I can't watch it at work but I wouldn't call KID Rock a hip hop artist.
Could Dancehall Ruin Reggae - Community Forum
Now you asking bout Hardcore. Mi and you never have no argument bout hardcore sah.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
considered?
But he is a rapper and if rapping on a beat makes it hip hop then he should be included.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postconsidered?
But he is a rapper and if rapping on a beat makes it hip hop then he should be included.
how do you prevent the taxi driver or minibus driver from playing the song in the vehicle or do you care about that at all?
it look like i have to ead you step by step because yuh all ova di place...
"Kid Rock pseudo rapping over rock beats."
now you throw another term in.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Post"Kid Rock pseudo rapping over rock beats."
now you throw another term in.
Originally posted by Gamma View Posthow do you prevent the taxi driver or minibus driver from playing the song in the vehicle or do you care about that at all?
it look like i have to ead you step by step because yuh all ova di place...
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWhat are you arguing? You going down a slippery slope wit yuh argument. How do you prevent someone from being hit with a cricket ball in his head and dying? Ban cricket?
I don't see what yuh point is. Nobody said they cannot do slack music, it just nuh fi play pon the air an now some is pushing for it not to b played in passenger vehicles. Gwaan complain, if dem did tek Muta's advise fi lock up the producers then not even the dancehall would have access to the smut."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I think the point is that dancehall and hip hop are more than just the beat and words, they are subcultures in themselves and the music tends to reflect the subculture. Again it is not a hard and fast thing, but that what makes Boom Bye Bye a dancehall song , is the cultural references and the artiste.
Kid Rock is not part of hip hop culture and neither is his music."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The line is blurrier than most of unnu will want to accept. In some cases dancehall and reggae is the same thing. Dancehall is still reggae.
many artists sway between the two.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.