• Now that Mr Vaz has won. Observer editorial

Now that Mr Vaz has won

Tuesday, March 24, 2009
    Congratulations are in order for the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP's) Mr Daryl Vaz who yesterday won the by-election for the West Portland seat.
    While the campaign leading up to yesterday's vote was not conducted in the most exemplary manner, it could, nonetheless, be described as fairly sedate, compared to the behaviour exhibited by the leaders and supporters of both the People's National Party (PNP) and the JLP in previous polls.
    That gives us hope that public dissatisfaction with the tribalism that has for too long tainted our politics is growing, and that more Jamaicans now acknowledge that one of the crucial pillars of democracy is the right of individuals to hold and freely express their own views.
    Mr Vaz, we submit, now needs to build on that awareness in his constituency in an effort to widen political maturity in the country. For it is only when we get to that point where every Jamaican respects opposing views from his/her neighbour that we will make a serious reduction in intolerance and the violence that it breeds.
    Mr Vaz's victory, we gather, had its genesis not only in the efficiency of the JLP's political machinery, but in the way he went about serving his constituents since he won the seat in the September 2007 general elections.
    Even some die-hard comrades have admitted to us that Mr Vaz's developmental efforts in the constituency were not blurred by partisan politics. If that is really true, we commend him, because too many of the men and women who sit in Gordon House are still steeped in the politics of tribalism that has served to divide rather than unite the country.
    But even as we note Mr Vaz's accomplishments for his constituents, it is obvious from the flurry of activity leading up to yesterday's election that the constituency needs much more attention from its political representative.
    It is not a compliment - for the JLP or the PNP for that matter - when people, obviously happy at the attention being shown to them and their community, express the wish for a by-election each week.
    Neither party, and especially the ruling JLP, should feel comfortable after reading in this week's Sunday Observer, the comments of a returning resident about the roadwork in West Portland. "I don't care who is doing it," he said, "now I can drive my car that has been parked for years under the garage."
    The sad reality is that West Portland is just one of many constituencies across the island experiencing similar problems.
    Basic necessities such as water, roads and electricity are lacking in many communities, and given the effects that the global financial crisis is having on Jamaica, we don't foresee these communities being improved in the short term.
    Mr Vaz's victory will no doubt give the Government a bit of breathing space to concentrate on managing the affairs of the country, even as the administration braces itself for the other dual citizen challenges now before the courts.
    The Government would be wise to start giving greater focus to what it will do to ensure that Jamaica survives this economic storm with minimal damage. For in this climate, life rafts will be few, if any at all.
    var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

One more time

Labourites sing, dance, shout as Vaz takes prize
    KARYL WALKER, walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    3/24/2009

BUFF BAY, Portland — Despite intense rivalry, JLP and PNP supporters who converged in front of the Buff Bay Primary School on First Street in this seaside town engaged in friendly jousting even before the preliminary results of the West Portland by-election were announced last night.

From as early as 7:00 in the morning bus loads of Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters in green and orange-clad People’s National Party (PNP) supporters descended on polling clusters and ribbed each other throughout the day.
    Bell-ringing JLP supporters were in full force and took every opportunity to jeer their rivals.

“Daryl Vaz to the world. A way a town we come from to come support Daryl because we a labourite for life. Rowe a turn back labourite; him can’t win so unnu better go back home and no waste no time,” a skimpily-clad female supporter shouted.
    “Rowe can’t move slow. Portland a PNP parish and Daryl Vaz only preside over suffering. We can’t survive under this Government. Them say Vaz work and fix this and that but we no see it,” a male PNP supporter shot back.

Supporters of both parties seemed so much at ease with each other and even took time out to share drinks and cigarettes.
    “We are all Portlanders who know each other well and while we are on different sides of the fence we will not allow anyone to spoil this day,” one woman who supported the PNP told the Observer in Buff Bay. “This is what elections should be about — fun and happiness. Somebody must win and we all have to get on with our lives when this is over.”

