• Janice Allen Ruling Ground Breaking

Janice Allen Ruling Ground Breaking

Thursday, March 19, 2009 - The importance of the Privy Council ruling in the case involving 13-year-old Janice Allen who was killed by a policeman in 2000 and brought by her mother against the State - Millicent Forbes vs. The Attorney General of Jamaica - cannot be overstated.

Although the ruling does not allow the appeal, the decision nevertheless has confirmed one of the appellant’s principal arguments, namely, that fraudulent conduct cannot be allowed to result in an acquittal which cannot be tested in court. The Privy Council has recognised that an appropriate remedy for this injustice is for the Director of Public Prosecution to re-charge the accused policeman. This ruling puts the ball squarely in the DPP’s court. The ramifications for the entire Jamaican Judicial system are HUGE.

In order to re-indict, the DPP need only satisfy herself of two criteria:

a) Whether the facts will support the allegation that the acquittal was procured by a fraud on the court. This criterion ought to be satisfied by the unchallenged affidavit evidence already before the court. Indeed the Full Court referred to those practices as reprehensible.
    b) Whether as a matter of law, that would deprive the accused of his plea of (autrefois acquit) double jeopardy. The cases cited in this matter at the Privy Council suggest that unless there was a real possibility of a conviction for the offence at the original trial, a defence of autrefois acquit would not be available.

For years Police officers have been able to escape the consequences of their criminal acts by manipulating the criminal justice system in a manner that puts them in control of the law and above it. It is in the supreme interest of all Jamaica that these crimes are punished and an end to impunity is realised. Then and only then, will a young girl’s death and that of others like her, who have been killed unjustly at the hands of the police, not be in vain.
    JFJ calls on the Director of Public Prosecutions, Ms. Paula Llewellyn to urgently review the facts, and the law, in this case and to exercise her discretion in the interests of justice for Janice Allen and the wider public interest. The mistakes of the past do not have to define our future. Jamaica’s Justice system and the delivery of justice could be greatly improved by this singular decision.

Is only ground breaking dem know bout in Jamaica.. cyaan wait to see something actually build..

While I understand the grieve of the family and everyone involved in the case, the cards are heavily stacked against J Allen's reps.
      If you put personal feelings aside, you'll undertsnad that it will almost be impossible for the DPP to reopen this case without it being challenged and eventually thrown out.
      Let's see, how do you get past criteria a...Fraud.
      1) You'll ned to prove that the cops intentionally created that fire...this would mean that someone should be on trial for Arson.
      2) They'll also need to prove that the person who said the key witness was off the isalnd, intententionally lied to the court....Again, this person would also need to be on trial for perjury and preventing justice.

Mistakes and accidents are not Fraud....I'll await the verdict on this

Mistakes and accidents ???

All you point to is the difficulty in gathering the evidence and other charges that might have to be brought.

Yuh sound like a babylon...

Babylon have a way of dealing with things when the law gets in the way of justice.. is dere yuh want us guh ?

"No Justice, No Peace"

As I said Maudib, put personal feelings aside. I'm totally on the side of Janaice Allen. All I'm saying is this. The DPP will use whatever evidence that is available now to determine if there was Fraud. Unless there are some wiretaps or other documents suggesting fraud, nothing concrete, in terms of evdence, has been presented. I'm waiting to hear the verdict and some more about the case and I hope some wheels turn but it's looking more and more challenging. Look for more heads to roll if the case gets reopened

All of a sudden wi justice system crooked again? mek up yuh mind nuh sah!

Heads should roll! Maybe not even figuratively! Between the police and a whole heap a odda people, bay friggeries a gwaan inna wi justice system for far too long.

Time it stop!

Was not aware I was in 2 minds.. You are probably confused

i am probably.

you now..