Forget the passport.. Vaz needs a Truth Commission

Again how you feel is not import, there is no grounds why Vaz not to sit in Parliament currently. You have to blame the Justice system for that one.

I have told you how I felt but the fact is he is not convicted and have the right to run. The same thing happen in America and other countries.
    Ok since how one feels is not important, I don't expect to see you asking for anyone's opinion.

I don't blame the justice system for what happened... I blame Vaz. Feel free to support that degenerate.

"Ok since how one feels is not important, I don't expect to see you asking for anyone's opinion.

I don't blame the justice system for what happened... I blame Vaz. Feel free to support that degenerate."

How can you not blame the justice system? You expect Vaz fi walk and choose his cell?

Again you are making your emotion rule you on this one. If someone is not charged for a crime they are free to run. Many of the voters in Buff Bay have no idea about this incident and even though Daboub may have mention it many may have put it down to rumours.

Look on the other side. Someone could start a vicious rumour on you. Should that disqualify you from talking part in your daily activities? or represent your constituency if you feel like?

huh?!!! so had he still given it up in 1980?

yuh alright boss? your instransigence borders the ridiculous. face it, yuh mek a nonsenical statement not supported by an facts and yuh just don't have the gonads to admit it.

However the fact is he was not charged in any court...
          That's what's important to you?

How about OJ? He was charged but acquitted. Would you want him dating your sister? If she were white?

Mosiah again. While I wouldn't like him to date my sister I couldn't stop him, just like how I can't stop Vaz from presenting himself as a candidate.

Recently a teacher was accused of child molestation and after five years aquitted. The people in the school claimed he was innocent and he also maintained it. Now should this man be entitled to earn a living??

Don't let your emotion get ahead of you? Now could you stop your sister from dating OJ?

1983 is the reason why the JLP was in the wilderness for 18 years.

"Ok since how one feels is not important, I don't expect to see you asking for anyone's opinion.

I don't blame the justice system for what happened... I blame Vaz. Feel free to support that degenerate."

How can you not blame the justice system? You expect Vaz fi walk and choose his cell?

Again you are making your emotion rule you on this one. If someone is not charged for a crime they are free to run. Many of the voters in Buff Bay have no idea about this incident and even though Daboub may have mention it many may have put it down to rumours.

Look on the other side. Someone could start a vicious rumour on you. Should that disqualify you from talking part in your daily activities? or represent your constituency if you feel like?
                You keep talking about his right to run... forget that.. that's not in dispute.

I have a right to have the opinion that someone with that degenerate's moral character should not be representing people in Parliament... because both Parliament and the people he represents are debased.

Just as you have the right to believe that because the fellow was not convicted of a crime..... everyting kriss.

Let's leave it at that... agree to disagree.

careful with that opinion...where it doesn't rise to the level of libel, slander or defamation of character especially where a public figure is concerned.

You choose not to answer my question but you have a right to or not to.

If we are talking about degenrated moral character our parliment would be empty.

How can we forget about someone's right?

I have been accused of things I have never done and even if I am not guilty I should pay? Can we build our system on rumour and gut feelings?

The fact is the justice system simple didn't do there job and the worst part of it is Vaz has never been in a court of law as a defendant in this case.

You choose not to answer my question but you have a right to or not to.

If we are talking about degenrated moral character our parliment would be empty.

How can we forget about someone's right?

I have been accused of things I have never done and even if I am not guilty I should pay? Can we build our system on rumour and gut feelings?

The fact is the justice system simple didn't do there job and the worst part of it is Vaz has never been in a court of law as a defendant in this case.
                      I'm not building a system.. I'm expressing a personal opinion.
                      I have acknowledged that there is no legal impediment to Vaz holding office... so that point of yours is not material to me.

Also, if you can point out any other MP with a similar history to Vaz... I would similarly condemn them.

The moral rot in Jamaica has to stop somewhere... not just with the ghetto yutes going ballistic....

Our so called leaders must be held to a high and accountable standard.
                      Last edited by Don1; March 11, 2009, 01:20 PM.

careful with that opinion...where it doesn't rise to the level of libel, slander or defamation of character especially where a public figure is concerned.
                        Thanks for the concern bredrin.

Since I have merely expressed an opinion on the fellow's moral character and fitness to hold public office... I'm pretty confident that nothing therein rises to the level of libel.

Then again I'm not an attorney.

Assasin, I find it strange that just because someone never went to court we are not supposed to assess his character.

Who said we are not suppose to assess his character?

That is not the point. I agree he is a slime ball.

The point is however that by the court of law of Jamaica he is not a criminal and can't be treated as one. It is sad and reflect on our justice system that people can do crimes and get away and take public office. Until people are charged for their crimes then they have a right to represent their constituency.

There is a slim line between people who are "get away with murder" and people who are wrongly accused so you can't just use rumour and gut feeling to disqualify them, however you can use it to vote.

Most people of West Portland may not believe what is been said and based on things Vaz has done in his constituency he has gotten some support from the people and that can't be denied. If we use gut feelings and rumours I can assure you that many good candidates will be tarnished and dragged into the gutter as well by people who have ill feelings toward them.

While I understand the emotion that goes with it, there is no grounds for Vaz candidacy to be disqualified.

You are three decade too late my friend.

not everything that is prefaced by "opinion" is exempt .... there are other factors that go into the determination of whether it really is an opinion or something else in opinion's clothing.