• Peace Treaty signed..a sign of the times

Principals proclaim 'Champs' code of conduct

BY PAUL BURROWES
    Friday, March 27, 2009

LEADING high school principals, with the support of student leaders, along with the National Transformation Programme, have hammered out a code of conduct in a peace initiative aimed at stemming the violence associated with the upcoming Boys & Girls Championships, set for April 1-4 at the National Stadium.
    Principal of Jamaica College, Ruel Reid; principal of Calabar, Captain Lincoln Thaxter, and acting principal of Kingston College, Everton Burrell, as well as Rev Al Miller of the National Transformation Programme, made the announcement at a press conference at Jamaica College, Old Hope Road yesterday.
    Principal of Jamaica College, Ruel Reid front, centre), Calabar's principal, Captain Lincoln Thaxter (front, left), and Kingston College's acting principal, Everton Burrell hold hands at a press conference at Old Hope Road yesterday. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    They were supported by administrators and student leaders from The Queen's School, St Hugh's and Mona High, who highlighted the perspective of violence caused by female supporters of certain boys' schools.
    Head of the St Andrew Central Police Division, Superintendent Terrence Bent, outlined the police's role in maintaining security for athletes, officials and patrons at the Stadium for Champs and lent the Jamaica Constabulary Force's backing of the initiative.
    According to the code of conduct, detailed by Reid, all marches must be approved of and have police escorts.
    He called for "no storming of girls' schools by any other school. Schools will not condone supporters or alumni who would bring the Champs into disrepute.
    "Applaud good performance and efforts from all individuals and teams, congratulate all participants on their performance, respect the decision of officials, positive comments will be motivational for all participants.
    "Condemn the use of violence in any form, whether it is by spectators, coaches, parents, officials or students; show respect for your team's opponents; without them there would be no competition.
    "Encourage competitors to follow the rules and abide by the officials's decisions; respect the rights, dignity and worth of all participants regardless of their gender or ability," Reid stated on the code of conduct.
    In addition, the principals urged schools "to adopt a zero tolerance approach to violent clashes between rival schools" and "encourage exchange visits to promote peace among rival schools".
    The school heads are suggesting the designating of a Gospel Crusade Week before Champs "to promote a national week of prayer for peace among students..."
    Other initiatives include "school officials to be very visible at main bus stops to monitor the behaviour of students".
    Bent, meanwhile, said the police had taken on parental roles, ensuring that students wear their uniforms properly.
    Calabar's head boy, Michael Griffiths, asked for consideration to be given to communities as they were the source of many confrontations, while Queen's head girl Kriston Grenyion said because of the troubles caused by wearing a school tie of one school, girls wore several ties of several schools.
    St Hugh's head girl Nicole Thomas, seeing Calabar and JC boys sitting together at the press conference, said it was "the first in a long time" that she had seen these schools side by side.

to be honest this is not what i expected to see in this post.

What did you expect?

klansman and one order.......something like that

If you saw the schoolers go at it... it would not be far short of that.

..yet the police will not be permitting any after champs party.

"We are not entertaining any of those. There is too much violence associated with these events, so we made the decision not to give any permits," Bent told THE WEEKEND STAR."

Good affi suffer fi the bad. Wah happen to the days when people just want to have fun?

..yet the police will not be permitting any after champs party.

"We are not entertaining any of those. There is too much violence associated with these events, so we made the decision not to give any permits," Bent told THE WEEKEND STAR."

Good affi suffer fi the bad. Wah happen to the days when people just want to have fun?
              dem day deh dun.

In my days (70s) rivalry was friendly (or should I say friendlier)... if the way to validate yourself is by beating (literally) your opponent then we certainly have fallen far.

Yes we remember the 1970's with warm thoughts! .....just don't tell that to some. LOL!!