Could Dancehall Ruin Reggae - Community Forum

I consider dancehall to be primarily music from the DJs, and singers performing on a dancehall riddim. Wayne Wonder's "No Letting Go" was a dancehall tune.

Music by Morgan Heritage & Taurus Riley are reggae, whereas music by Sizzla & Capleton are dancehall.

In some circles artists who are not current is not recognized as dancehall. Check some a the younger crowd and you will see.

check some a Shabba songs like Mr.Loverman, the one with Maxi Priest and a few others.
      Young yute dem inna dancehall consider Shabba ranks as dancehall. DJ/singjay music is what them call dancehall.

Thats my basic categorization too, although there will always be some grey areas.

I would not classify any music created before 1985 as dancehall. The dancehall era began in 1985 with the emergence of digital riddims created by King Jammy.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
            I would not classify any music created before 1985 as dancehall. The dancehall era began in 1985 with the emergence of digital riddims created by King Jammy.
            Suh when people like U-Roy used to duh dem thing pon the B side what yuh call that? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8DzYiDeAX0

I know there are grey areas, but I consider his music to be reggae. Dancehall riddims tend to have a much faster beat.

Toasting on dub music? That was certainly the roots of dancehall music.

I think i would consider the dancehall era to have started a bit earlier than Hortical though, more like early 80s when Yellowman became a phenomenon and DJs came out of the literal dancehall and started hitting the charts and performing on stage consistently.

Guess it depends on your definition of dancehall. Man like Leroy Sibbles say it started in the 60s before DJs arrived on the scene.

the beat never start going faster until DJs such as Peter Metro, Papa San, General Trees etc when selectors started to move the bass to match their talking. Sound like Jaro, Metro Media, Scorpio and Lt. Stitchie etc.

that was when the speed came but dancehall in my view go back before that to about 75 when you had sounds like Black Harmony(socialist roots) Emperor faith, Echo Tone and people such as Kojack and Liza, RayI, Lone Ranger, Ranking Joe, Ranking Trevor etc.

the beat really went faster with sly and robbie dem first experiment .. with the computerized beat.. If you remember sugar minott devil pickeney.. you will hear a more complex sound. Jammys and the sleng thing craze a bit faster but what you have now is totally different. If you look at the bpm of some songs its off the charts and really the molodies are poor. I dont blame the selectors as dj really like one drop ridddim that can tek mix.. Thse new tunes cant..

true true. But the selectors mixing the baseline really created the demand in my book. Also is not only Sly and Robbie as Bloodfire posse, Wayne Smith, and producers such as Phillip Smart from outa New York who was one of the first to use pro tools.

true.. but remember most of the hard core sounds dont play the fast thing.. sturgrav.. jammys jarro... its really the juggling sounds. swatch dem take it to another level..

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          [CENTER][CENTER][U]The Coalition to Preserve Reggae, a charitable organization, is an alliance of roots reggae stakeholders (musicians, promoters, organizations, journalists, media and others) seeking to preserve the genre and its traditional message of healing and unifying.
                          Preserve which genre? Dancehall is not Reggae. If you want to preserve Reggae release quality Reggae music. Dancehall is Dancehall and Reggae is Reggae. Low we and our ting deal wit yuh own ting.

You are aware that internationally dancehall and reggae is the same? When Shabba, Beenieman and Sean Paul win grammy, they won it for dancehall or reggae?

Well then the coalition should channel their efforts into educating the international audience then instead of trying to censor dancehall. When I want to hear about peace and love I listen to Luciano. When I want to bruk out I listen to Beenie Man. You cannot dictate to dancehall artistes what they can and can't say. Yellowman talking bout shoving him ten buddy inna di gyal ten p*ssy over 30 years ago is much raunchier than anything said today. Leave di music alone.