• Home of West Portland PNP activist fire bombed

Friday, 20 March 2009

Political tension has escalated in the West Portland constituency after a house belonging to a reported People's National Party (PNP) activist was fire-bombed in Buff Bay Thursday night.
    The PNP is claiming that the owner of the house, Omari Wray otherwise called "Sambo," was earlier threatened by persons said to be aligned to the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

Shortly before 8 o'clock, men went to the four bedroom board house located on Third Avenue in Diamond and reportedly threw homemade bombs into the building, setting it on fire.
    Several persons have been left homeless.
    Superintendent in charge of the Portland Police, Dudley Scott, says a team of senior investigators has been assigned to probe the case.
    PNP Deputy General Secretary Julian Robinson describes the attack as disturbing.
    "Nine persons from three families who lived in the house are now homeless ... Mr. Wray is a community leader, he's a well known activist within the area (and) he was threatened earlier in the day. Last week, faeces were thrown at the shop that he operates from.
    While conceding that the party did not know who committed this crime, Mr, Robinson said "people have come to their own conclusion about it and it's an escalation which is very worrying and very disturbing and not very healthy for the by-election on Monday."
    Thursday night's incident occurred as the JLP and the PNP prepared for the last lap of their campaigns for Monday's by-election in West Portland.
    Earlier this week, Political Ombudsman Bishop Herro Blair asked the Commissioner of Police to assign a strong detachment of personnel to the constituency in light of growing tension involving supporters of the two parties.

Vaz distances himself from violence

And JLP candidate for West Portland Daryl Vaz is disassociating his campaign from any form of violence.
    Mr. Vaz told RJR News that he was unaware of allegations that JLP supporters had threatened Mr. Wray.
    "We ran an election in 2007 that was violence free ... I have no proof of any accusation by the PNP about JLP supporters burning down houses therefore, I'll await the results from the fire depart. However we don't support or need any intimation or violence against anybody in West Portland," he said.

Just like he distanced himself from the other things that happened the first time around when they defaced his image.

"We ran an election in 2007 that was violence free...

Just like he distanced himself from the other things that happened the first time around when they defaced his image.
        ummm expected response. The Power106 5:00pm news reported that the fire was an electrical fire ... not a fire bomb.

And I guess...cho, you can stay a deh a listen Power 106. Some of us are at ground zero.

Knock yuhself out wid yuh online radio!

And I guess...cho, you can stay a deh a listen Power 106. Some of us are at ground zero.

Knock yuhself out wid yuh online radio!
            Well, NNN interviewed the top police in the area this morning and he insisted he wasn't aware of it being a fire bomb ... oh I forgot ... the PNP aren't fans of NNN. By the way, yuh gonna tell me, he isn't at ground zero?

I find it amusing how the hypocrites are quick to assume the worst about Vaz but were quick to sugarcoat Bunting's lock down comments.

LOL!

Yuh really believe what yuh hear on the news is ground zero reporting?!?

HAHAHA!

LOL!

Yuh really believe what yuh hear on the news is ground zero reporting?!?

HAHAHA!
                Suh disputing the words of the crime chief in Portland? Did you and Julian Robinson guh a the same school?

You're killing me! Suh now wi suppose to believe the words of the police?! I guess when the CCN talks about "shots were returned and a man was found suffering from gunshot wounds..." dem talking di truth too! LOL!

Oh, sorry, this is the POLICE CHIEF!

If a laff tidday!

You're killing me! Suh now wi suppose to believe the words of the police?! I guess when the CCN talks about "shots were returned and a man was found suffering from gunshot wounds..." dem talking di truth too! LOL!

Oh, sorry, this is the POLICE CHIEF!

If a laff tidday!
                    The laughing matter is that you put yuh foot in yuh mouth and having a problem removing it. I warned you about Portia and her foolish followers.

Hey, Lazie, my friend, gwaan listen to news on your beloved Jamaica from your cozy perch up yonder. How else can you really know what the hell is happening here?

Just mek sure yuh nuh lose yuh Internet service. Dawg woulda nyam yuh suppah!

Hey, Lazie, my friend, gwaan listen to news on your beloved Jamaica from your cozy perch up yonder. How else can you really know what the hell is happening here?

Just mek sure yuh nuh lose yuh Internet service. Dawg woulda nyam yuh suppah!
                        Still struggling?

Who is dat? Cause yuh woulda neva find me inna one shower green tie.

Yuh bleaching, Lazie?

Brickie! Look yah!

suh was it an electrical fire or a firebomb?

While Mosiah figure out a response that fits his mythical stance ...

Arson ruled out in Portland fire

Published: Saturday | March 21, 2009

Gareth Davis Snr., Gleaner Writer
                              A SENIOR member of the fire service in Buff Bay, Portland, has dismissed allegations that a house belonging to a supporter of the People's National Party (PNP) was fire-bombed on Thursday.
                              George Brown, Fire Prevention Officer for Portland, said his team has seen nothing so far to suggest that the house was "fire-bombed". He stressed that there was no evidence that the cause of the fire was the work of arsonists.
                              "I know in this tense political climate persons will be inclined to make all kinds of statements, but we have to be very careful," he said. "What we have seen would suggest that there was some kind of electrical short circuit that is consistent with illegal connections," Brown explained.
                              "We are not making any conclusive statement as the investigation is still ongoing but we can safely say there is nothing to suggest any bombing as some persons have been alleging," he added.
                              The Portland police say they are also carrying out their own investigation.
                              Yesterday, it was alleged that persons connected to the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) was responsible for the fire.
                              This incident comes days before the by-election on March 23. On Monday, constituents of West Portland will decide at the polls whether to give the JLP's Daryl Vaz the green light to represent them in Parliament or to send the PNP's Kenneth Rowe to Gordon House to bat on their behalf.