The diseased US media

...yet, the US media could have played the 'Jamaican family story' for all its tear-jerking effect. A 'human interest story'. It could all be about 'how the story is handled' that creates the interest -the demand - the selling.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      (I hope I don’t regret failing to following the seemingly wise decision to make my previous post above the final one on this topic.)

Don1, let me ask you a question: Which online Caribbean newspaper gave as much prominence to the USA air tragedy as both Jamaican morning dailies did today? Here is a simple link from which you can check some of the prominent Caribbean newspapers:

http://www.caribbeannews.com/

The absence of front-page coverage in the other major Caribbean online dailies fully supports your point below and at the same time impacts on your intention of isolating the US media in their limited coverage:

Agreed that it supports my point as to their perception of what is relevant. However in this case I am not analysing Caribbean coverage but US media coverage.

The Caribbean newspaper gatekeepers, no doubt, felt that any follow-up angle/story had very little to do with the majority of the citizens their society (the element of “proximity” which I mentioned). Even though Jamaicans live in these other Caribbean societies, they make up a small minority. Certainly, also, I did not expect that any of those Caribbean newspapers will give front-page coverage to the crash, and so most likely placed the initial story inside their newspapers on an “International News” section.

This is true but it misses my point.
      Point being that these "Jamaicans" are US residents and for all I know US citizens.
      Being a member of a so called minority group should not diminish their family tragedy.
      At a minimum the local NY area stations should cover the story comprehensively.
      In this case their "minority" status apparently does diminish their newsworthy quotient .. If one believes as I do that a white NJ family suffering such a loss would have received saturation coverage.

Of course, although you probably don’t realize it, the irony is that you are NOT disagreeing with my focus on news elements! Another irony is that Jamaican newspapers practice the very narrow self-interest that you associate with the USA media (see, for example, your numerous criticisms of The Jamaica Observer newspaper).

All media operations have biases... in this case I was opining on US media bias.

In my Post #1 above, for example, I wrote: “Remember that the news channels that you watch are domestic US channels…. The domestic channels, on the other hand, were not intended for people living outside of the US borders (but thanks to satellite technology, everyone gets them).”

Perhaps... but these victims RESIDED in the US not in Jamaica!!!! Your (foreign vs domestic) point holds no water here. The big story is local to the US... that's where this Jamaican-American family LIVED and PERISHED.

The USA domestic media (which you have been faithfully watching) regards as its first responsibility the act of providing news aimed at the majority of their American audience living inside the USA.

Yes.. and since the "majority" demands or is comfortable with biased or warped views... that's what is presented...

Isn’t this the same with virtually every media house, including those in Jamaican?
      As I said I was examining US media responses... not anyone else.
      All media have their biases... white supremacist views happen to be one afflicting US media... if you care to explore the topic there is copious research establishing this fact.

When you have soccer games on Fox a special forumite provides information. You can tell the difference as the commentators give accurate information, they even say thanks to the forumite.

Just recently I saw some misinformation in a newspaper. I emailed the editor and they changed and they were very thankful.

Having more Jamaicans in the media whether by ownership or been journalist means that the Jamaicans can point out glaring ignorance like how when they caught the Washington sniper, CNN continually running a song by a British group which was their favorite song, and pointed out that the group was Jamaican.

If a Jamaican could have seen a story that would get coverage and point it out and I don't think the main stream media would refuse if it help them to get their ratings.

Isn't it embarrasing that we as Jamaican own no media in the US? We own no radio station, and very few of us are in the media as mainstream journalists.

When you have soccer games on Fox a special forumite provides information. You can tell the difference as the commentators give accurate information, they even say thanks to the forumite.

Just recently I saw some misinformation in a newspaper. I emailed the editor and they changed and they were very thankful.

Having more Jamaicans in the media whether by ownership or been journalist means that the Jamaicans can point out glaring ignorance like how when they caught the Washington sniper, CNN continually running a song by a British group which was their favorite song, and pointed out that the group was Jamaican.

