Forget the passport.. Vaz needs a Truth Commission
if he was that hated BECAUSE he gave up his citizenship he could not and would not have won in 1980. simple.
he gave up his citizenship and is perhaps the most hated politician in jamaica but there are many subsequent and intervening factors ESPECIALLY when one considers that he was in fact elected as prime minister in 1980.
it would stand to reason theerfore that something that occurred after 1980 has made him the most hated etc etc etc...
Originally posted by Gamma View Postif he was that hated BECAUSE he gave up his citizenship he could not and would not have won in 1980. simple.
he gave up his citizenship and is perhaps the most hated politician in jamaica but there are many subsequent and intervening factors ESPECIALLY when one considers that he was in fact elected as prime minister in 1980.
it would stand to reason theerfore that something that occurred after 1980 has made him the most hated etc etc etc..."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Gamma View Postif he was that hated BECAUSE he gave up his citizenship he could not and would not have won in 1980. simple.
it would stand to reason theerfore that something that occurred after 1980 has made him the most hated etc etc etc...
You showing us some fancy footwork dancing around the original argument there Lazie.
I don't think we were arguing wether people like him. Seaga is generally not a liked man, that is a given. Ian Ramsey once said that he doubted that his mother liked him very much or something to that effect (Ramsey was one of those former labourites who couldn't co-exist with Seaga) .
What you were suggesting was that his giving up US citizenship may have something to do with it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostYou showing us some fancy footwork dancing around the original argument there Lazie.
I don't think we were arguing wether people like him. Seaga is generally not a liked man, that is a given. Ian Ramsey once said that he doubted that his mother liked him very much or something to that effect (Ramsey was one of those former labourites who couldn't co-exist with Seaga) .
What you were suggesting was that his giving up US citizenship may have something to do with it.
Oh ... that tek care a Gamma's argument.
"What you were suggesting was that his giving up US citizenship may have something to do with it"
Yes, that is my opinion based on the "loving" chants I used to hear as a boy. Then, I used to think he was hated because he was considered a "Syrian" foreigner, but who love foreigner like Jamaicans?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
i see yuh stuck on a nonsensical premise for which you are hard pressed to find any tangible supporting evidence.
2 choices eh....so they had a choice? and this most hated man in jamaica syndrome allowed them to vote him in? well lazie it seems that in 1980, seaga was perhaps the second most hated man in jamaica then and as a result running the jamaica into the ground is worse than giving up us citizenship!
which means pj patterson should be the most hated man in jamaica right now!
knock YOURSELF out!
I have said that I couldn't vote for Vaz based on what I know. However the fact is he was not charged in any court and he has really work to get support in that constituency based on what I know.
A PNP friend friend of mine tried to get support in that constituency and I told him if he ever got the chance to run I would give him all the support I could because I know him and he has done a lot of community work. Well he didn't get it. I will vote for each individual based on their work and background, not based on any party.
Again let me say I will never vote for Vaz but I understand why he got the support of the people of West Portland. When you don't have water for 40 years and someone work with you and get it. When you don't have police car and ambulance and someone is on the forefront you understand. Vaz has placed himself on every progress building organization in Portland.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI have said that I couldn't vote for Vaz based on what I know. However the fact is he was not charged in any court and he has really work to get support in that constituency based on what I know.
A PNP friend friend of mine tried to get support in that constituency and I told him if he ever got the chance to run I would give him all the support I could because I know him and he has done a lot of community work. Well he didn't get it. I will vote for each individual based on their work and background, not based on any party.
Again let me say I will never vote for Vaz but I understand why he got the support of the people of West Portland. When you don't have water for 40 years and someone work with you and get it. When you don't have police car and ambulance and someone is on the forefront you understand. Vaz has placed himself on every progress building organization in Portland.
Understood.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
this have nothing to do with what I feel or what you think. The man was not convicted in any court of law so he has a right to represent the people.
That is how it is in any free country. Should people not sit in parliament because others accuse them of breaking the law, without conviction?
If that is the case most of the people in parliament would not be there.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postthis have nothing to do with what I feel or what you think. The man was not convicted in any court of law so he has a right to represent the people.
That is how it is in any free country. Should people not sit in parliament because others accuse them of breaking the law, without conviction?
If that is the case most of the people in parliament would not be there.
It is precisely how you "feel" that I inquired about. Earlier you stated how you felt about the issue with Vaz, the schoolgirl and Shorty.
All you have to say is that you have no problem with the degenerate Vaz being in Parliament.... this has nothing to do with legalisms... just personal opinions.
It's OK for you to have no problem with Vaz since.. as you said... he was not convicted of a crime.
My opinion is different, I don't care what colour his passport is... he is a degenerate and should be treated as such.
With political leadership like that... it's no wonder the country continues to go down the toilet.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Again how you feel is not import, there is no grounds why Vaz not to sit in Parliament currently. You have to blame the Justice system for that one.
I have told you how I felt but the fact is he is not convicted and have the right to run. The same thing happen in America and other countries.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.