Things that make you go uhmm
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSo funding can't be find to make a profitable venture?
This sound like the easy way out if you ask me. The fact is we are no where near capacity if finding funding is the answer to a problem.
It is just lack of vision and as usually get everybody else's cheap no good goods. No wonder we have such high employment and huge trade deficits.
They are already at a disadvantage and if you think there is a creative way to get into that form of capital intensive project without funding and the necessary technical expertise please tell me.
So it is simple then, we are not at capacity, just don't have the right policies in place to support the industry.
The fact is government do what is priority to them and the private sector do what is in their interest. The policy has been to pay off a custom officer, look the other way and flood the market with cheap inferior goods rather than investing capital and actually producing. If these loopholes are tighten it will either result in more investment if the demand is there or people develop a different taste but we can't continue shooting ourselves in the foot.
TIME FOR A CHANGELast edited by Assasin; March 18, 2009, 11:36 AM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
sorry I don't make govt policies.
We can just continue importing illegal, sub standard fish.
What else is new in Jamaica?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
there are many policies that can be made. Govt can lease land for little or no cost for such project. Tax break for investors or special low interest rate for loans for people wanting to invest. Drop import tax for people importing capital to invest in the fishing industry.
Beef up customs to challenge the importing of these substandard things and hefty penalty for it. If you don't want the demand to drop thenover temp permit but also charge a good import tax to make sure there is no dumping on the local market, as the industry grows you drop the permit.
The science of growing these fish may not have to be revisited as others have done it effectively.
There is a lot of things government can do. This is just my thoughts I listed above.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
There is capital, and it will be attracted if the venture is seen as profitable.
See 14 people a make proposal fi by sugar factory deh, mainly because of the ethonal involved.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Sounds great.
WHo has this capital and which farmers are they willing to invest in, at what scale and what terms are the farmer's willing to accept as terms.
What are the hurdle rates compared to the cost of capital?
Sounds quite simple to just say the capital is there.
It is there but the entrepreneur will look at the risk and possible profit. That the government can help by making business friendly policy as I listed above.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.