Despite political bickering, residents bask in attention

• Despite political bickering, residents bask in attention

Long-suffering residents in communities throughout West Portland say they are happy the result of next week's by-election is unlikely to affect the completion of road repairs and water rehabilitation in many areas.

The residents note that many of these projects are either completed or are in an advanced state, making them less susceptible to political interference.

"It is the first time I am seeing light in my house and nobody can come in here and take this out as long as I am paying my light bill," commented Samuel Brown, a resident of Smithfield.

"I am a staunch People's National Party (PNP) supporter and will be voting PNP, but this doesn't mean I am not grateful for finally seeing electricity in many of the homes around these parts."

Is it bribery?

Brown's comments seem to echo many of the sentiments in the Smithfield to Balcarres communities, where the rural electrification programme under former Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) member of parliament and candidate in next week's by-election Daryl Vaz, is said to have benefited 29 households which previously have never had electricity.

"You can call it bribery or whatever you want, but I don't think West Portland has ever seen this kind of attention in over 30 years," explained 66-year-old Sally Thompson of Regale district. "Roads that nobody wanted to drive on have been fixed and many homes that have never seen water now have water.

"I have always voted for the People's National Party, but I don't think anybody would disagree that the young man Vaz has done a lot of work. The good thing, though, is that these roads, no matter who win, can ever dig up again."

Daniel Saddle, who claims to be a diehard JLP supporter, said the real winners were the people of West Portland.

"If half of the constituencies in Jamaica could experience what we have been seeing in terms of infrastructural development, then the country would certainly be better off," he said.

JLP denies claims

Many of the roads throughout the constituency of West Portland have either been repaired or are in an advanced state of repair, prompting calls from the opposition PNP of vote buying and bribery.

The Jamaica Labour Party has, however, strongly denied the claim, insisting that the rehabilitation of roads was initiated long before there were any talks of a by-election.

Last week, Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller accused Vaz of using "the resources of the State in his campaign activities".

"The People's National Party understands that Mr Vaz has continued to give instructions to public officials since the by-election date was announced," she said. She has repeatedly kept up the attack in all her campaign stops.

However, Robert Montague, campaign director for Vaz, said the PNP's grandstanding was an attempt to elevate rhetoric over substance.

"It is a tough job for anybody when you cannot attack your opponent based on the issues. Daryl Vaz has been here performing for the past 18 months while the PNP has been absent," said Montague.

"Even the biggest of PNP supporters will tell you that you cannot fault Mr Vaz on his performance. That is the huge dilemma the PNP faces," Montague added.

No partisanship

Vaz said he was proud of the fact that nobody could charge that the roadwork that has been done was substandard or was hurriedly done for election purposes.

"Regardless of who wins, things that have been signed off on and things that are already at an initiation stage will continue," he said. "The road repairs, the electrification programme and the water to farm communities were not done on a partisan basis. Whether you are PNP or JLP, everyone has benefited."

However, PNP candidate Kenneth Rowe said he was confident the people of West Portland would not be fooled by any election ploy, adding that he was confident the majority of voters would see him as the best suited parliamentary representative.

gareth.davis@gleanerjm.com

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news1.html

rowe kimda sounding like witter when him did run against golding ...... it look like vz has done stuff fi true...whether election play or not dem a gwa'an like seh is the first time any election a run a portland. why didn't the previous mp do anything or why was he unable to do anything? this is a serious question btw...

Gamma my family house is right on the border of South East St.Mary/West Portland. Mi use to live on both sides and I know a little of the runnings. Still have many friends throughtout West Portland ina many district. Nuff a we go Titchfield or play ball togather. Nuff man use to play pon my team that I had.

The history will tell that Leopold Lynch was one of the finest MP in Ja and he built West Portland(JLP). Les Birch(PNP) after him, nice man but was not a great MP and couldn't take the 1980 tribalism so he choose not to run again. Two Cousins went up against each other, St.Clair and Evander Shirley in 1980 and St. Clair Shirley won for the (JLP). He did good. He was heavy into coffee farming and with Micheal Manley and Keeble Munn and other interst like the Japanese they build Blue Mountain coffee in Buff Bay Valley. Shirley was ok in other areas but not great. Then came a young engertic Jigs Ennis(PNP). He did well his first two years but I think he lost interest and became as Audley Shaw said Lazy.

This consistuency is not one for violence and show a lot of political maturity. Places like Hart Hill and Windsor Castle has been stifle because of lack of water. Lot of returning residence but no water. I think this was one of the first project Vaz took on as the pumping station right inna my backyard is old and outdated and the Buff Bay river is only 2 miles away from Hart Hill to get all the water you want.

Buff Bay is a very entrepreneur oriented town and very educated as the kids have the choice of many schools. Some even travel to Kingston every day.

The roads under Ennis to the Buff Bay valley, Fruitful Vale etc was a disgrace to say the least. The people of this consistuencey voleenteer and help out. The area is usually very clean and friendly. Anybody who watch a St.Georges United game can tell you about the atmosphere there.

Vaz went in and made a difference with some projects that have been promised for more than 30 years. He is on every progress organization in Portland often profiling with Lee Chin, Butch Stewart and other investors.

When people a call me sympathizer they have no idea but the people who return from England and build their mansion and can now get water, the people in Buff Bay valley who now have some roads and talk of investment in Tourism all feel a little hopeful.

This is politics and Vaz can lose but most will tell you he has done a decent job so far.
      Last edited by Assasin; March 17, 2009, 10:22 AM.

Yep Sass, Leopold Lynch was the man! Did a lot for West Portland. For many years I used to think that Buff Bay should be the capital of Portland and not Portie - cause BB used to put Portie to shame in terms of infrastructure etc.

Part of the reason why Buff Bay was never capital is Portland is a big Parish and it is too close to the St.Mary Border. Also Portie with the Banana Wharf and Tourism had the chance of growing into a major town.

Lynch really did put a lot of things in place including children playgrounds and good infrastructure. Annotto Bay 10 miles to the West and Buff Bay is night and day.