The First Lady of Jamaica

• The First Lady of Jamaica

Last night at 10, after watching American Idol, I switched to Fox Sports expecting to see the sports news. Unfortunately, they were showing a CONCACAF club game which I didn't want to watch. So while surfing through the channels, I saw a title which caught my eyes, "The First Lady of Jamaica". It was an expose on Mrs. Lorna Golding, the wife of Bruce Golding, and Jamaica. Of course I switched to watch it and shouted out to everybody in the house to turn to channel 64 (WE), because I am "frightened" (this word shall be used again) whenever I see anything about Jamaica on tv here.

The interview was being done by Debra Roker of NBC/Al Roker's wife fame. She was met by Mrs. Golding at Vale Royal, under police escort and the Jamaica Military Band playing. She, Debra, admitted that she felt like royalty upon her arrival to Vale Royal. I must say that the images looked sharp and colourful on my tv. The sunrays were bouncing off the soldiers' uniforms and there were two very pretty young ladies standing guard, fully decked out in our national dress along with headwraps.

Soon the interview got under way and it was interesting to learn a little about our Prime Minister's past. Mrs. Golding revealed that they got married in 1970 after meeting at a wedding just 6 months before. I must admit that I had never seen a picture of her before and would have walked right past her on the street and not known who she was. I knew that she was into baking , but that was the extent of my knowledge of our First Lady.

The rest of the show took us to the usual tourist spots across Jamaica; Ocho Rios, Golden Eye estates, Round Hill, Negril, Chukka Cove. The sceneries were exquisite to say the least. If you were to compare Jamaica to a woman's beauty, she would be near perfection. Mrs. Golding took Debra to her childhood home in Moneague, St. Ann to meet some of her family. It was a lovely house which sat atop of a hill with a great view. It is obvious that some serious work was done to renovate that house.

Overall, the show was nicely done and it showed the First Lady as a real person. She partook in all the touristy stuff along with Debra and it also highlighted her passion for children. She talked about her involvement in developing early childhood education for Jamaican children. It ended with them taking a trip to Hope Botanical Garden and meeting with some pre-schoolers there. It was very heartwarming to see the kids running about and frolicking on the greens of the Hope Garden. My wife made the comment that this was what these American kids lacked, the chance to run about and burn off their energies.

The problem that I had with Mrs. Golding is that she came across as very unsophisticated for someone in her position. Whilst I am not saying that she should be pretentious, she seemed to be in awe of her position and her interviewer. She was not very knowledgeable about the history of each tourist spots that she took her guest to, and as a result, she bumbled her way through. In Jamaican parlance, she seemed "frightened" that there were resorts like those in Jamaica. It appeared obvious that she has not been regularly exposed to finer living. At one stage it appeared that her guest was leading the tours. Aside from that, I enjoyed the show and look forward to the day I can enjoy Jamaica in that way...... again.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I got a call about it last night ... there will be a repeat on Friday night, so I'll check it out.

Thanks, I'm looking forward to seeing it on Friday.

Jangle, your view on Mrs Golding is quite interesting!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Wait deh, man a watch WE channel now?

We graduate from lifetime? You notice how much Channel Jangle a tell we say him watch first?

Big up sah, a can tell the married man dem.

Jangle, yuh nuh haffi go roun and come roun to explain why you were watching WE (Women Entertainment). I watched it too, but only because my wife came in my kitchen and turned on this little TV I have at the bar to the WE channel. I was there on my laptop when I heard they announced Jamaica's First Lady, so I stay tuned and watched.

I thought Mrs. Golding was fine. She is what she is albeit elevated to the position of wife of the prime minister. She tried being herself which was fine with me.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Run a digital copy an upload nuh?

Not all of us can get American TV. LoL

never saw it...but for good or for bad yuh haffi respect someone for being who they are....

yuh respect george bush?

Last night at 10, after watching American Idol, I switched to Fox Sports expecting to see the sports news. Unfortunately, they were showing a CONCACAF club game which I didn't want to watch. So while surfing through the channels, I saw a title which caught my eyes, "The First Lady of Jamaica". It was an expose on Mrs. Lorna Golding, the wife of Bruce Golding, and Jamaica. Of course I switched to watch it and shouted out to everybody in the house to turn to channel 64 (WE), because I am "frightened" (this word shall be used again) whenever I see anything about Jamaica on tv here.

The interview was being done by Debra Roker of NBC/Al Roker's wife fame. She was met by Mrs. Golding at Vale Royal, under police escort and the Jamaica Military Band playing. She, Debra, admitted that she felt like royalty upon her arrival to Vale Royal. I must say that the images looked sharp and colourful on my tv. The sunrays were bouncing off the soldiers' uniforms and there were two very pretty young ladies standing guard, fully decked out in our national dress along with headwraps.

