Dancehall is a variation of reggae but it is not unique. Point is almost on all a the dancehall album have at least one reggae track on it but it is still classified as dancehall.
Could Dancehall Ruin Reggae - Community Forum
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWell then the coalition should channel their efforts into educating the international audience then instead of trying to censor dancehall. When I want to hear about peace and love I listen to Luciano. When I want to bruk out I listen to Beenie Man. You cannot dictate to dancehall artistes what they can and can't say. Yellowman talking bout shoving him ten buddy inna di gyal ten p*ssy over 30 years ago is much raunchier than anything said today. Leave di music alone."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
you can't tell them what to say but you can dictate when and how it is played.
There is no need for our kids to be at the mercy of Taxi drivers, Minivan man and people who care less about children been children, and don't tell me crap cause some a them need fi go a jail.
We need proper rules and regulation as it fits our society but this kinda music can't be open everywhere and on the open airwaves as they have a like.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostDi man dem gone over the line Bricktop ... and you refuse to see that. Yes, Yellowman and Shabba did some slack stuff, but how much of them was on the air? Today, 90 seconds of a 3 minutes song needs to be edited, and even then, the slackness still come across on the air. Since dem refuse fi deal with it demselves, well ... censor dem yes!
Originally posted by Assasin View Postyou can't tell them what to say but you can dictate when and how it is played.
There is no need for our kids to be at the mercy of Taxi drivers, Minivan man and people who care less about children been children, and don't tell me crap cause some a them need fi go a jail.
We need proper rules and regulation as it fits our society but this kinda music can't be open everywhere and on the open airwaves as they have a like.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWell then don't play them on the air. Is KARTEL a radio jock? Nobody is asking them to play the music on the air. Dancehall belongs in the Dancehall. If dem don't play the music on the radio then the artist will have to decide whether he wants to be commercial and modify his lyrics or stay in the Dancehall and do his regular thing.. That should be up to the artist. Why are artistes being crucified because disc jocks play the music on the air? Makes no sense. How can the deejays be stepping over the line? Was Yellowman stepping over the line?
"Which gal get {bleep} inna car back last night
Which gal get {bleep} fi a cold red stripe."
That tune may well belong in the dancehall, but those 2 bleeps made it fit for air play. Now the BC simply sey dat cyaan play on the air .... whats the fuss?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWell good. Do it and shut the f*ck up then. Don't play the music on the radio. End of story. Argument done."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Gamma View Posttaxi driuvers and minibus drivers playing it with schoolers in the vehicle? how do you address that? not everyone can have them parents pick them up at 3:30 p.m.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostWell ... at least yuh get it. One down ... whey Kitty paw deh?
Well why is the artist complaining if not playing his music on the airwaves have nothing to do with them? Nobody is locking them up for their profanity on record, are they?
While you are looking to protect these artist we are only looking to protect our children in a very fragile and dangerous society.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
"Deejaying over a reggae riddim is dancehall "
Yet unnu tell me dancehall genre of music is different.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.