This is why I was upset...

• This is why I was upset...

Our politicians waste time over "foolinish" while Jamaica burns.

BSJ QUELLS STINK OVER CHEAP FERTILISER
    Gives product clean bill of health
    Patrick Foster
    Wednesday, March 18, 2009
    JAMAICA'S Bureau of Standards has given a clean bill of health to the imported cheap fertiliser at the centre of an extended controversy over its use, the Observer has learnt.

CLARKE... questioned the safety of the fertiliser
    According to a source with knowledge of the tests carried out by the standards bureau, the results will be made public any day now by the Ministry of Industry and Commerce which had imported the cheap fertiliser.
    The bureau was asked to test the fertiliser after Opposition spokesman on agriculture Roger Clarke charged in Parliament two weeks ago that the fertiliser contained untreated human excrement and posed a threat to farmers.
    The Government dismissed the allegation, saying that while the product was made from bio-solids, it was properly treated and safe for use.
    Clarke caused an uproar when he suggested that the fertiliser was suspect and demanded to be told whether the "human faeces had been properly treated".
    "The crows have come down, rats are eating it because nobody knows whether the human excreta was properly treated or not," said Clarke. He insisted that the fertiliser be tested locally, spurning approvals from the United States Environmental Protection Agency and the Florida Department of Environment.
    The former agriculture minister said he harboured reservations about the safety of the imported product, but conceded that if the fertiliser was found to be safe, he would have no contention with its use.
    Bio-solid is a term used to describe the by-product of domestic and commercial sewage and waste-water treatment. The residuals are then treated to remove pathogens.

imagine this man was Minister of Agriculture for how many years.
    You think he would have some knowledge about his portfolio and how to make it better.

Check his record on growth in Agriculture while he was a minister. I doubt anybody else ever did worst than he did.

I have a problem when goods are marked, "FOR EXPORT ONLY".

That's all I am saying.

You will see real problems later this year when the crises starts to hit hard.

My issue is that its time for national consensus on important matters like this.

Mo, the way things going, it will be dreader than dread.
        Something wicked this way comes.
        Last edited by Willi; March 18, 2009, 03:31 PM.

You will see real problems later this year when the crises starts to hit hard.

My issue is that its time for national consensus on important matters like this.

Mo, the way things going, it will be dreader than dread.
          They use to mine Bat Dung in Cousins Cove, Hanover, do you think that mine should be activated? I understand the the caves ran for miles, I think it is a tourist site now.

This fertilizer is very strong, that is what they use to fertilize the cane fields with back in the days, those days the cane was twice your height, now it has only a few bumps.

I was listening to Muta the other day, and him a sey dem used to use Bat sh!t as fertilizer and dem gat great yields. Mi nuh sure the supply of Bat sh!t would be adequate for widescale use.

The USA used to be in dispute with other countries, almost war, regarding the sovereignty of some otherwise useless islands (cays) right here in the Caribbean Sea, if I'm not mistaken, just because they were the source of bird droppings used to make the best fertiliser.

But, are we saying that because we use animal dung to fertilise our plants, using human faeces is the same thing?

No, whatever fertilizer Ja receives must be safe, and the USA needs to satisfy Ja's health concerns.

we need fi stop import Florida oranges too because this fertilizer is the most used in the orange industry inna florida.

Yuh can stay deh truss Uncle Sam.

Good ting dem neva draft yuh fi di syphilis experiment.

mi nuh trust nobody, however I expect better evidence from a former minister of agriculture. He ran off his mouth without any form of evidence at all. If it was just a regular person but a former minister of Agriculture who is a farmer I expected to have a little more knowledge and evidence.

These issues are not important!!! People are daggering in the dancehall!!! Can u believe it???!?!? People are dancing with each other in a sexually suggestive manner, while clothed. That needs to stop!!!

Agreed.

Yuh truss Jam Govt either?

Recall Green Bay?

No Govt deserves complete trust.

With Monsanto messing with the food chain and collaring grain supply globally, Jam needs to plan for food independence.

We need to investigate making our own bio-solid manure from Riverton or wherever. When push comes to shove, other countries will perhaps stop selling us their manure and their inroganic fertilizers. What we going to do then?

"No time to be deceived, brothers, we got to KNOW not just believe...."

In case people think this is a partisan slant...forget it. If the roles were reversed, I would be blasting the JLP to hell if they played football with our food supply. This is a matter of the gravest concern. If there is one thing JLP and PNP must agree on and co-operate on it's this!

People, 2009 setting up to be dreader than dread. Bongo RED!