Soon the interview got under way and it was interesting to learn a little about our Prime Minister's past. Mrs. Golding revealed that they got married in 1970 after meeting at a wedding just 6 months before. I must admit that I had never seen a picture of her before and would have walked right past her on the street and not known who she was. I knew that she was into baking , but that was the extent of my knowledge of our First Lady.

The rest of the show took us to the usual tourist spots across Jamaica; Ocho Rios, Golden Eye estates, Round Hill, Negril, Chukka Cove. The sceneries were exquisite to say the least. If you were to compare Jamaica to a woman's beauty, she would be near perfection. Mrs. Golding took Debra to her childhood home in Moneague, St. Ann to meet some of her family. It was a lovely house which sat atop of a hill with a great view. It is obvious that some serious work was done to renovate that house.

Overall, the show was nicely done and it showed the First Lady as a real person. She partook in all the touristy stuff along with Debra and it also highlighted her passion for children. She talked about her involvement in developing early childhood education for Jamaican children. It ended with them taking a trip to Hope Botanical Garden and meeting with some pre-schoolers there. It was very heartwarming to see the kids running about and frolicking on the greens of the Hope Garden. My wife made the comment that this was what these American kids lacked, the chance to run about and burn off their energies.

The problem that I had with Mrs. Golding is that she came across as very unsophisticated for someone in her position. Whilst I am not saying that she should be pretentious, she seemed to be in awe of her position and her interviewer. She was not very knowledgeable about the history of each tourist spots that she took her guest to, and as a result, she bumbled her way through. In Jamaican parlance, she seemed "frightened" that there were resorts like those in Jamaica. It appeared obvious that she has not been regularly exposed to finer living. At one stage it appeared that her guest was leading the tours. Aside from that, I enjoyed the show and look forward to the day I can enjoy Jamaica in that way...... again.
                  All well and good to be yourself, but I'm sure she knew she was going to go to these places. If you are interested in early childhood education, then you must have some education yourself. Read up likkle bit bout di place dem nah! It's not okay to be ignorant about something, but remain comfortable in the ignorance because, at least, "I'm being myself, ignorant little me!" NO! Not good enuff.

...two very pretty young ladies standing guard, fully decked out in our national dress along with headwraps.
                  headwraps?!? Like dem tie dem head? Now, I have nothing against tie-head. It's African and my mother wore African garb all di while, but something tells me these ladies were not in "headwraps"

Interesting that your wife said that American kids lacked places to run up and down. I think parks are so much more available in the US than in Jamaica.

Thanks, Jangle!

The headwrap thing is fine with me, a fi wi culture. I haven't seen it but I agree that a little background and history about these places would help, but then again you have the Sarah Palins of the world.

Sass, Tilla and all married men, I know you will all understand when I say, for a peaceful life, we have to COMPROMISE a lot. The WE channel is not on my favourites list, but HGTV is. Being the only man in the house, I have gotten into quite a bit of the reality shows too. After hearing the "nail-in-your-head" comments like, "you don't spend any quality time with us" and "all yuh want to do is watch football 24/7", I had to give. I am the tv Hexpert.

Mo, even though each community has its own park, it is not the same thing as back home where you would say to your kids "go outside wid deh romping". The kids on the show displayed uncontrolled glee just running up and down and playing with weach other. Somehow, I don't see that here. Maybe someone else can either support my point or disagree with me based on their own observations. Here, when a child shows too much energy, they are quick to diagnose it as ADD and prescribe drugs to calm them down.

I can appreciate Mrs. Golding being herself during the interview, but to me, she came across as the typical Jamaican who doesn't know certain FACTS about the country. She kept saying "many famous people" visited so-and-so without naming these people. She lacked substance. It's like when dancehall started taking off during the 80's, you used to hear that so-and-so dj big a fareen, only to learn that he may just be popular on the NY reggae charts.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

for being himself ... yes! the FACT of who he is is another matter altogether.

What you say about the children, parks, etc makes a lot of sense.

I have frequently felt that these children in the US have a lot of activities to participate in, far more than I could have even imagined growing up, but it is all very structured and there is not much of what you call "uncontrolled glee".

I think some of it is due to the fear most parents have these days about child predators. When parents in Jamaica would tell us to "go outside with the romping" they did not have the slightest fear that anything would happen to us, except maybe a "buck toe" or a "buss head" at worst. Not so these days, even Jamaica has probably changed somewhat in this regard.

Thanks for the info on the show, I will make sure to set it to record for Friday.

Nuh feel bad Jangle. Them laff offa mi and Gamma sometime back because we watch liftetime. How them think we can watch so much footie? you have fi comprimise.

Now nuff a the single man them a pick up wifey, secetary, and mateys and them can't laugh no more but me memba them say if you have fi subject to lifetime and them channel deh you a nuh "man a yard".

Wait, you watch Miss Neecie on CLEAN House??? LoL