin bowling is not up to par in here.. ironically however it might work on the same masses you claim Bartlett is befuddling.. yuh planning to run fi a seat ??

LOL !

Now back to the matter at hand.. provide the evidence of Bartlett providing innacurate information.. you failed in your Room Stock campaign and it looks like you are back to fail spectacularly yet again...

LOL !

One wonders where you were during the heydays of misdirection and misinformation.. yuh appear on the scene frothing at the mouth digging in the meager scrappings...

Sad.

Your spin bowling is not up to par in here.. ironically however it might work on the same masses you claim Bartlett is befuddling.. yuh planning to run fi a seat ??

LOL !

Now back to the matter at hand.. provide the evidence of Bartlett providing innacurate information.. you failed in your Room Stock campaign and it looks like you are back to fail spectacularly yet again...

LOL !

One wonders where you were during the heydays of misdirection and misinformation.. yuh appear on the scene frothing at the mouth digging in the meager scrappings...

Sad.
                      Rear Admiral... you are really amusing... even when the truth stares you in the face... you can't recognize it.

I give you the words of the Hon. Edmund Bartlett, UWI graduate, LOL!!:
                      Speaking of course to foreigners.

THN.COM SITS DOWN WITH JAMAICA'S MINISTEREdmund Bartlett, Jamaica's minister says Canada is the fastest-growing market; arrivals have seen huge increases in the last year
                      Janice Strong

Edmund Bartlett, Minister of Tourism, Jamaica“Canada is the fastest-growing major destination for Jamaica,” declared the Hon. Edmund Bartlett, Jamaica’s minister of tourism at a packed gathering of industry representatives in Vancouver on October 16.
                      In town to officially begin the countdown to the December 19 departure of the first-ever non-stop service between Vancouver and Montego Bay, Bartlett sat down with TRAVELHotNews to chat about the steady growth of arrivals from Canada of the past few years.
                      In the first half of 2008, more than 136,000 Canadians headed south to Jamaica, the strongest numbers ever for Canada, and a 26.6 per cent increase over the same period in 2007. July numbers were just as strong with 15,525 arrivals registered from Canada.
                      Bartlett cited investment in infrastructure as the key factor to the continued strong numbers.
                      “Investment is a huge incentive for growth,” he said. “The huge investment in product has given a jump in arrivals.”
                      Sangster Airport completes first two phases
                      At Norman Manley International Airport in Kingston, the first two phases of a three-phase expansion are underway, while Sangster Airport in Montego Bay has completed the first two of its planned expansion. Phase three is now in progress.
                      The Port Authority of Jamaica is completing plans for the development of a new cruise pier at Falmouth to accommodate the May 2010 arrival of the “Oasis of the Seas”, the first of Royal Caribbean’s new “Genesis” class of ships, that can accommodate 5,400 passengers.
                      Also seen investment in new hotels

Recently, Jamaica has also seen investment in new hotels, including the Grand Palladium from the Fiesta Hotel Group and RIU Montego Bay, a new property by Couples and Iberostar. Jamaica’s growing number of attractions is also a contributing factor to the increase in numbers, Bartlett said.
                      “Jamaica has more attractions than all the rest of the Caribbean,” he added, counting 157 licensed attractions on the island.

Case closed.... no contest.

so a di room improve the air seats them too? and plan events etc.

As usual say samething, build it and they will come. You wonder why the Trelawny stadium is the way it is now.
                        Assasin you would make a great analyst... this is excellent stuff.

Looks like you are in the wrong court again.

Still waiting for you to provide evidence of Bartlett giving incorrect information regarding jamaica performance in tourism.

It appears that you are the great deceiver, not Bartlett.

You should consider running for one of the bi-elections as a PNP candidate.

LOL !

Looks like you are in the wrong court again.

Still waiting for you to provide evidence of Bartlett giving incorrect information regarding jamaica performance in tourism.

It appears that you are the great deceiver, not Bartlett.

You should consider running for one of the bi-elections as a PNP candidate.

LOL !
                            You need wait no more for the evidence... you're late .. I've already provided it and moved on.

Just as I have provided evidence of Bartlett correctly attributing (to a foreign audience) Jamaica's relatively decent tourism performance mainly to massive investment in the sector.. a proposition you ridiculed when I advanced it several months ago.... now you see the boss saying it you are very quiet.LOL!

This no doubt because Bartlett says these truths abroad but has a different spin in his message at home... common practice for any politician.

At home the reason for the decent performance is said to be his blessed roadmap and great strategies... so that the naive and gullible can lap it up. LOL!

So, your method is more spin and inaccuracy ??

While you are digging around for the incorrect information Bartlett is supposed to have put out.. find the imaginary evidence of me ridiculing your 'proposition' several months ago..

Your method is clear.. old.. but clear.. half-truths, spin, misquoting, misrepresentation...

Put in an application to the PNP to contest a seat.. seriously, you have the makings of a politician by your definition..

Irony... LOL !!

Mek wi si if wi can put Don1 the politician in a corner... please describe the role played by your 'massive infrastructure investment' in this:

"That is a significant performance against the background of the projections that our tourism numbers would be 30 to 40 per cent down with reasonble justification at the time, given the fact that forward bookings were weak. However, we in the industry that manage the macro perspective knew what was going on because of the kind of level of marketing we were doing and our advertising efforts on the key markets that would respond to Jamaica."

What happened ? The analysts miscounted the number of hotel rooms and terminals at the airport ?

Maybe there was a covert operation of massive room contruction to meet the winter tourist season dat di analysts nevah know bout ?

What in your mind was the key component that allowed Jamaica to outperform the analyst predictions ?
                              Last edited by Muadib; April 1, 2009, 09:46 AM.

So, your method is more spin and inaccuracy ??

While you are digging around for the incorrect information Bartlett is supposed to have put out.. find the imaginary evidence of me ridiculing your 'proposition' several months ago..

What am I supposed to be, a professional historian? I'm too busy working on policy issues for my household to spend time locating your every obscure and misguided statement!LOL!!

Suffice it to say that it was my understanding that you did not agree with my proposition that the main causative factor for tourism growth was investment in the product.
                                I could be wrong.. since divining the meaning of your verbal gems is sometimes arduous.

You may restate or clarify your opinion on that if you choose.

Your method is clear.. old.. but clear.. half-truths, spin, misquoting, misrepresentation...

Put in an application to the PNP to contest a seat.. seriously, you have the makings of a politician by your definition..

I could never be a politician... I'm too plain speaking and also detest hypocrisy... not career enhancing traits for a politician.

Irony... LOL !!

Mek wi si if wi can put Don1 the politician in a corner... please describe the role played by your 'massive infrastructure investment' in this:

"That is a significant performance against the background of the projections that our tourism numbers would be 30 to 40 per cent down with reasonble justification at the time, given the fact that forward bookings were weak. However, we in the industry that manage the macro perspective knew what was going on because of the kind of level of marketing we were doing and our advertising efforts on the key markets that would respond to Jamaica."

What happened ? The analysts miscounted the number of hotel rooms and terminals at the airport ?

Maybe there was a covert operation of massive room contruction to meet the winter tourist season dat di analysts nevah know bout ?

Those are not my words and I don't know the so called "analyst" who stated them.
                                You should direct those questions at the "analyst" and not to me... I never referred to them, don't care about them or was even aware of their existence... This is a clear red herring... come betta dan dat.

What in your mind was the key component that allowed Jamaica to outperform the analyst predictions ?
                                As I posted above Bartlett has clearly stated that Jamaica's massive recent investment is the main driver of tourism expansion and resilience... basically agreeing with my position.

I dont't think I need to repost it.