• Does Roger Clarke know something we dont, or is

it stupid "politics as usual" hysteria?

I dont see anything wrong with this fertilizer, and it seems better than the inorganic feckless stuff that is commerically used everywhere now. That inorganic (phosphate) stuff is essentially why nutritional quality is so poor in modern factory food, so deficient in trace elements, co-enzymes and essential minerals.

I recall Jamaica Broilers back in the 1990s using a foul smelling fertilizer made from chicken entrails on their football filed. It had the lushest grass in Jamaica. I think the name was BiORGANIC.

'We can stand up to any test'
    Cheap fertiliser manufacturer defends integrity of product
    PATRICK FOSTER, Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, March 06, 2009
    ALEX Kaminsky, the managing director of Diamond R Fertiliser that manufactures the fertiliser now at the centre of a controversy, yesterday vehemently defended the integrity of his product saying that the company would challenge anyone to prove that the fertiliser imported into the island was unprocessed or unsafe.
    KAMINSKY. we challenge anyone who tries to discredit our product (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    Kaminsky, however, declined to comment on the use of bio-solids in the manufacturing of fertiliser by Diamond R.
    "There is no human faecal material in our
    Bringing our customers the finest dry and liquid fertilizers, seeds and crop protection products for Citrus, Pasture, Nursery, Specialty, and Vegetable growers.
    fertiliser," Kaminsky declared in an interview with the Observer, adding the manufacturing process eliminated any such possibilities.
    "Diamond R will challenge anyone who tries to discredit our product," he emphasised.
    Fertiliser from the Florida manufacturing company is at the centre of accusations by Opposition spokesman on agriculture, Roger Clarke, that human excrement was present in fertiliser shipments imported by Government over a six-month period.
    Clarke called for local tests to confirm the safety of the product inspite of Government's insistence that the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) had approved the fertiliser.
    "We can stand up to any test, local or otherwise," Kaminsky told the Observer yesterday, adding that the same product shipped to Jamaica was used in the US and other countries.
    "We don't have a problem bringing experts from anywhere to test the product," he said.
    Kaminsky added that Diamond R, with more than 66 years in the business, sells over 260,000 tonnes of fertiliser annually to the US, Canada and other countries.
    He was in the island regarding the establishment of a local distributor for the fertiliser.
    In Parliament on Tuesday and in a subsequent press conference Wednesday, Clarke questioned the safety of using the imported fertiliser and suggested that it contained unprocessed human excrement because of its extremely foul smell.
    But Government officials responded saying that the former minister of agriculture was playing politics and misrepresenting the facts.
    Minister of Trade Karl Samuda said that proper procedures were followed in conducting the importation while Agriculture Minister Christopher Tufton added that all the relevant approvals were granted.
    Tufton said that the fertiliser from Diamond R is manufactured using bio-solids, but undergoes a heat process that renders microbes ineffective. Bio-solid is a term used to describe the by-product of domestic and commercial sewage and waste-water treatment. The residuals are then treated to reduce pathogens.
    However, yesterday, Kaminsky said he was uncertain about the exact composition of the fertiliser but contended that its foul smell was an indication that it was more potent.
    "I am not a technical person, I cannot answer to the composition of it," he declared.
    In the meantime, Kaminsky said that his company was confident about coming into Jamaica and becoming competitive. "We are looking at entering the Jamaican market and have been doing a lot of market research over the last six months," he disclosed.

Diamond R Fertilizer Company

Serving Florida Agriculture Since 1943

The company was originally founded by the Roper family in Winter Garden, Florida where they grew citrus and sold fertilizer to other growers in the area. The <R> Brand was used on their fruit boxes as a way to distinguish themselves from other grove owners at the packinghouse. The Roper family later sold the fertilizer and agrichemical businesses to a group of citrus growers and investors from Ft. Pierce. The company grew and prospered over the years becoming the largest full service agrichemical dealer in Florida. Present day assets include 4 bulk-blending plants, agrichemical storage facilities at Ft. Pierce, Winter Garden, Okeechobee, LaBelle, Palatka, Homestead and Lake Placid, a seed harvesting and processing division, and an analytical laboratory. Annual sales total approximately $100 million, which is evenly divided between crop protection and fertilizer products. Diamond <R> Fertilizer Co., Inc. has always been recognized for superior service, quality products, and expert technical support.

Roger know what him doing! Talked to a bredren yesterday who claimed, "dem a import sh!t fi black people nyam! Check Mosiah's post referencing the fertilzer yesterday.

A filthy opportunity

Published: Friday | March 6, 2009

The Editor, Sir: In recent days, we have been treated to an earful of filth. It started when the opposition spokesperson on agriculture alleged that fertiliser being imported into Jamaica contained human excrement. The agriculture minister has since sought to clarify that the fertiliser is approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, and the substance in question is not pure filth, but is refined to the highest international standards.

A filthy opportunity

LETTER OF THE DAY - Food-safety concerns

The Editor, Sir: I have listened with interest to the recent concerns expressed by Opposition Spokesman on Agriculture Roger Clarke and Minister of Agriculture Dr Christopher Tufton concerning the unacceptable issue with imported fertiliser that includes human wastes...

Read More...

A filthy opportunity

Published: Friday | March 6, 2009

The Editor, Sir: In recent days, we have been treated to an earful of filth. It started when the opposition spokesperson on agriculture alleged that fertiliser being imported into Jamaica contained human excrement. The agriculture minister has since sought to clarify that the fertiliser is approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, and the substance in question is not pure filth, but is refined to the highest international standards.

A filthy opportunity
          "The truth is, people are not concerned about what the fertiliser is made of, but are disappointed they weren't told sooner" (BENJAMIN SKYY).

How many of us ask our fruits and vegetable suppliers about the type of fertilizer used on the products we're buying? As I can recall, people look at the product, feel it, some squeeze it, smell it .... and then decide to buy.

The PNP is stuck on trifle matters.

What them nuh like cheap fertilizer? Them nuh like Free Healthcare?

Them need to work with the program and offer alternatives not just spread "popoganda".

They heat treat the raw material input to 1200 freaking degrees farenheit.

How many germs can survive that? Try none!

Why the silly panic mongering when we are staring down at a crisis that will test every mettle we have???

Now you know why the florida orange juice so sweeettttt

Would you like to broaden your views a bit, what you said above is as shallow as a Ricky martin hit song.

Well my concern is they are not suggesting anyway to make things better.This is the second time Roger Clarke has spoken on Cheap fertilizer and both times it had nothing to do with nothing scientific or any special findings.

With Healthcare they keep on saying I told you so, as their orgininal stance was it couldn't happen.

It is time for the PNP to start thinking about solution. People like Peter Phillips, Peter Bunting and other thinkers in the party need to do constructive criticism and if people like Clarke have no idea what them talking bout need to shut up.

Solutions ?

From the PNP ?

If dem couldn find any in almost 20 years.. wheh mek yuh tink dem gwine have any now ??

LOL !!! WOIEEE !!

Now Portia ah bawl in a newsclip...Serious ting dem tek it mek joke...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISlnauXa4Sw