I heard Vybes Cartel for the first time!!

Post it suh everybody can see wha yu a talk bout! Oderwise...discussion is over for me. thanks.

Print verse? You can go print verse.

If you nuh see the difference between a Lovindeer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XxgiA6W5-3Q

and a Kartel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pB9HaPlSZU

lyrical structure then I really can't help you.

Quite frankly most of the dancehall artiste had pretty simple lyrics prior to the Buju era. Some of the young youth nowadays have good lyrics (busy signal, aidonia etc) however, most are poor with their delivery and limited in terms of their message/topic coverage.

What is "wordplay"? Define it! Is is a play on words? use of puns? double entendre? unuh cyan stay deh...I you want to say Vybz is the greatest "wordplay" artiste in JA den say suh.. whatever that is ...don' say him is one of the greatest lyricist out of Jamaica...

Show an example of "wordplay" ...a unuh a talk bout i'

use of all of those things.

Since you clear and what you defining as lyrics. What is it that you calling lyrics that you are so upset by Kartel being classified as one of the greatest?

Now that's better at least you give me sumting to work wid...but I don't need to listen to Lovindeer, thank you... is your boy I want to hear...

Actually I had heard this song before but once I hear Vybz I write it off; it is a good piece of music...listened to it twice... anyway; the theme is not original but... I will retract my dunce comment.

Still don't find it earth shattering...if this was his typical genre maybe i would buy his cd... in fact, guess what... I just checked my song library and I have 8 Vybz Kartel songs!!! (my son put them there) and after taking a quick listen through (based on the 8) my decision is confirmed.. I wouldn't be giving my $$ to man who have soh much dutty lyrics.

Still don't understand why unuh feel his lyrics (wordplay/whatever) are ranked among the "greatest" ever...baffling.

So your primary problem is the dutty lyrics?

How come people cannot answer a question... now Bob only famous because of his locks and ganja smoking...??? unuh wan rewrite history?? suh Bob marley was a fake?? Give me a break...Bob Marley was popular in JA (and getting international popularity) long before he grew locks...and those who nevah smoke weed inna JA in that industry probably were the minority.

And if it were not for Bob Marley and people like him, Vybz wouda deh a street a beg patty.. so nuh badda talk bout cover tune...

So WHAT DO YOU CALL A LYRICIST?? Define it! Indulge me because mi ignorant! I cannot agree with anything you say or concede anything if we are talking about two different things. ..so my original position remains the same until I hear what a "lyricist" is.
                A fake? Where yuh see me say anything like that? All I am saying is that the phenomenon that is Bob Marley was due to image more than anything else.

A major problem... I find it difficult to get past; and then classify him as "one of the greatest"... a disconnect for me!

"them fulla chat and can't defend that"

• Originally posted by Me View Post
                      You mention someone like Capleton for example with better lyrics. Capleton message great (sometimes), delivery always good, but the lyrics is often some basic thing that any Joe could write.
                      Yuhseeit. Di man is mixing "message" with "lyrics". How could anyone describe Capleton as a good/great lyricist? Capleton is a chanter: "Dash a fyah, dash a fyah, dash a fyah"

• Originally posted by Assasin View Post
                        "them fulla chat and can't defend that"
                        Wait you come back. Lovindeer done get knock out. You want a comparison with the great supercat to.

• Originally posted by Peter R View Post
                          A major problem... I find it difficult to get past; and then classify him as "one of the greatest"... a disconnect for me!
                          Well if that is a block for you, you will always have a problem respecting Kartel at that level. I quickly look past his messsage (or lack of a positive one)

He can't sing to save his life, but can write a serious song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GN0kapGabOg

However, for some reason he puts all his energy towards slackness.

• Originally posted by Me View Post
                            Well if that is a block for you, you will always have a problem respecting Kartel at that level. I quickly look past his messsage (or lack of a positive one)

He can't sing to save his life, but can write a serious song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GN0kapGabOg

However, for some reason he puts all his energy towards slackness.
                            As slack as Vybz is, he is one of ... if not the best. Money fi Spen .. my favourite Vybz tune.