Policy failures in Education: A useful analysis

How you a go make it better by excluding many children?

Free education shouldn't stop us from making it better.

How long have we been charging? and it has been worst since then.

before this freed education ting, school fee was not the deterrent from attending school, home situation , hungry , truancy and many other things apart from the school fee itself, which was already heavily subsidized through successive governments, it might look good and sound good, but free education alone will not do, as after years of of paying for an inferior product making it free doesn't really help it just looks good, jus check the schools and the product on offer, if is not certain school dog naam yuh supper as youth especially the young boys

"school fee was not the deterrent from attending school"

How can you make this statement when people said they didn't have the money to pay?

I know that in my days my there were times I didn't have it and many may not want to say it but if I had to pay entrance fee, busfare to Port Antonio and lunch money and books there is no way I could have gotten the good education I have.

I appreciate your perspective Historian... especially since it's one held by most Jamaicans.

I am very alarmed by crime in Jamaica but I see the solution to it significantly differently from most.

I think the crime problem is structural and not solvable by crime plans, police service modernizations, changing governing parties or even a state of emergency... although such things may be necessary to quell a bad upsurge or mostly to give people the impression that something is being done..

I've seen 30+ years worth of anti-crime plans ..... and 30+ years worth of a stunning rise in crime. Clearly this approach is bankrupt and unworkable. Like most other problems, I believe Jamaica's approach to this is backward.... attacking the branches and not the root of the problem.

I believe that Jamaica's problems (including crime and lack of economic growth) are mainly due to horrible social relations and the resulting poor to negative social capital. Crime and poor economic performance I see as symptoms of this social problem.

If this is true, the only possible fix is to invest in people and dramatically improve social capital.... the most important investment being education... and secondly family & community development.

Renovating the attitudes of our political and business leaders... to see what our real problems and solutions are.. is a good place to start.... but I'm not holding my breath for that to happen.

Just my take on things.

Respek
          Yuh rite!
          make di people 'belly full' and there wll be little crime...

...put another way, make access to opportunity for upward mobility easily available (path to 'full belly') and crime rates shall decline!

exactly you didn't have to pay entrance fee, i didn't have to pay entrance fee, and there have always been avenues to get sorted out, you have nuff more expense to come after the fees that is what pressuring the people, so you school fee might alright but you caan go school , cause lunch money, bus fare, uniform shoes etc etc . What I am trying to say is I see nuuf young youths stiil don't have a proper education even if it is paid for.