New bio-fuel to come onto the market

• New bio-fuel to come onto the market

Jamaicans should be able to benefit from another type of fuel in the coming months.

The Ministry of Energy says it is moving to introduce a blend of motor-grade diesel fuel from locally grown plants such as castor beans.
    According to Energy Minister Clive Mullings the significance of bio-fuels in alleviating the economic burden of imported oil must be the priority for the nation at this time.

To this end, the Ministry has launched a Bio-fuels Task Force, including the Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Chris Tufton who will start working on the project.

Mr. Mullings told RJR News on Wednesday afternoon that the blend of biodiesel should come on stream in about a year.
    "What we hope to achieve is that we intend to develop bio-fuel, ethanol is one such bio-fuel and bio-diesel is another which you can put into diesel fuels. We hope to have a blend of the bio-diesel and we hope to set a timeline of a year within which to have a percentage blend of bio-diesel in our diesel product,"

"In addition to that we are looking at the growing of castor bean. People may very well be aware of the product Castrol which comes from the castor bean which is lubricant,"
    Mr. Mullings adds the development of the product should provide growth for the farming industry.

"Its important for us to realize that this task force is geared at looking at the optimum use of land, the yield from the particular plant that we are going to be looking at and we intend in very short order to be very high up in terms of production and productive capacity as Brazil is in terms of ethanol and their own biofuels/ biodiesels programmes," said Mr. Mullings.
    And the Energy Minister has confirmed that the government's plans to have E-10 supplied to all petrol stations across the island will not be realised on April one.

He says there is no new date for the pending islandwide roll out.
    "That was dependent on us having storage capacity in the western end of the island to facilitate the islandwide roll out. They have had their approvals and time is against us in realizing April first,"
    "There are other possibilities that I do not wish to disclose now in achieving that timeline but we are adamant that we have to have a roll out islandwide of E10 so that motorists in other areas of the island now served by the western terminals can share in the benefits of E10," said Mr. Mullings.

The Government officially launched the environmentally friendly E-10 gasoline on October 23.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/16258/26/

Took a leaf from Obama's book. That's a good thing. Late, but better than never.

Yuhseeit.. why him nevah duh dis 3 years ago !

Took a leaf from Obama's book. That's a good thing. Late, but better than never.
        Obama? Really? I missed it. Could you point it out?

It is about time, and lets see if they will produce significant quantities to make a dent in our importation of foreign oil.

BTW, I do believe a black man, George Washington Carver was the first person to synthesize diesel fuel from soya beans.

Worthwhile idea but...

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
            It is about time, and lets see if they will produce significant quantities to make a dent in our importation of foreign oil.

BTW, I do believe a black man, George Washington Carver was the first person to synthesize diesel fuel from soya beans.
            ... you know it is a mere proposal and not a hard plan when:

1. They are merely forming a task force to study the concept
            2. No production targets announced
            3. No pilot project announced
            4. No projected budget announced

Good idea but...Wake me up when there's a real project and not a talk shop.
            Last edited by Don1; March 12, 2009, 01:38 PM.

i thought carver's work was with peanuts?

Not correct... he also experimented with the sweet potato plant.

Ironically for all his genius... all he made from his work was.... peanuts.

... you know it is a mere proposal and not a hard plan when:

1. They are merely forming a task force to study the concept
                  2. No production targets announced
                  3. No pilot project announced
                  4. No projected budget announced

Good idea but...Wake me up when there's a real project and not a talk shop.
                  Everything starts with an idea don't it?

He did a lot of work with soya beans as well, and his work was recently featured on the History Channel. Henry Ford liked his research and offered him a 5 figure salary, but he turned it down and continued to live a simple life in his one bedroom apartment at Tuskegee University.

Jatropha is way better than Castor oil.

Castor bean yields 30% less oil and has more industrial uses than Jatropha.

Everything starts with an idea don't it?
                        That's true.. but the idea should have started while they were in opposition when the energy crisis was obvious ... now 18 months into the administration they are just forming a task force to study the matter.

Not impressive.

Lazie will support the foolishness no matter what.

People have been crying out for an energy policy for how long now?

Yes, the PNP was in power for 18 years, which means the JLP also had 18 years to think about the problem if they aspired to become the govt. So what happened?

Not impressed.

Lazie will support the foolishness no matter what.

People have been crying out for an energy policy for how long now?

Yes, the PNP was in power for 18 years, which means the JLP also had 18 years to think about the problem if they aspired to become the govt. So what happened?

Not impressed.
                            Support what foolishness? I posted the article and didn't give an opinion. You posted this morning, why yuh never sey yuh nuh impressed? Maybe next time you should wait fi Don1 post first? Stop acting like a groupie fi a change nuh?

predictable stuff, lazie. say something meaningful for a change, nuh!