The number of people in green and orange shirts looked numerous during the day, but as the
    ballot counting got underway the orange shirts disappeared and were replaced by a sea of bell-ringing, pot cover-banging labourites who celebrated with wild abandon after the results were announced.

As darkness fell, the sea of green seemed to swell even more and caused a major traffic snarl in sections of Buff Bay.
    The police were, however, out in full force and did their best to keep vehicular traffic moving, although only at a snail’s pace.
    Labourites were hell-bent, however, on having a good time and continued with the streetside partying.

The few orange-clad PNP supporters who stayed behind were gracious in defeat as it became clear that their candidate Kenneth Rowe had not won.

“We congratulate the winners but we will not sit back and relax; we are going to continue working to bring the PNP back to the winner’s enclosure in future West Portland elections,” Maurice Walters said as he withstood loud jeering from the happy labourites.

The noise reached a crescendo when Vaz arrived in Buff Bay with his wife and family in tow and waved to his joyous supporters.
    From then on it was all about the JLP as Vaz’s supporters partied way into the night as they savoured the electoral victory at a political meeting at the nearby Olivia Park.

I was just about to post the above when I saw yours. I know you are particularly proud of the following - [qoute]

BUFF BAY, Portland — Despite intense rivalry, JLP and PNP supporters who converged in front of the Buff Bay Primary School on First Street in this seaside town engaged in friendly jousting even before the preliminary results of the West Portland by-election were announced last night.

From as early as 7:00 in the morning bus loads of Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters in green and orange-clad People’s National Party (PNP) supporters descended on polling clusters and ribbed each other throughout the day.

[/quote]

...and...

Supporters of both parties seemed so much at ease with each other and even took time out to share drinks and cigarettes.

“We are all Portlanders who know each other well and while we are on different sides of the fence we will not allow anyone to spoil this day,” one woman who supported the PNP told the Observer in Buff Bay. “This is what elections should be about — fun and happiness. Somebody must win and we all have to get on with our lives when this is over.”
      ...and...

Labourites were hell-bent, however, on having a good time and continued with the streetside partying.

The few orange-clad PNP supporters who stayed behind were gracious in defeat as it became clear that their candidate Kenneth Rowe had not won.

“We congratulate the winners but we will not sit back and relax; we are going to continue working to bring the PNP back to the winner’s enclosure in future West Portland elections,” Maurice Walters said as he withstood loud jeering from the happy labourites.

...and so do all of us!

Yup!
      Jamaica caaan nice eeeh?

I was just about to post the above when I saw yours. I know you are particularly proud of the following - [qoute]

...and...

...and...

...and so do all of us!

Yup!
        Jamaica caaan nice eeeh?
        [/quote]

nice!

Yeah, but this dude is still a reprobate. I wish someone would explain to me since when the defiling of a school girl is a " petty " issue. I guess when the defiler wears your party's colours it's OK. Big-up to the people of western Portland said speed for showing the rest of Jamaica how elections should be conducted.

"I wish someone would explain to me since when the defiling of a school girl is a " petty " issue. "

Not to take away from the subject as it is a worthwhile issue but I must say in some communities Jamaican women don't have real value as they are been raped, slapped and beaten on a daily basis. I don't support it one way or another. Finding ********************man is a bigger issue than our women been raped.

On to the other subject, one of the reason why Vaz was so close to Daboub in the first election is that the PNP raised that subject and many people didn't feel comfortable voting for Vaz but since he won and them call him "Mr. fix it" he has gain some trust and support.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
              Yeah, but this dude is still a reprobate. I wish someone would explain to me since when the defiling of a school girl is a " petty " issue. I guess when the defiler wears your party's colours it's OK. Big-up to the people of western Portland said speed for showing the rest of Jamaica how elections should be conducted.
              Funny, the other day you were asking what he did and as usual you jump off the deep end. But a you name Rudi .. what else you gonna do? I no have idea what the big secret is and since people fraid fi say what he did then a suh.

