Way to go Red Stripe. Historian you deh bout?

• Way to go Red Stripe. Historian you deh bout?

Red stripe live event promises to be special

Thursday, March 19, 2009
    Some of Jamaica's best musical talent will be on show when Red Stripe launches its Red Stripe Live Event at Sabina Park on Saturday, March 28.
    Being staged under the patronage of Prime Minister Bruce Golding, the event promises a line up that includes a band assembled by Dean Fraser from musicians from C-Sharp and the backing bands of Beres Hammond, Stephen Marley and Jimmy Cliff. Among the musicians chosen by Fraser, the music director, for the show-piece event includes Desi Jones on drums; Ian Hoilette on bass; Winston 'BoPee' Bowen on guitar; Chris McDonald and Raymond McLaughlin on keyboards; Vivian Scott on trumpet; Nicholas LaRoc on saxophone and Con on trombone.
    They will back Etana, Assassin, Mykal Rose, Toots Hibbert and his daughter, Leiba, Leroy Sibbles, Chalice, Cameal, Chris Martin, Duane Stephenson, Laden, Natel and the dancer, Mystic, who have all been confirmed to perform on the night.
    But the event will be more than just the entertainers. A choir comprised of students of the Edna Manley School of Music is also down to perform. There will also be choreographed dancing. Red Stripe Brand Public Relations Manager Kim Lee said, "It will be an entire package."
    Following the on-stage performances patrons in attendance will be able to party to music from Renaissance and Rebel T, with the deejays being the internationally famous Delano, DJ Liquid, Mad Ras and DJ Sunshine.
    Proceeds from the event will go towards funding Red Stripe's Project Artiste that was launched last month. Under the programme, 44 young persons with an interest in the entertainment industry and from several inner city communities will be trained to become musicians and managers. Money will also be used to renovate the old Desnoes and Geddes Brewery on Pechon Street in downtown Kingston that will be used as a training facility.
    The one-off event is sponsored by the RJR Communications Group and the Jamaica Observer/Chat with associate sponsors being Pepsi Jamaica, Tru-Juice, Bars to Go/Gourmet to Go, Ricardo Chin Production Company, Promotional Options and the Heart Trust NTA.
    The show starts at 8 pm and no one under the age of 18 will be permitted entry.
    Lots of drinks will be on sale for everyone else. Lee explains that a wide variety of Smirnoff drink mixes including the Smirnoff Stinger, Sunrise Vanilla-Flavoured Vodka, Tru Juice and Pepsi among others will be available for consumption as well as Red Stripe products, Guinness and Heineken.
    Lee assures that the venue will be well secured and patrons are being warned that no knives will be allowed into the venue. There will be adequate parking available on North Street, the Holy Trinity High School, St Georges College, and Holy Trinity Cathedral Rectory Ground. Parking for VIP patrons will be on the Sabina Park grounds, next door at Emmet Park and at the Kingston Cricket Club Parking lot.

You really miss Historian don't you.

If you did gone mi woulda call fi you too.

Despite the fact that we think we always right, worthwile topics are discussed and points and counter points are presented.

Few have the knowledge about our music like historian, and he and myself have alway advocated training our ghetto musicians. That is the only way to clean up our music.

What is your contribution to the topic at hand?

If you did gone mi woulda call fi you too.

Despite the fact that we think we always right, worthwile topics are discussed and points and counter points are presented.

Few have the knowledge about our music like historian, and he and myself have alway advocated training our ghetto musicians. That is the only way to clean up our music.

What is your contribution to the topic at hand?
        I was just kidding.

a nuh nutting.

mi did a look forward fi the Ninjaman vs Warhead clash still between you and Historian but cho mi brethren just back out.

Dis look like some HEINEKIN STARTIME lineup. What a snoozer

Them couldn't get Ninja cause him busy

I am more concerned about them investing back into the music. Way to go