Historian blasts upper class hypocrisy

• Historian blasts upper class hypocrisy

Historian blasts upper-class hypocrisy - Knocks bias against dancehall and patois

Published: Thursday | March 26, 2009

Gareth Manning, Gleaner Writer
    In 1865, the elite of the Jamaican society was decrying the country's plunge into moral decadence. The Morant Bay uprising, led by Paul Bogle, was reminiscent, to them, of the stench of black barbarism that rose up in Haiti following the Haitian Revolution nearly a century earlier.

The violence that came with the rebellion, along with the excess vulgar African-type practices of the black population, was proof to them that lower-class Jamaicans were barbarous and superstitious, despite attempts by the Christian missionaries to moralise them after emancipation.
    There was panic among members of the upper class, who felt that something had to be urgently done about the island's descent into moral decadence, including legislating morality, but without success.

Same crossroads
    Fast-forward to 2009, nearly one and a half centuries later, and one will find Jamaica at the same crossroads - argued guest presenter at the 2009 Elsa Goveia Lecture, historian Professor Brian Moore - still wrestling with itself to tame the black beast-like practices of the lower classes amid the spate of crime and vulgarity. The Elsa Goveia Lecture took place at the Philip Sherlock Centre for the Creative Arts on Tuesday night.

The cultural war being waged over the appropriateness of dancehall music and over the use of the Jamaican Creole as a national language is the platform on which the struggle Moore speaks about continues today.
    According to him, like in 1865, the war is one the cultural elite will lose. For instance, Moore argued, while for centuries the cultural elite had frowned upon the music of lower classes, its explosion on the international scene proves the profundity of the music of the masses.

"Has anyone stopped to notice that the lyrics of the music are written in the Creole language which has been so deprecated and disparaged?" Moore asked, adding that the new-found acceptance of dancehall and reggae music on the international scene had only given rise to the foul hypocrisy of the cultural elite in its treatment and acceptance of the language of the masses.

Good for the country
    "Creole is good for music because music brings international acclaim; it brings foreign visitors and foreign money. It is good for humour and informal conversation. It is also good for political campaigning but not good enough to be the national language for school or in church or in formal speech in Parliament," he argued.

Moore said the elite was still ashamed of the national language and culture when it had done little to contribute to the mix of culture, choosing instead to copy or import foreign practices that are no more moral than practices of the Jamaican lower class.

"Sections of the elite and middle classes have also imported the Trinidad Carnival, lock, stock and barrel, including the musicians," he said.
    Moore went on to point out that the features of the imported music were similar to and even raunchier forms of sexuality displayed on public television and in front of children.
    "This is classic hypocrisy," chided Moore.

gareth.manning@gleanerjm.com
    Last edited by Karl; March 27, 2009, 10:42 AM.

hmmmmmmm

hmmmmmmm
      Apparently Historian has moved on to greener pastures.

Wish him god speed.

End of story!

Is this the same 'Historian'? Some of his reasoning is flawed though...I don't thing that the analogy to the Morant Bay rebellion is akin to the 10-day wonder of dancehall vs. carnival clash...
          Talk about classic hypocrisy yet he still speaks in the language of the queen...where is the vernacular for expression? Cho!

No this is not Historian, a jive them a jive we.

If I didn't agree wholeheartedly I'd be forced to sue this guy for plagiarism.
              thia all seemed logical to me but I guess one needs a PHD to see the obvious. If the powers that be in Jamaica would only visit this site on a regular basis then we could solve all the problems .

I do hope this fellow isn't serious. Lets hope this was an attempt to stir up something to get the debate going again. I find it comical how we all want other countries and culture to accept our music but bitch when other categories of music is presented to us. Its about time people cut out the second class mentality when it comes to soca. Hip Hop, Alternative, R&B, House, Rock etc are other genres are played all over Jamaica ...Whats the fuss about soca?

"Has anyone stopped to notice that the lyrics of the music are written in the Creole language which has been so deprecated and disparaged?" Moore asked

Is this dude for real? The outcry about the lyrics isn't because it is presented in patios, its because of the over the line vulgarity!

How many songs Morgan Heritage have that is presented using patios? "Tell me how come, "Mi nuh inna dem thing deh" are a few of the GOOD music presented in patios, yet there is nothing wrong with it. Tanya Stevens have many especially "These Street".

The Historian and my fellow ites here who get frightened because a Phd said so ... need fi wheel and come again.

Talk bout one fool leading many.

not sure what yuh arguing here so i'm not exacltly sure what to take issue about......

i'm for patois, for jamaican culture...mi nuh like soca...that is my PERSONAL preference....i also do not like anchovies btw....but i do not mind beluga caviar and pate de fois gras as long as it is with a pice of the captain's 5lb bread, with a dab of anchor! OK?!

No this is not Historian, a jive them a jive we.
                    Jive we?
                    Are you and Historian one and the same or..gasp!... a couple?

I do hope this fellow isn't serious. Lets hope this was an attempt to stir up something to get the debate going again. I find it comical how we all want other countries and culture to accept our music but bitch when other categories of music is presented to us. Its about time people cut out the second class mentality when it comes to soca. Hip Hop, Alternative, R&B, House, Rock etc are other genres are played all over Jamaica ...Whats the fuss about soca?

"Has anyone stopped to notice that the lyrics of the music are written in the Creole language which has been so deprecated and disparaged?" Moore asked

Is this dude for real? The outcry about the lyrics isn't because it is presented in patios, its because of the over the line vulgarity!

How many songs Morgan Heritage have that is presented using patios? "Tell me how come, "Mi nuh inna dem thing deh" are a few of the GOOD music presented in patios, yet there is nothing wrong with it. Tanya Stevens have many especially "These Street".

The Historian and my fellow ites here who get frightened because a Phd said so ... need fi wheel and come again.

Talk bout one fool leading many.
                      I hope you realize you have misinterpreted the article. Read it again. I'm being charitable.

hahaha!

what a blend of cultures - caviar on buttered hard-do bread! Yikes! From Russia to Jamaica to New Zealand!

Yeah bwoy! Di life!

Is Lazie yuh talking to.

Yep you right. My bad.

Caviar is from fish roe...millions of sturgeon were slaughtered -1000 lb fish to get a few pounds of roe..sm to extinction of close to...ah well...just now yu'll have to settle for sardine roe and hard dough!