• Things that make you go uhmm

FISH SEIZED
    Customs detains container with tilapia from Asia
    PATRICK FOSTER, Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, March 17, 2009
    CUSTOMS has detained a container with fresh water fish consigned to Jamaica Broilers, which it alleged was illegally imported.

Chief veterinary officer in the Ministry of Agriculture, Osbil Watson, said the fish allegedly originated in Asia from where importation of meats are currently not allowed and permits not granted by Jamaica.

"We don't at this time issue permits for the importation of products of this kind from Asia," Watson told the Observer yesterday.

However, Chris Levy, CEO of Jamaica Broilers - the island's top provider of meat products - dismissed the incident as an error of documentation, adding that tilapia was imported regularly from Asian countries.
    "We have brought it in before," he told the Observer.

He was unable to give the exact quantity of the current shipment but said it was a single container that had other meat products.

Levy added that tilapia was also brought into the island from Asia by other meat importers and was actually being sold openly in supermarkets.

Watson, who admitted yesterday that Asian fish have in fact been showing up on supermarket shelves locally, said it that was nonetheless in contravention of import regulations.

"We have seen them in the supermarkets and are dealing with that," he said.

Watson alleged that Asian meats were being transhipped through a US-based company and marketed to countries globally, including Jamaica.
    The practice, he said, posed problems of verification about the origin of the meats.

"We would prefer if a product is imported from the country of origin and not through a third country," he told the Observer.

Concern surrounds the safety of meats produced in China and other Asian countries, given recent incidents of melamine-tainted milk and the possibility of contaminants such as lead and mercury in seafood.

"Our primary concern is that the products are safe for human consumption," Watson said. "We are not going to wait until people get sick, then we act," he added.

"Our bottom line is to guarantee safe food for the public. We will facilitate a company but not at the point of putting lives at risk," said Watson.

Jamaica Broilers produces fresh water fish locally through its subsidiary, Aquaculture Jamaica.
    Last edited by Karl; March 17, 2009, 11:43 AM.

What is the discussion about?

Customs dictates the rules. If is prohibited, then a suh it go. Its not a democracy.

Importing meat & fish from China - dem sure it nuh tainted

you have a feeling that without Walker at Customs that wouldn't have been an issue?

This is part of the reason so many unemployed people in Ja. Instead of investing and growing things them find all kinda ways fi carry in these corrupted and no good products.

If them can't import the cheap Chinese one, them lose them leverage when having deal with or against the PNP leaders brother.

what i dont understand is how is it on the supermarket shelves.. I also thought they had talipia farm in jamaica.. I guess it does not meet the need.. then we cant have it both ways with high unemployment and not meeting the needs ....

Well that is what been happening. They have been importing substandard food and flooding the market while killing the farmers and entrepeneurs.

Many of the importers have good connections and know how fi deal with a custom officer.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                what i dont understand is how is it on the supermarket shelves.. I also thought they had talipia farm in jamaica.. I guess it does not meet the need.. then we cant have it both ways with high unemployment and not meeting the needs ....
                The local farmers are already at capacity.

What you mean them at capacity? If it profitable for more investment in the fishing industry then there will be more fish farm but if we choose to get the illicit ones from overseas then why should anyone think about investing and improving output?

What do I mean? The entrepreneur in Jamaica who researched and pushed the idea of fresh water Tilapia has been expanding significantly and investing heavily in improving output and technology. Most other local farmers laughed at him when he was testing out different methods to get great output and rid it of the flavour it use to have. That is why he is one of the few in the game.

He is at capacity despite the major investment and increase in output. The folks with the necessary capital to take projects to an international scale have been rejected due to disagreements between the parties.

"The folks with the necessary capital to take projects to an international scale have been rejected due to disagreements between the parties."

If enough profit is in it and them can't import it illegally there will be more people to enter the market. The fact is these people can import illegal ones without paying duties on it so why bother invest capital and pay labour?

What kind of disagreement?

Don't know who has been fooling you but your info. is totally wrong!!!!
                        No 'entrepeneur' researched and pushed the idea of freshwater tilapia in Jamaica. Jamaica Broilers have a lot of problems with their production output HENCE they import the CHEAPER Chinese tilapia. PriceSmart - the huge retail chain also imports frozen tilapia fillets from China. Don't know if they are connected. Other seafood chains in Ja. - eg Rainforest sometimes imports tilapia from Central America as well.
                        There is nothing wrong with the Chinese tilapia EXCEPT that they are CHEAPER than the local ones....hence a possible undermining of the local industry - why is Ja. Broilers doing this?? Most likely profit and to supply existing markets and support a failing business. Typical Jamaican business practice.

As usual mi respond to something somebody talking about and you gone in a million direction.

They are at capacity. Quite simple.

It is profitable once you have scale, financing and the technology. Financing is usually the biggest issue.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Don't know who has been fooling you but your info. is totally wrong!!!!
                            No 'entrepeneur' researched and pushed the idea of freshwater tilapia in Jamaica. Jamaica Broilers have a lot of problems with their production output HENCE they import the CHEAPER Chinese tilapia. PriceSmart - the huge retail chain also imports frozen tilapia fillets from China. Don't know if they are connected. Other seafood chains in Ja. - eg Rainforest sometimes imports tilapia from Central America as well.
                            There is nothing wrong with the Chinese tilapia EXCEPT that they are CHEAPER than the local ones....hence a possible undermining of the local industry - why is Ja. Broilers doing this?? Most likely profit and to supply existing markets and support a failing business. Typical Jamaican business practice.
                            Seeing as I am not guessing, I really couldn't care less if you THINK it is wrong. You must be think I am talking from stories I have heard.

Of course Broilers is motivated by profit. I have seen some of broilers shady tactics with the local producers, so I know how driven they are by profit.

So funding can't be find to make a profitable venture?

This sound like the easy way out if you ask me. The fact is we are no where near capacity if finding funding is the answer to a problem.

It is just lack of vision and as usually get everybody else's cheap no good goods. No wonder we have such high employment and huge trade deficits.