Three parishes murder-free for January
Originally posted by Naminirt View PostAt the start of the year, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin, commissioner of police said the police are aiming to reduce murders by about five per cent this year. Lewin's five per cent target means that the murder toll is expected to dip to about 1,530 from the 1,611 recorded last year.
... but then... do you ever have a point except to manifest inanity??TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Ah Willi...but that is the 'p-value' explaining the probability that random chance could explain the result. In general a 5% or lower p-value can be considered to be statiistically significant. BUT if the standard deviation is greater than 5%, would 5% change be considered statistically significant?? In other words what are the yearly fluctuations in murders? How can the Commish confirm cause-effect?
100 less murdered persons is never insignificant in my book despite what anyone might think. plus that is taking the issue into a different realm now about whether or not he can accurately make such a prediction.
if that is what nyamdirt means and you were able to understand that then good on you, lving in trinidad does have its benefits.
Well it is a start. We should have all Minister of Security make such judgement based on their plan and if it doesn't work then they should resign.
Hopefully it will reduce by more but at least we can hold the comish responsible if his 5% figure don't pan outand if it does we look for 10% next year.
How about his Trini counter part take the same responsibility? Like us I know the people of Trinidad would welcome a 5% drop.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Such myopia and parochialism! That is to to put it squarely in a geographical context. Fortunately, I can look at it much more dispassionately and scientifically...I wish you could....and then you have ''Sas' jumping on the exenophobic bandwaggon. Maybe you should consider moving...and getting a broader perspective.
er....moving from where to where please?
and the use of multisylabillic words have changed nothing! 100 less persons dead is NOT insignificant....Last edited by Gamma; February 19, 2009, 05:27 AM.
Mi a look pon it realisitically. Murder in NYC did not just drop 100% so. It drop by 5% then 10 then before you know it by 100%.
I can only hope the Commish is trying to get a grip and l look forward to further reduction or he can go.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.