Chang supports declaration of state of emergency..

• Chang supports declaration of state of emergency..

... for education.

Chang: State of education spells disaster for economy - Social groups urged to back up Gov't

Published: Wednesday | March 18, 2009

Raymond Chang
    Jamaican-Canadian multi-millionaire Dr Raymond Chang has warned that the island's socio-economic foundation is in danger of collapse if social groups fail to prop up an underfunded education sector.

While conceding that spending on the public-school system was hamstrung because the Govern-ment was broke, Chang, chancellor of Ryerson University in Canada, said the situation was dire.

"It gives you an education system that is grossly underfunded and misaligned with the current and future productivity requirements of a globalised market," said Chang. "This spells disaster ... economically and culturally.

He added: "We cannot leave it to any government to bring education up to speed. The needs are horrendous and the resources are limited. We must depend on ourselves to survive."

Approximately $58.3 billion was allocated for education in the $489-billion national budget. Supple-mentary estimates boosted the total Budget by $18 billion.

Go the extra mile
    Delivering the keynote address at Jamaica College Old Boys' Association of Canada's 21st annual fund-raising gala recently, Chang urged the alumni to go the extra mile for the school.
    "Our schools need us. Parts of the buildings, infrastructure and human capital may survive but only barely if we do not step in to give ... first of ourselves and then of our resources," Chang told the gathering.

He continued: "Over the years, we have all enjoyed the many dinners, dances, picnics, and other fund-raising activities that all our associations have staged. But are we doing enough? I believe we need to do a heck of a lot more," said Chang.

Founded in 1802 by Barbadian Charles Drax, Jamaica College has produced 17 Rhodes Scholars, including the late Norman Manley and Michael Manley, both former prime ministers, current prime minister, Bruce Golding, and former West Indies cricket captain, Jimmy Adams.
    Last edited by Karl; March 18, 2009, 08:12 AM.

I do not remember Michael being a Rhodes scholar?

Just the typical poor journalism.

Actually its poor writing. They meant only Norman Manley, but worded it wrongly. The rest were never Rhodies.

Right.

Barbadian Charles Drax, of Drax Hall Estate in St. Ann, died at the turn of the 18th Century, i.e. 17 someting. Yet, they say he founded Jamaica College in 1802. Huh?

So how old is Jamaica College anyway?

Barbadian Charles Drax, of Drax Hall Estate in St. Ann, died at the turn of the 18th Century, i.e. 17 someting. Yet, they say he founded Jamaica College in 1802. Huh?

So how old is Jamaica College anyway?
              220 years.

was founded in 1789 as Drax Free School.... 1879 renamed Jamaica High School....1890 an outpost of London University was formed on the campus... 1902 the University outpost & Jamaica High School merged into Jamaica College.. to prepare students for that University.

Oh, so the beckford and Smith's trust is older. Jago is your senior then, LoL.

My school is spring chicken in this context. 1850 is like yesterday! LoL

Time to think outside the box...

Oh, so the beckford and Smith's trust is older. Jago is your senior then, LoL.

My school is spring chicken in this context. 1850 is like yesterday! LoL
                    Yeah Jago and i think Wolmers are older.... but JC is senior to all.

Time to think outside the box...
                      Agreed... past time.

But most of us are too busy fighting the stupid partisan battles of yesteryear and can't see past that.

Well, if we go back to when the various trusts were established, we would have to rewrite the history books. Many schools were not actually started until years after their trusts were set up.

I think it is an indisputable fact that Wolmers is the oldest grammar school in the country. Indeed, I hear it could be the oldest in the western hemisphere.

Technically den StGC is the oldest.

Ah di same Spanish man dem that Penn and Venables run outta di island come back from Columbia and form George's. The "trust" set up by Columbus. Hehehehehehehehehe!

Is dat creative enuff for unno?