• Dear Portia..

To: Hon. Portia Simpson-Miller, Leader of the Opposition

Dear Portia,

On assuming the office of Prime Minister of our beloved nation, I promised the people of Jamaica a fresh start and more importantly, a new type of governance.
    The hallmarks of this new governance to which I have committed my administration are, vision, accountability, competence and non partisanship in the management of Jamaica's public affairs.

It is in this spirit of governance that today I extend the hand of my administration to the Peoples National Party, in a time of unprecedented national challenge, both within Jamaica and worldwide.

Our country is faced with multiple intractable and systemic crises as you well know. I will not enumerate them here.

I am of the belief that only a sustained and united effort by all elements of society can allow Jamaica to achieve the hitherto elusive dream of peace and prosperity today and a secure future for our children tomorrow.

It is clear to me that this task is beyond the capacity of our political and economic system as it currently operates.
    It's time for real change that people can believe in.

The flip side of any great crisis is great opportunity. I intend to make sure that Jamaica does not miss the great opportunity before us.

To reach this destination of peace and prosperity, Jamaica needs a roadmap which reinvigorates our values, guides our national policy and supports our Constitution.

I am convening in June 2009 a Jamaica National Summit to be held at the National Conference Center under the chaimanship of Rev. Herro Blair.

The purpose of this Summit is to bring together all the significant sectors of our country to discuss and agree on a detailed framework to achieve the national progress we all desire.

The Summit will conclude with a Treaty of Jamaica, which I hope will be signed by representatives of all sectors of society. This treaty will be our new roadmap to peace and prosperity.

In preparation for the Summit and with reference to the Jamaica 2020 initiative aimed at achieving developed nation status, my administration has prepared detailed 20 year plans covering:

Education & Training
    Community Development
    Agriculture
    Housing
    Energy
    Industrial Policy
    Security & Crime Mitigation

The PNP and all other stake holders in Jamaica will receive copies of our plans and ideas tomorrow.
    Plans are being sent to:
    All unions, church organizations, NGOs, all private sector organizations as well as all properly constituted community organizations we can identify. They will be asked to appoint representatives to take part in these national deliberations.

Leading up to the Summit we will have breakout sessions for each individual sector... this to achieve some consensus as early as possible among sector leaders. The dates and locations of these sessions will be included with the plans sent to all invitees.

All sessions at the Summit will be open to the general public and will be televised live. This will ensure transparency, public participation and limit posturing.

It is my fervent hope that The Treaty of Jamaica will be our communal pathway to peace and prosperity, to be adhered to regardless of which party happens to be in power.
    As a publicly negotiated contract, it will be incumbent upon the signatories to keep this contract with Jamaica sacrosanct and the public whom we serve to keep us honest when we are weak.

I intend to publish this letter in the daily newspapers in one week. There will be equal space in that public notice of our intentions, for the PNP's response.

I trust, for our nation's sake, that your response will be affirmative and enthusiastic.

Yours in our nation's service,

Bruce Golding

Now we can confirm all politicans are not equal in Jamaica. There are those who think behind their nose and party.

I have to support them when them come up with some thing good.

Now we can confirm all politicans are not equal in Jamaica. There are those who think behind their nose and party.

I have to support them when them come up with some thing good.
      not sure what you mean in reference to my post.

This is an admirable wish, but does not seem to be on the cards.

Even if done, I am not sure it would be accepted.

ok...i am coming to grips with why he addressed it "dear portia".....for something public it should have been a little more formal IMHO

This is an admirable wish, but does not seem to be on the cards.

Even if done, I am not sure it would be accepted.
            I figure if the offer is public and other elements of the society strongly support the initiative.. the PNP might be placed in a position where they may have to respond positively.... make it fait accompli.... mek di public shame dem into acceptance.

First the JLP would have to extend the olive branch and get different sectors on their side... then the PNP would have a big decision to make.

I see a JLP offer as more unlikely than a PNP disapproval.

My guess is that some JLP circles would interpret such a JLP offer as one coming from political weakness and be disinclined to support it... as in... why should we cede power to other forces when we won the election and are now enjoying the fruits of victory after almost 20 years in the wilderness?
            Or in other words.. why put the nation before the tribe when we already have power?

That's where some statesmanship and leadership from Golding would be required to bridge the divide... he did claim to represent a new politics... Jamaica is yet to see much evidence of that.

ok...i am coming to grips with why he addressed it "dear portia".....for something public it should have been a little more formal IMHO
              yuh can quibble eeh??

nice quiblle ...

sah???!!!!

I figure if the offer is public and other elements of the society strongly support the initiative.. the PNP might be placed in a position where they may have to respond positively.... make it fait accompli.... mek di public shame dem into acceptance.

First the JLP would have to extend the olive branch and get different sectors on their side... then the PNP would have a big decision to make.

I see a JLP offer as more unlikely than a PNP disapproval.

My guess is that some JLP circles would interpret such a JLP offer as one coming from political weakness and be disinclined to support it... as in... why should we cede power to other forces when we won the election and are now enjoying the fruits of victory after almost 20 years in the wilderness?
                    Or in other words.. why put the nation before the tribe when we already have power?

That's where some statesmanship and leadership from Golding would be required to bridge the divide... he did claim to represent a new politics... Jamaica is yet to see much evidence of that.
                    mmmmm?
                    Golding the healer? ...or the politician?
                    JLP puts forward its positions...PNP must follow with its own. If any part of the combination succeeds or the total combined set of ideas succeeds, JLP wins! If it fails in part or totally then the the PNP also owns the failure!

Head I win! Tail you lose!

mmmmm?
                      Golding the healer? ...or the politician?
                      JLP puts forward its positions...PNP must follow with its own. If any part of the combination succeeds or the total combined set of ideas succeeds, JLP wins! If it fails in part or totally then the the PNP also owns the failure!

Head I win! Tail you lose!
                      Perhaps Karl but I'm not concerned with which political party is seen as a winner. I'm at the stage of awareness where I'm post partisan.

I'm concerned with Jamaica winning.

Perhaps Karl but I'm not concerned with which political party is seen as a winner. I'm at the stage of awareness where I'm post partisan.

I'm concerned with Jamaica winning.
                        Will she?

she stands a better chance with some co-operation between the parties, don't you think?

Does Jamaica Win ?

she stands a better chance with some co-operation between the parties, don't you think?
                              Yes...

...but is this a call for co-operation or a thinly disguised play at 'one upmanship'?

Why was not the Opposition invited to together with the governing party sit and work on parameters within which a joint charge for the "convening in June 2009 a Jamaica National Summit to be held at the National Conference Center under the chaimanship of Rev. Herro Blair"?

Why was it not a joint...a co-operative effort presented? Why a JLP set-up? Is there anyone who for one moment thinks that Brucie called Portia and said - Let's do this in the interest of the country? Let's 'hold hands'...step forth together...pesent a united front on confronting the problems that our nation face?

...or do we see "I am doing...this"..."I am doing...that"..."Come here you lot"..."and do not for a moment fail to see that it is my master stroke... my way or the highway for you"?

Let's see how Portia responds...
                              Will she respond with a similar 'playing of politics' counter to Brucie...or in the interest of the country ignore his posturing and attempt at 'backing the PNP into a corner but substitute a real holding out of the hand for co-operation and a moving forward in Jamaica's interest?
                              Last edited by Karl; March 17, 2009, 11:38 PM.