If a Jamaican could have seen a story that would get coverage and point it out and I don't think the main stream media would refuse if it help them to get their ratings.

Isn't it embarrasing that we as Jamaican own no media in the US? We own no radio station, and very few of us are in the media as mainstream journalists.
          So far, I have yet to see in any Jamaica news media, where in Jamaica those two sisters hails from, what have you to say?

I have seen it briefly reported in the Jamaican media but not in details.
            You know how Jamaican media behave more times if you are somebody from somewhere you get the coverage.

What Jamaican news media you talking? the ones in Ja?

You and Tilla are correct and as sad as the situation is, I know people who are related, that is how the media-everywhere- works. Chances are the main stream US readership that the main media houses serve are less interested in the Jamaican family than the soldier simply because they are so 'far from it emotionally'.

This also serves to understand NBC's very slanted Olympic coverage to a point.

The media like society is not perfect and I can recall lots of incidents where events that are very important to us in the west happen and the Kingston-centric media either completely ignore it or shove it to a minor place.

I work for both local and international media house and when ever something happens here, i have to make a case to the overseas editors as to why others would be interested.

For example when Trevor Berbick was killed, that was major news because of who he was but if it was some one with less international profile or even two or three persons then it has far less weight internationally.

When we get hurricanes, unless some one dies, it is not news to the international media, no matter how many were left homeless.

Reporters dont make decisions as to what goes on the pages or in the news..many assignments dont make it past the editors' desk- Ownership and people at the very top dictate the news...the old maxim of who owns the media calls the tunes is very correct.

American news media is too white, and lacks diverse voices in the decision making process. There are few black people on editorial boards of newspapers, and also black people are poorly represented in the management of broadcast television. Mi nuh know if the forumites never notice sey yuh could a count the black reporters pon one hand at the Obama news conference last week.

The struggle for equal rights & justice continues!

they don't decide but they can help with the facts and make certain glaring misconceptions obvious.

This is what we lament; case in point, during the Olympics...remember how they didn't show the 100m in prime time?

So we know the media is more about marketing than actual news, other than the obvious big stories. Individually, we find our own own sources (e.g. even this forum) but the mass media influences so many opinions it is worrisome at times. We need to at least our youth to be discerning in what the media they frequent.

In the case of the plane crash, the lack of reporting on the Jamaican family is not really bothersome for me..it was pointed out that there were 50 people killed, so potentially fifty stories to report; a decision is made. We at least hear about the Jamaican families from our other sources...til we have somebody on the decision making panel we sucking salt...and then we going to pi$$ someone else off if we don't report their story.

This is what we lament; case in point, during the Olympics...remember how they didn't show the 100m in prime time?

So we know the media is more about marketing than actual news, other than the obvious big stories. Individually, we find our own own sources (e.g. even this forum) but the mass media influences so many opinions it is worrisome at times. We need to at least our youth to be discerning in what the media they frequent.

In the case of the plane crash, the lack of reporting on the Jamaican family is not really bothersome for me..it was pointed out that there were 50 people killed, so potentially fifty stories to report; a decision is made. We at least hear about the Jamaican families from our other sources...til we have somebody on the decision making panel we sucking salt...and then we going to pi$$ someone else off if we don't report their story.
                        I just wanted to point out the particular biases of the US media which many may see as some kind of gold standard.

Yes there were many stories to report... my point is that the story of a US family (even one of Jamaican background!) being wiped out by this tragedy should reasonably qualify as being newsworthy... regardless of the family's race.
                        Others choose to be apologists for this farcical approach to reporting.

Problem is that too many accept what is offered to us as news without question or critical analysis.

You may have a case.. unfortunately you have chosen poor evidence.

Another problem is poor critical analysis and questioning

I agree ... you have identified your shortcoming.

Very commendable.

As I said... poor critical analysis..