Ban carnival too, says Ras Kassa
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostNo matter how much good arguments yuh bring it falls on deaf ears. Dancehall has a stigma attached. It is a leggo beast ting and deserves scorn
"A statement from the commission, published in The Sunday Gleaner, said radio, television and cable companies should not air songs or videos containing daggerin' lyrics or scenes."
They said nothing about dancehall stop twist what the people said."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Lazie View PostDancehall has a stigma? The problem isn't with dancehall its with the daggering crap. How many times yuh need fi see the same quote?
"A statement from the commission, published in The Sunday Gleaner, said radio, television and cable companies should not air songs or videos containing daggerin' lyrics or scenes."
They said nothing about dancehall stop twist what the people said.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWhat other relevant form of musical expression takes place in Jamaica other than Soca and Dancehall? Who is complaining about Soca? Where have I said anything negative against Soca? I simply pointed out the hypocrisy. Lionpaw posted a video of Jouvert with women writhing and gyrating in mud and paint but yet you seh yuh neva see dat when you go Soca party
"women writhing and gyrating in mud and paint" is the same thing as the daggerin foolishness? Check the videos posted by Triniman."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
How am I tap dancing? My point is that Dnacehall has a stigma. Your response is to post up the article with the Broadcast Commission's statement. So what of Soca? No ban on "daggering" in Soca? This brings the argument full circle to my point that Dancehall has a stigma and is therefore not treated equally as Soca. No tap dancing round her
Lazie the commission is going down a very dangerous path by banning "daggering" videos and songs. "Daggering" can be substituted by "wine", "dollar wine" and other words which have been accepted over the years. I remember growing up I could not sing "If you think I am sexy" by Rod Stewart around and adults without getting cuffed. I am arguing simply on the principles of the ban, even though I hate "daggering". Now they have to look about banning 90-odd percent of today's hip-hop and R & B songs. King of Slackness - Little Wayne. RayJ had a big hit last year about "sliding down the pole with no panties on". That song really disgusted me as it left nothing to the imagination - I have a teenaged daughter. There is absolutely nothing that I, as a parent, can do to stop my daughter from listening to this song. Now RayJ has his own "pimpin" show on VH1.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Lazie View PostYou're the one making an issue of it BT. I love dancehall music too, but if you're being honest you'd have to admit that this daggerin foolishness is a new low. Why not address that than point out what happen at a soca event? Thats the problem I've always had everything dancehall is questioned the quickest response is to point at soca.
"women writhing and gyrating in mud and paint" is the same thing as the daggerin foolishness? Check the videos posted by Triniman.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostHow am I tap dancing? My point is that Dnacehall has a stigma. Your response is to post up the article with the Broadcast Commission's statement. So what of Soca? No ban on "daggering" in Soca? This brings the argument full circle to my point that Dancehall has a stigma and is therefore not treated equally as Soca. No tap dancing round her
Women dancing in mud / paint is nothing compared to what I saw on the ladder! What kind a equality yuh looking for with soca? Dancehall is bigger than soca, suh why yuh complaining? We must can deal with the daggerin foolishness without pointing fingers elsewhere."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Jangle View PostLazie the commission is going down a very dangerous path by banning "daggering" videos and songs. "Daggering" can be substituted by "wine", "dollar wine" and other words which have been accepted over the years. I remember growing up I could not sing "If you think I am sexy" by Rod Stewart around and adults without getting cuffed. I am arguing simply on the principles of the ban, even though I hate "daggering". Now they have to look about banning 90-odd percent of today's hip-hop and R & B songs. King of Slackness - Little Wayne. RayJ had a big hit last year about "sliding down the pole with no panties on". That song really disgusted me as it left nothing to the imagination - I have a teenaged daughter. There is absolutely nothing that I, as a parent, can do to stop my daughter from listening to this song. Now RayJ has his own "pimpin" show on VH1."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostNew low? Every new style dat come out dem seh it's a new low. It's just the evolution of the art form and the widening generation gap. This is nuttin new. Elvis Presley wiggling his hips was once a new low in Rock N Roll music people just need something to lick out gainst. Nuttin wrong wit daggering. I don't like all daggering songs i just don't listen the ones I don't like.. Simple."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
what came first the chicken or the egg? When you allow kiddie daggering dances what do you expect. The issue is not with romping shop.. but the fact that it was allowed to be palyed on the air... You cant ban vivid ( a suh it go) but you can make rate it appropriately and not put it on basic cable... We need leadership and not just reaction when the horse or ass leaves the barn..or karel romping shoppe..
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostThat's the point. How can you outlaw one "foolishness" while letting another "foolishness" flourish?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
wel thsi soca song has daggering in it so they would have to ban it i guess
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ciMhJ1mVsE