Mavado Breaks Marley's Record

• Mavado Breaks Marley's Record

Alliance bad boy 'David Mavado Brook' is being heralded by many as the new saviour of Dancehall, very ironic after years of vilification in the media and certain sectors of society, but its easy to see why.

Currently breaking barriers for Dancehall music, Mavado is slowly entrenching himself in the fabric of North American popular culture. Recently another round of promotion in New York saw Mavado making an appearance at the MTV studios in Times Square, where he recorded an in-depth interview with Rahman Dukes for the station's flagship MTV News slot.

From there it was on to the G-Unit offices, to record an interview for 50 Cent's wildly popular entertainment website thisis50.com. The videotaped interview will premiered on the site this Sunday and will be able available online for an entire week.

With the release of his sophomore album 'Mr Brooks - A Better Tomorrow', on digital format via iTunes exclusively a week prior to the physical CD release, Mavado has once again broke new ground for Dancehall.

Since iTune's inception almost six (6) years ago Bob Marley's timeless "Legend" album, voted the album of the 20th century, has been the number one (#1) selling album on the Reggae section of iTunes.

Today that changed for the first time ever, as Mavado took the top spot with his 'Mr Brooks' album, released yesterday. With a hectic promotional schedule set for its physical release next week, including in-store signings and an appearance on HOT 97's Angie Martinez show, Mr Brooks certainly looks set to continue the huge strides he has made since bursting on to the scene three (3) years ago. The album is available for purchase via www.itunes.com .

http://www.876radio.com/home.html

Broke his record? What record exactly did he break? You mean he sold more digital downloads than a 20+ year old album over a one day period. What hyperbole
    Last edited by Bricktop; February 27, 2009, 05:58 PM.

I don't think i have ever heard any songs/music from mavado nor vybez cartell...

(i guess i am missing a lot...eh mosiah)

He broke the Marley record 6 year streak at #1!

Heh heh.

Mawning HL.
          It raises serious question whether you can have an informed opinion on the (either) entertainers.
          That is what you are missing.

Blessed

I could send you some. Explicit lyrics or not, Mavado's haunting voice and expressive creativity makes him one of my favourite dancehall artists.

yeah man daggering and ramping shop a real Adult tune so you missing a whole lot, ask Brickie

"Mavado's Haunting Voice"

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                I could send you some. Explicit lyrics or not, Mavado's haunting voice and expressive creativity makes him one of my favourite dancehall artists.
                Uh? “Haunting” as in nightmares?

Trust me, this guy is a nightmare in more ways than one. But, like the saying goes, to each his (fr!gg!n’)own.

But imagine the nerve of some to mention this obvious no-talent in the same sentence as the Third World’s only superstar, Bob Marley!

take it easy brethren, all you need to do is sell two tune and you deh pon the highway.

Must admit that that is a reasonable question Rockman.

Often times, the riddim behind the lyrics of most of these entertainers are borrowed. I get bored when I hear that....

Dance hall music remind me of fast-food. "Tasty" but empty calories.

With time, my listening pleasure has evolved from the 2-cord reggae riddim.

No comparison with Bob. But put in context. No-talent you say? Unfair criticism. If you said "un-guided talent", I could agree.

No talent? There is a reason why people all over the world like his songs. There is something about his voice and the pain in his songs that grabs people.

Oh? Now You're Teaching Me!

Originally posted by Me View Post
                          No talent? There is a reason why people all over the world like his songs. There is something about his voice and the pain in his songs that grabs people.
                          So, I guess that everyone who makes a record that sells to some extent, or even sells immensely, is talented? I guess that Sean Kingston, who had a huge hit with his “Beautiful Girls,” is a talented singer? I suppose that Jah Cure, who sold lots of records from behind the walls of his prison cell, is “talented” as well?

No serious music lover would regard Bob Dylan as a “great” singer, but at the same time no music connoisseur would challenge his song writing abilities! Based on his tremendous output of extraordinary material (just listen to, for example, Dylan’s “Highway 66 Revisited,” which I actually played early yesterday evening), he is clearly really, really outstanding in the context of his times! So, to say that Bob Dylan is “talented,” based on his composing (and visionary) abilities, would be an accurate statement!

Where is Mavado’s outstanding use of melody and harmony? How well does he hold several notes one after the other in a song? What makes his compositions stand out above his Jamaican peers?

While the recognition and indeed use of the word “talented” is highly subjective, to call Mavado “talented” is, quite clearly, stretching it a bit! Does he articulate the desperation of life in poverty stricken inner-city areas? Yes, he does, and he does a tremendous job at this! But is Mavado talented in the musical sense of the word (a visionary composer, a talented arranger, an outstanding lyricist, a good singer)? Absolutely not!

End of story!!

End of your story.

You not liking it doesn't mean he does not have talented. He obviously has some talent in terms of being an arranger or you wouldn't have people singing his stuff for so long. If he was simply a gimmick he would have faded away years ago. It also quite obvious that his lyrics touches people. Just because you can't relate does not mean he is not talented.

I see no reason why Jah Cure should not be called talented. Another one with songs with lyrics that touch people all over the world.

It seems once one does not fit your European standards they aren't talented.

Oh, I See....

Originally posted by Me View Post
                              End of your story.

You not liking it doesn't mean he does not have talented. He obviously has some talent in terms of being an arranger or you wouldn't have people singing his stuff for so long. If he was simply a gimmick he would have faded away years ago. It also quite obvious that his lyrics touches people. Just because you can't relate does not mean he is not talented.

I see no reason why Jah Cure should not be called talented. Another one with songs with lyrics that touch people all over the world.

It seems once one does not fit your European standards they aren't talented.
                              “End of your (my) story”? It’s actually interesting that, in a discussion on music, you’ve somehow determined that you are qualified to end my music-based comments! I will return to this issue at another time.

But moving on to your specific comments, it’s a bit interesting that people “singing his stuff for so long” is connected with talent, in this case Mavado’s assumed talent! What on earth do you regard “talent” as? In your view, is it something decided on by the response of a tiny segment of the population of a country?

And when I said that Mavado is “not talented,” this had nothing to do with me liking him or not liking him, as you assumed! My comment had to do with his recorded output, of which I’m fully aware (just as I’m aware of the recorded material of a super-talented, non-European group like the Maurice White-led “Earth, Wind and Fire,” just to cite one example)!

“European standards” indeed! Trust me, if I were you, I would not make such comments especially seeing that you know absolutely nothing about me or my musical inclinations or influences or direction.

I mean no disrespect to you, Me, as you’ve often posted comments both here as well as on the track and field forum next door with which I have agreed fully. However, if your intention is to monitor and make ridiculous comments on my posts, then I will also reply to yours, minus the ridiculousness!