Call for soca ban

i blame soca for being DISPLEASING to the ear!!!!
    Obviously yuh never hear a daggering tune! Check the one Lionpaw posted the other day.

The difference is we choose to view this, the smut on the airwaves is different.
      Ahhahahahahahahahaahah Chi Chi is a termite, insect, weevil in Jamaican parlance so what is smutty about that?

P.S. I don't think you're getting my point. Can you tell Picasso what the meaning of his painting?

Ahhahahahahahahahaahah Chi Chi is a termite, insect, weevil in Jamaican parlance so what is smutty about that?

P.S. I don't think you're getting my point. Can you tell Picasso what the meaning of his painting?
        Words can have various meanings ... its the context. Beat yuh head BT .... the BC on the right track.

btw where is KARL in all this talk ? I guess he is a calypso and ska man

yuh hear mi seh anything about daggering chunes?

The problem is our DJs tek it too far and because the Bricktops and Lionpaws nuh want dancehall clean up dem start complaining bout other genres. Well ... everything guh den.
              You realize that you are skirting around my point about the ban being ridiculous? I agree that the DJ's need to clean up their act, but this cross the board ban and singling out a particular word in a song ban doesn't make any sense. Here is a song for you. It's a remix done by Alicia Keyes:

"Dagger Me (Part 1) / Dagger Me (Part 2)"

Yea 1993 Check this freaky style I was born with

I feel so freaky tonight
              And I need someone to make me feel alright
              So bring your body here baby
              Bwoy have no fear
              Im gonna fulfill your fantasies
              Just as long as you

Music...
              Dagger me
              Come on come on come on come on

Dagger me, baby baby Dagger me (Dagger me baby) Dagger me Dagger me baby Dagger me.

Come over here and let me take off your clothes
              Cause things I wanna do to you, nobody has to know(know baby).
              Just lay your body right here,
              Bwoy have no fear cause ecstacy is near (ooh baby)
              Any unexpected positions, bring it on.
              Any secret fantasies you see I'll fulfill as long as you dagger me.

[Chorus]
              Dagger me, baby baby dagger me (dagger me baby) dagger me dagger me baby dagger me.

Now let me feel your body next to mine.
              Cause bwoy I wanna feel you sweat, bwoy
              I'm so very wet.
              Now put you inside of me do what you wanna do.
              Cause you got a need for me and I got a need for you,(baby any)
              Any unexpected positions (bring it on)
              Any secret fantasies, you see I'll fulfill, as long as you dagger me.

[Chorus]

[Bridge:]
              Umm..let me kiss you in the right place,
              So I can see dagger me baby
              Written on your face,
              Slow baby slow baby steady as we go.
              Up and down to a sixty-nine tempo.
              Yeah turn your body parts around
              And let me hear you make a
              Ooh-ah sound.
              Cause you're my lover man.
              So I'll call my other man and say I
              Found another man.

[Chorus 3x]
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Words can have various meanings ... its the context. Beat yuh head BT
                Yuh mean like "never eat a white meat yet"? What context was that used in? Uh oh
                Last edited by Bricktop; February 11, 2009, 12:10 PM.

Jangle, you can drink a case a Johnny Walker Black and drive from Florida to NY ... no problem. Bricktop whey knock out from the scent of rubbing alcohol guh drink a half a glass a rum punch, duh drive and boom. The sensible thing to do is make drink and drive illegal.

Alot of suggestive tunes have hit the airwaves overtime, but now things have gone too far. Maybe with the exception of Assasin, yuh can hardly hear a dancehall tune that requires some bleeping ... and mi naah talk one time ... maybe every other line. Good haffi suffer fi di bad.

Yuh mean like "never eat a white mean yet"? What context was that used in? Uh oh
                    Listen to the story. Thats the problem, you people automatically assume the wrong thing.

This is well overdue. No violent lyrics, no sexually explicit tunes should be on radio.
                      Last edited by Hortical; February 11, 2009, 12:41 PM.

Ok, since you are struggling to argue your point I am going to let you off the hook. What the BC should have done, is to ban the songs that they think are too risque to be given airplay without all the media fanfare. This bleeping ban cannot hold up in court. They are discriminating and any affected body can sue their asses and win, thereby setting a legal precedence to have the ban repealed. Hence, the floodgates would now be open and the BC would lose its teeth. Mr. Gamma, here's where you jump in.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jangle the BC does have the authority to regulate the airwaves. I support the banning of beeping on the radio and it gets too tacky & annoying to hear songs with all those beeps. In the USA the usual dirty words can not be aired on radio between 6am to 10pm, and American stations do not play beeped music, the obvious exceptions are those who feature Caribbean music.

Ok, since you are struggling to argue your point I am going to let you off the hook. What the BC should have done, is to ban the songs that they think are too risque to be given airplay without all the media fanfare. This bleeping ban cannot hold up in court. They are discriminating and any affected body can sue their asses and win, thereby setting a legal precedence to have the ban repealed. Hence, the floodgates would now be open and the BC would lose its teeth. Mr. Gamma, here's where you jump in.
                            Struggling? Review Monday's posts. People were upset claiming it was an attack on dancehall. Now to stop the constant bitching, dem say its across the board. Now who waan sue ... sue. Lets see if dem have an argument nuh?

There are songs that use bleep but it doesn't make a difference as its is obvious what is being said. I have WAY too much respect for Mdmex suh mi won't post the lyrics or video. Here is your assignment, find any Vybz Kartel expect Money fi Spend or maybe 2 others ..then tell me if a bleep would have made any difference.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                              Jangle the BC does have the authority to regulate the airwaves. I support the banning of beeping on the radio and it gets too tacky & annoying to hear songs with all those beeps. In the USA the usual dirty words can not be aired on radio between 6am to 10pm, and American stations do not play beeped music, the obvious exceptions are those who feature Caribbean music.

Hortical, I don't know where in the USA you are, but here in NY the radio stations play bleeped out songs 24/7. You are categorically and absolutely wrong on that point.

Jangle, I agree hip hop stations may play a lot of bleeped songs, but most stations do not play bleeped songs in Connecticut. A lot of hip-hop artists create tunes for radio that do not have bleeped songs and are radio friendly.