Ban carnival too, says Ras Kassa

Plus bricktop and paw the guys and gyals who dancing in the parties passa passa don't even follow soca i am 100 % sure

Wait, at no point did I say soca music/dancing is foolishness, so at this point, you're the one in a pickle. I rather see Allison Hinds turn round and say "Roll it Gal!" while showing how fi roll it, than that foolishness unuh call art form!"
      Finally you admit your bias. Game. Set. Match.

Lazie, right now I feel like such a hypocrite because while I really hate this "daggering" foolishness, the more I think about it, it's the more I am leaning against the ban. I do admit that something needs to be done to restrict its (daggering and Rompin Shop) easy access from our children but the "principles" of the ban is wrong. Here are some lyrics for you:

"Lollipop"
        (feat. Static Major)

Ow... Uh huh Young Mula Baby
        I say he so sweet make her wanna lick the wrapper
        So I let her lick the wrapper

She lick me like a lollipop [x4]

[Chorus 1 (x2):]
        Shawty wanna thug
        Bottles in the club
        Shawty wanna hump
        You know I like to touch your lovely lady lumps

[Verse 1: Lil Wayne]
        OK, little mama had a swag like mine
        She even wear her hair down her back like mine
        I make her feel right when it's wrong like lying
        Man, she ain't never had a love like mine
        And man I ain't never seen an ass like hers
        And that puss e in my mouth had me loss for words
        Told her back it up like erp erp
        And I made that ass jump like jerk, jerk
        And that's when she lick me like a lollipop (oh yeah I like that)
        she lick me like a lollipop (I like that)
        she lick me like a lollipop

[Chorus 1]

[Chorus 2:]
        Shawty wanna thug (oh yeah I like that)
        Bottles in the club (oh yeah I like that)
        Shawty wanna hump

[Static Major:]
        OK after you back it up and stop
        Drop it shawty drop it like it's hot
        Oh, drop it like it's hot
        Do it shawty don't stop

[Verse 2: Lil Wayne]
        Shawty said the ******************** that she with ain't ****************
        Shawty said the ******************** that she with ain't this
        Shawty said the ******************** that she with can't hit
        But shawty I'm a hit it hit it like I can't miss
        And he can't do this
        And he doesn't do that

Shawty need a a refund, need a bring that ******************** back
        Just like a refund I make her bring that ass back
        And she bring that ass back
        Because I like that

[Chorus 2]

she lick me like a lollipop [x3]
        Like a lollipop

[x4]
        Call me so I can make it juicy for you
        Call me so I can get it juicy for you

[Chorus 1]

I get her on top she drop it like it hot
        And when I'm at the bottom she Hillary Rodham
        The middle of the bed
        Giving getting head, giving getting head, giving getting head

I said mhm... I like that
        Said u. I like that
        Mhmm

Call me so I can come and do it for your
        Call me so I can come and prove it for your

Shawty wanna lick me like a lollipop
        She said he's so sweet
        Makes her Wanna lick the wrapper

Which one is worse, this, any daggering song or Rompin Shop? The Broadcast Commision would be really backed up with work trying to apply the principles of their ban with lyrics like these.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lazie, right now I feel like such a hypocrite because while I really hate this "daggering" foolishness, the more I think about it, it's the more I am leaning against the ban. I do admit that something needs to be done to restrict its (daggering and Rompin Shop) easy access from our children but the "principles" of the ban is wrong. Here are some lyrics for you:

"Lollipop"
          (feat. Static Major)

Ow... Uh huh Young Mula Baby
          I say he so sweet make her wanna lick the wrapper

She lick me like a lollipop [x4]

[Chorus 1 (x2):]
          Shawty wanna thug
          Bottles in the club
          Shawty wanna hump

[Verse 1: Lil Wayne]
          OK, little mama had a swag like mine
          She even wear her hair down her back like mine
          I make her feel right when it's wrong like lying
          Man, she ain't never had a love like mine
          And man I ain't never seen an ass like hers
          And that puss e in my mouth had me loss for words
          Told her back it up like erp erp
          And I made that ass jump like jerk, jerk
          And that's when she lick me like a lollipop (oh yeah I like that)

[Chorus 1]

[Chorus 2:]
          Shawty wanna thug (oh yeah I like that)
          Bottles in the club (oh yeah I like that)
          Shawty wanna hump

[Static Major:]
          OK after you back it up and stop
          Drop it shawty drop it like it's hot
          Oh, drop it like it's hot
          Do it shawty don't stop

[Verse 2: Lil Wayne]
          Shawty said the ******************** that she with ain't ****************
          Shawty said the ******************** that she with ain't this
          Shawty said the ******************** that she with can't hit
          But shawty I'm a hit it hit it like I can't miss
          And he can't do this
          And he doesn't do that

Shawty need a a refund, need a bring that ******************** back
          Just like a refund I make her bring that ass back
          And she bring that ass back
          Because I like that

