• Foreign mind in local politics

Foreign mind in local politics
    Wednesday, March 18, 2009

A long-established practice by well-to-do middle-class Jamaicans is out in the open, exposed by the dual-citizen fiasco presently sullying the sanctity of Parliament. The practice of which I speak is holding on to a coveted United States citizenship while enjoying the benefits of being a bona fide Jamaican.

...more

To gain a deeper understanding of
    the behaviour described in the column, one has to to look at
    Ja's history (with special attention to to the absentee Planter).

The absentee planter and his sugar mentality has been handed down to generations in Ja. The sad thing is that policies of three hundred years ago are being aped today (please read the above article). Ja is still being run as sugar plantacrocy (with everyone fighting to get in the planters' class).

So what of those of us who work and send money and only go down fi a few weeks or months?

Why not give up something? It is not as easy as anyone of them try to make it.

You think if me have my pickney a foriegn and go back a Ja mi a give up anything? Hell no. If my kids need me I must be readily available. If I can't commit to my family how am I going to commit to any country?

People keep their citizenship for various reasons, not just because them nuh love Jamaica. What of Lee Chin? is he in the plantocracy group too?

Sass did you read what I said? The article is
        dealing with the general mentality of a certain class in Ja, I on the other hand recommended a way to gain deeper insight. You now present some isolated cases ( exception to the rule). how many Lee Chins in Ja?

Boss Google absenteeism in Ja, then come back and post.

Thanks.

Well the whole a we a Jamaican and all a we pon the board like it or not has enjoyed the fruits of the slave master one way or another.

It is easy for us to look upon others with the slave mentality thing. The chinese in Hong Kong and many other places fly to America to have their kids as well so somethings are not unique to us.

If people have family commitment, capital investment or fear they will hang onto their citizenship or green card. Since We all take out foriegn passport and residency so why not give up our Jamaican ones? Is it divided loyalty and selling out for us to seek offices in the US?

Yes the Jamaican law is the law but sometimes a pot a cuss kettle

Excuse me? Sass please clarify:
            "Well the whole a we a Jamaican and all a we pon the board like it or not has enjoyed the fruits of the slave master one way or another."

Why don't you read the whole article then google absenteeism in Ja. Thanks.

Excuse me? Sass please clarify:
              "Well the whole a we a Jamaican and all a we pon the board like it or not has enjoyed the fruits of the slave master one way or another."

Sometimes we have to be careful because 90%(on the board) of us all benefit from the Educational system in England or Jamaica. Most of us have choosen to take up greencard and citizenship. While it is our choice to give it up or not as individuals, let us not crucify others because they don't, because the shoes might be in on your foot tomorrow.

What about absenteeism in Ja? them have foriegn citizenship?

Foreign mind in local politics
                Wednesday, March 18, 2009

A long-established practice by well-to-do middle-class Jamaicans is out in the open, exposed by the dual-citizen fiasco presently sullying the sanctity of Parliament. The practice of which I speak is holding on to a coveted United States citizenship while enjoying the benefits of being a bona fide Jamaican.

...more
                Could you also post how many MP and Councilors live in the area they represent?

I have not read anything about our 2 awol MP in the West, I guess Barrett is covering there footprints.

the US is the root of all evil.

if it is allowed what is the crime? we need visa fi guh every blasted place....including travelling to jamaica on a jamaican passport (ok ... a little exaggeration there).....