My Love Affair With Standard English!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Love Affair With Standard English!

Ever since my days as a high school student, I have been involved in a passionate love affair with the English language. Here are a few goodies that I compiled.

Accept/Except
    “Accept” means to receive. “Except” means to exclude.

Affect/Effect
    To “affect” is to bring about. “Effect” is the result of (consequence).

After/Following
    “After” means next in time, while “following” means next in order.

Aid/Aide
    The “aide” (assistant gives “aid” (help) to his/her boss. Aid can also be a verb but aide can only be a noun.

A Lot
    The word “alot” does not exist! The word is either “a lot” or “allot.”

Amateur/Novice
    “Amateur” is a non-professional; “novice” is a beginner.

Avenge/Revenge
    “Avenge” is for another, “revenge” for self.

Averse/Adverse
    To be “averse” to something is to be opposed to it; “adverse” is an adjective meaning unfavorable.

Canvas/Canvass
    “Canvas” is a cloth; to “canvass” means to solicit.

Cite/Site/Sight
    “Cite” means to refer to or quote. “Site” is a location. “Sight” is a view or pertains to vision.

Compliment/Complement
    “Compliment” is praise; “complement” adds to something to make it complete.

Cord/Chord
    “Cord” is a string or small rope, or an anatomical structure such as a spinal or vocal cord. Cord can also be a ribbed fabric (such as corduroy) or a unit of wood. “Chord” refers to musical tones.

Council/Counsel
    “Council” is an assembly, usually an elective body. “Counsel” is to advise, offering assistance, like a lawyer.

Funeral Service
    A funeral is a service so delete service; it’s redundant.

Gorilla/Guerrilla
    “Gorilla” is an ape, while “guerilla” is a soldier or raider.

Its/It’s
    Its is a possessive pronoun. It’s is a contraction for “it is.”