My Love Affair With Standard English!

I also see forumites using suttle for subtle and definate for definite
    but mi anuh english major, suh mi juss push and go through. The english lanuage and mi annuh friend, so I would like to be corrected cause mi have pickney mi can help get through school.
    Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
    Mitty

well if the clientele is jamaican as you say fine, if the clientele is NOT jamaican they must love jamaica food, so that is fine too.

historian... let me put it this way... i've never seen 'curried mutton' in any jamaican restaurant on flatbush... a jamaican walking into a jamaican restaurant and asking for 'curried mutton' when there is no such thing on the menu and knowing that your intent is to order 'curry goat' is being pretentious...

if my same jamaican pal had 'gone into a middle-class Caucasian restaurant and loudly ordered, “…curry mutton”?' , i would not have a problem if that was on the menu or if that is what the restaurateur had been accustomed people ordering...

comes back to knowing your audience or operating environment...

'restaurant owners who proudly display on their restaurant menus “curry goat” or “stew beef”?'... i have no problem with that, not one bit... for that setting, present tense or past tense means little considering that whomever is ordering would understand what they were getting...

not to get lost on my initial subject of my pal ordering 'curried mutton'... the emphasis or pretentiousnes wasn't so much about the tense of curry but the 'mutton'... ordering 'curried mutton' when your intent is to get curry goat is being pretentious...

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          People form opinions based on how one communicates, so unless your clientele is wholly Jamaican, I would definitely go with the Standard English usage.
          that might be true in many instances but when it comes to names of places and things, the local naming rules and is accepted...

in jamaica, 'curry goat' is the standard and that should rule although many writers of cook books feel the need to modify the names of dishes to suit an international audience at the expense of the locals, as if it would really matter... my opinion, it smacks of elitism (gamma)...

iz jerk chicken, straight... a suh jamaicans name it an a suh it fi stay...

mitty yuh nuh ez... de board a de wrong place fi come... lol... causen seh nuff times peeple deliberately spell words fonetically inna de jamaican way...

lawd, if gamma could ongle ave im way an get dis patwa ting yah standadized... den again it wudda bring more problems wid spelling...

how bout dis fi definite... defin8... deffin8... dehfin8... what a ting...

i'll tell u straight up - i ain't eating no jerkED chicken!

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                  historian... let me put it this way... i've never seen 'curried mutton' in any jamaican restaurant on flatbush... a jamaican walking into a jamaican restaurant and asking for 'curried mutton' when there is no such thing on the menu and knowing that your intent is to order 'curry goat' is being pretentious...

if my same jamaican pal had 'gone into a middle-class Caucasian restaurant and loudly ordered, “…curry mutton”?' , i would not have a problem if that was on the menu or if that is what the restaurateur had been accustomed people ordering...

comes back to knowing your audience or operating environment...

'restaurant owners who proudly display on their restaurant menus “curry goat” or “stew beef”?'... i have no problem with that, not one bit... for that setting, present tense or past tense means little considering that whomever is ordering would understand what they were getting...

not to get lost on my initial subject of my pal ordering 'curried mutton'... the emphasis or pretentiousnes wasn't so much about the tense of curry but the 'mutton'... ordering 'curried mutton' when your intent is to get curry goat is being pretentious...
                  mutton is sheep flesh... this muddies the water further.

Originally posted by Historian;152002) [FONT=Verdana
                    I have always seen written Standard English as been far more important than the spoken form [/FONT]
                    been or being??

LOL

don1... you just could not let it pass... lol... you are a bad boy... now go the front of the class... stand on one leg and hold your ears with the opposite hand...

true... depending of the country goat meat is also called mutton... in fact, there isn't any standard name for the meat of goat... most places it is simply called 'goat meat'...

mi wussara...

The did actually serve curry mutton at work on some occasions, as in curry sheep, not goat!

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                                don1... you just could not let it pass... lol... you are a bad boy... now go the front of the class... stand on one leg and hold your ears with the opposite hand...