evils of Earmarks fi mi nuh? Apparently my understanding of it is incorrect.
Islandman, if you can, please explain the
There are good earmarks, and there are bad earmarks. Earmarks to repair roads & bridges, and to maintain subways are great. Earmarks for obesity studies are a waste of taxpayers money. In the current FY 2009 Omnibus bill passed by the Senate last night, 40% of the earmarks came from Republicans & 60% from the Democrats.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Originally posted by Hortical View PostThere are good earmarks, and there are bad earmarks. Earmarks to repair roads & bridges, and to maintain subways are great. Earmarks for obesity studies are a waste of taxpayers money. In the current FY 2009 Omnibus bill passed by the Senate last night, 40% of the earmarks came from Republicans & 60% from the Democrats."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I don't think earmarks are necessarily evil, but it has been used as a convenient way to add pork barrell spending to the budget and so the word has been tainted and become a political term.
The evil is not "earmarks" the evil is "pork". There is pork in the stimulus bill, and there is pork in the budget."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostI don't think earmarks are necessarily evil, but it has been used as a convenient way to add pork barrell spending to the budget and so the word has been tainted and become a political term.
The evil is not "earmarks" the evil is "pork". There is pork in the stimulus bill, and there is pork in the budget.
I can remember one such where the politician first bought lands for peanuts, then got the earmark to put in roads and utilities, then sold for a fortune!
It has been said many of these earmarks show similar type connections or others whereby the entity or corporation that gained the contracts to 'carry out' the projects point to what is now termed in JA as 'generic connections'."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Earmarks are added to every appropriation, and Obama's so-called proposals will have little impact. Republicans & Democrats support and add earmarks to EVERY appropriation bills.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWhats the difference between what you descibe and what I call pork?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Heh heh. Me figet that one when we was discussing Pluto the other day.
That was some clever writing.
"Guidance me bredren, is wha you have inna dat deh bag?""It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Well the motto of the city Trention is : "Trenton makes, the world takes" so yes, I am sure many rastas live there...As evidence, there is the story of the Rasta on the bus who had a bee "pitch" on his hair. When a fellow passenger swatted away the bee, the Rasta turned to him and asked what he did. After the explanation, the Rasta told him to 'low the bee'. "Everything unno see Rasta wid unno want tek weh!"