[Chorus 2]

she lick me like a lollipop [x3]
          Like a lollipop

[x4]

[Chorus 1]

I get her on top she drop it like it hot
          And when I'm at the bottom she Hillary Rodham
          The middle of the bed
          Giving getting head, giving getting head, giving getting head

Said u. I like that
          Mhmm

Call me so I can come and do it for your
          Call me so I can come and prove it for your

Shawty wanna lick me like a lollipop
          She said he's so sweet
          Makes her Wanna lick the wrapper

Which one is worse, this, any daggering song or Rompin Shop? The Broadcast Commision would be really backed up with work trying to apply the principles of their ban with lyrics like these.
          I do not listen to that song, I don't even have it in my collection. Wait ... I've said nothing about Rampin Shop debate.

That was your point? Or is it an attempt to spin? The Commission's statement is in the original article that started the thread or yuh going to admit you didn't read it?

Women dancing in mud / paint is nothing compared to what I saw on the ladder! What kind a equality yuh looking for with soca? Dancehall is bigger than soca, suh why yuh complaining? We must can deal with the daggerin foolishness without pointing fingers elsewhere.
            You're still not understanding. What you saw on the ladder was not, and cannot be shown PON TV!!!! Hardcore whining, in dancehall, is already BANNED from local television. Thats the debate here. We dont care where u go see woman pon ladder. I'm sure u didn't see it on TV. Broadcasting Commission cater fi what u see PON TV, TELEVISION, DI VISUAL MEDIA. Mi nuh know wha else fi say. The hypocracy comes in because the media is allowed to show people gyrating on each other as long as it's CARNIVAL OR JOUVERT OR SOCA or whatever. That's what the grouse is about. They are banning daggering music videos overall, even though they are already watered down. Romping Shop is not daggering music by the way, and even so, it didn't depict any man a dagger gyal pon it. The following are "daggering videos", which are about to be banned...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uapGoyymhik

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0nu4VT3l5E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewTGVSIpziQ

Watch those videos and argue with sense now. I'm sure you dont see any girls pon ladder a get dagger in them. These are no worse than soca, R&B and rap videos and can't even compare to when the TV stations cover carnival and j'ouvert every year.

BTW: as a man say, the term "daggering" is a metaphor. If you look in the dictionary for the word "dagger" I'm sure u wont see anything relating to sexual intercourse. Dont tap dance round da post ya.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
              BTW: as a man say, the term "daggering" is a metaphor. If you look in the dictionary for the word "dagger" I'm sure u wont see anything relating to sexual intercourse. Dont tap dance round da post ya.
              Yuh serious? It is a new term, slang even, so it would not be in any dictionary right now.

Mo, a dagger is an old term. It been around fi ages. It's a sharp, knife-like weapon from the medieval times. Oh, and mi neva google dat neither.

dem should change ot to "dirking"?

Old words take on new meanings all the time, boss. Once it was quite okay to have a gay day with your hetero friends. These days, might not be the best way to describe your soiree last night!

well dem should ban soca artistes from using the term "wuk" then.

Two different ting! Yu no see Soca Fete with woman a skin out and plastic see-thru with no underwear!!! Get real mi yute. The issue is not about Soca but about setting OUR standards of behaviour and acceptance without the defensive and childish " dem too".
                        Personally, I see nothimg wrong with wining - in either genres - in an adult setting...the socio-anthropological context of our shared history - fertility dances, mating rituals is more than the eye sees and cannnot be boxed into self-righteous psuedo-religious myopia.
                        Let the people wine, I say!!!!
                        To share a popular C'val song "Ah wining on de wrong gyal..and a like it...."

It takes a certain sophistication for the 'double entendre'.
                          Anybody can say" beg yu a f u Ck" but to put it nicely take some creativity. It's just intellectual sloth! Period.

This is getting comical now! All of a sudden people a complain bout Kitty Cat and Plumber? Its a pity our artistes nuh that clever and the fans dem just as daff!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                              Two different ting! Yu no see Soca Fete with woman a skin out and plastic see-thru with no underwear!!! Get real mi yute. The issue is not about Soca but about setting OUR standards of behaviour and acceptance without the defensive and childish " dem too".
                              Personally, I see nothimg wrong with wining - in either genres - in an adult setting...the socio-anthropological context of our shared history - fertility dances, mating rituals is more than the eye sees and cannnot be boxed into self-righteous psuedo-religious myopia.
                              Let the people wine, I say!!!!
                              To share a popular C'val song "Ah wining on de wrong gyal..and a like it...."
                              Ah bway, u come with the same reasoning like "Lazy". Daggering is not shown on tv. Mi tired fi say it. The daggering behaviour is seen at events that are for adults only. Them banning it from TV will not prevent kids from seeing it. Good parents who prevent their kids from attending these sessions will prevent that. Soca fetes are however shown on TV carnival time, during the day, when kids are glued to the tele.

Way more subtle and classy than "tek buddy gyal"!