PJ had to resign as MOF due to corrupt practices ... how many a unuh voted for him? Suh how come all of a sudden unuh have problem with reprobates? Yet the hypocrites a talk bout wear party color? Talk bout poppyshow.
              Last edited by Lazie; March 24, 2009, 03:08 PM.

Funny, the other day you were asking what he did and as usual you jump off the deep end. But a you name Rudi .. what else you gonna do? I have idea what the big secret is and since people fraid fi say what he did then a suh.

PJ had to resign as MOF due to corrupt practices ... how many a unuh voted for him? Suh how come all of a sudden unuh have problem with reprobates? Yet the hypocrites a talk bout wear party color? Talk bout poppyshow.
                ... why don't you grt a history lesson before you make your comments? At least find out the many facts and the repercussions of the issue.

Talk about someone jumping off the deep end.... look in the mirror!!

... why don't you grt a history lesson before you make your comments? At least find out the many facts and the repercussions of the issue.

Talk about someone jumping off the deep end.... look in the mirror!!
                  Check again, you haven't seen me comment on the top secret accusation been issued around here. However, its not strange that after unuh continuously voted for a corrupt MOF to be PM all of a sudden unuh concerned with morals.

Funny, the other day you were asking what he did and as usual you jump off the deep end. But a you name Rudi .. what else you gonna do? I have idea what the big secret is and since people fraid fi say what he did then a suh.

Yeah you right I did ask what he did and since then I've found out, what's interesting is that neither you nor the usual apologists crew has denied it. Hell, even your candidate himself chooses not to deal with it. Your post really reveals a lot about your thought process. Let's assume all allegations about PJ with regard to the Shell saga were true, only you could somehow put those allegations in the same hemisphere as those pertaining to the Vaz saga. You are doing your party a disservice here, sometimes you must quit when you are way behind. Take a clue from them and try to pretend it never happenned. And by the way I've never voted in a JA election.

Apologist? My back broad Rudi call me what you wish. Unlike you I don't confirm nor deny what I have no idea about suh stop the foolishness bout me denying anything. Jump to PJ's defense all yuh want, the point I'm making is that all of a sudden you hypocrites have a problem with reprobates. Then again ...better late than never.

Lazie, I've always assumed you are an intelligent person ( a bit misguided but intelligent nontheless lol). Read my post again and tell me where it jumps to PJ's defense. There is a huge qualitative difference between what PJ was accused of and what transpired in the Vaz saga even you should be able to take off the blinkers and see that . You have gone to the"my back broad" well a bit too often lately. It is now bordering on the pathetic, you should save it for other arguments. Again, I implore you take a tip from your party and quit this dicussion while you're behind. Once again Kudos to the people of Western Portland.

Yuh nuh affi worry about my intelligence Rudi ... thats the trend when one don't tek the same pathetic view as the masses their intelligence is questioned. Well .. like it or not .. mi back broad. Unuh never have a problem with morals wid PJ, unuh never had a problem with morals when top gov't officials accepted bribes but because Vaz nuh wear a color unuh like all of a sudden unuh have a problem with morals? Sounds quite hypocritical to me.

Lazie are you freaking crazy!!. I never had a problem with the PNP? Why did Jawge and Karl accuse me of being a labourite again? I think it might have had something to do with the way the PNP conducted themselves while in power and what I had to say about that. I'll make it simple for you, you brought up PJ and his morals. Do you see a qualitatative difference in the PJ/Vaz scenarios or not? I cant believe you are that dense but maybe....
                            mind you go out pon a limb where not even the people in green will defend. Dem have pickney too. Creazy.

denied what? the rumours?

make no mistake i am no apologist for vaz i know enough of him to know that i do not care much for him as a person and i doubt very much that i would have voted for him.

BUT how can persons not privy to the truth of a situation deny a rumour? it cannot be denied that it is a rumour and that is pretty much it....unless of course i missed something in which case i am open to enlightenment!