Ban carnival too, says Ras Kassa

Good one .... but I for one have always said the DJs need to clean up their lyrics. This daggering thing simply went too far.

I am not referring to the lyrics. We are beyond that. We have now moved on to how people are dancing. Soca revelers can dagger in public. Dancehall patrons cannot. Why is this you suppose?

Were you a snitch as a child? Everytime yuh get busted yuh finger yuh sibblings and friends? Anyway, here is what the commission said,

"A statement from the commission, published in The Sunday Gleaner, said radio, television and cable companies should not air songs or videos containing daggerin' lyrics or scenes."

I was of the impression daggerin' was a lower level in the dancehall genre? Suh how yuh a refer to soca as daggerin' now? Clean up dancehall then complain. I can put on a soca song and walk away wondering if anything lewd will come from the speakers, with dancehall music I have to keep my finger on the line/phone switch.

Fools, Kassa isn't talking about the lyrics. Lazie, u cant debate wid sense one day? Jus, fi once, jus come outta u character and HAVE SENSE!! It's about the dancing. Soca dancing is just as bad, if not worse than daggering, At least with daggering people fully clothed. In soca, everybody half-naked inna di miggle a di street and yes, kids a whine pon dem one-anedda to. Should that not be banned? They wont ban carnival because the uptown ************s support it. The same people who criticise dancehall, put on skimpy outfits, and walk up and dung inna di middle of the street, in broad daylight, whining pon dem one a nedda, with kids viewing.

I produce music videos. There are a bunch of guidelines I have to follow in order to get my vids "broadcast friendly". They tell me that you can't depict a man and woman whining on each other and yet, that's all that is present in a Soca video. Biggest double standard dat.

In Jamaica it has always been uptown vs. downtown. Obviously, uptown has more power so they do all in their power to stop the "ghetto behaviour" from infiltrating the airwaves. For instance, every god given day I hear "I kissed a girl and I liked it", bellowed by a woman, being played and pulled up on numerous occassions. Shouldn't the Broadcasting commission ban that too? It's uptown accepted so I guess they have no problem with it.

What I like though is the fact that no matter what they try, dancehall will always remain powerful and popular as long as the "ghetto miscreants" continue to produce it. The ghetto don't really give a damn about uptown and will continue to do their thing. Matter of fact, I'm sure daggering will become more widespread now that it has been banned. Uptown exploit dancehall but the ghetto control dancehall. Example, red stripe is on the downfall due to their boycot of dancehall. All the artistes and promoters have banned red stripe, leading to their slow but sure demise. If u go a dancehall now and say red stripe, ppl bun a fire pon u. Matter of fact, u can hardly find red stripe at the dances now. Ghetto run it whey!

mi nevva see them do all them crazy act so in a soca party or on the street like wha them doin the passa passa dj swearing encouraging it etc come on now paw cyar compare the two

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTbDyskhx6M

look at them on the ladder and hear the dj now if i had a daughter mi would like to see her behave them women have kids at home btw ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9uFS...eature=related

now in the wheelbarrow
              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hexZU...eature=related

now lazie yuh favorite dance dey lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys0ZA...eature=related

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                  look at them on the ladder and hear the dj now if i had a daughter mi would like to see her behave them women have kids at home btw ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9uFS...eature=related

now in the wheelbarrow
                  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hexZU...eature=related
                  All the soca party and carnival I've attended mi never see such crap. Mi nuh know what tek Bricktop! But a the norm, once dancehall is criticized, people bitch and complain bout soca.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                    mi nevva see them do all them crazy act so in a soca party or on the street like wha them doin the passa passa dj swearing encouraging it etc come on now paw cyar compare the two

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTbDyskhx6M

dat dont come on tv nyamdirt. nice try.

but i see trinidad tryin to emulate...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92221CKkgW8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96jvl-YqiFw

yes that passa passa thing is almost no more in trinidad ... i cannot remember when last i hear they promote one of that ..

I am very conflicted on this issue because Bricky does have a valid point. On reflection, during my youthful days, "wata pumpy" and "cool and deadly" were like "sex with clothes on". I have done my fair share of "grindin" especially to soul music. Actually, I would like to believe that it was because of my special skill of "grindin" why I was so fortunate to snare my wife.... and no soca fete nevah miss us. However Bricky, the craziness (jumping off rooftops and other places) and crassness of "daggering" cannot be passed off as dancing. At least back in my days, we used to "bubble" to the beat of the music. What I see on YouTube as "daggering" is dangerous and young people caught up in a mindless frenzy (like sharks feeding). It needs to stop. End of story. It needs to be reigned in. So too soca.

(Bricky, I may still have some pictures taken at a soca party of revellers having outright sex on the dancefloor that may support your argument, that I can send you.....if you are nice and say please).
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am very conflicted on this issue because Bricky does have a valid point. On reflection, during my youthful days, "wata pumpy" and "cool and deadly" were like "sex with clothes on". I have done my fair share of "grindin" especially to soul music. Actually, I would like to believe that it was because of my special skill of "grindin" why I was so fortunate to snare my wife.... and no soca fete nevah miss us. However Bricky, the craziness (jumping off rooftops and other places) and crassness of "daggering" cannot be passed off as dancing. At least back in my days, we used to "bubble" to the beat of the music. What I see on YouTube as "daggering" is dangerous and young people caught up in a mindless frenzy (like sharks feeding). It needs to stop. End of story. It needs to be reigned in. So too soca.

(Bricky, I may still have some pictures taken at a soca party of revellers having outright sex on the dancefloor that may support your argument, that I can send you.....if you are nice and say please).
                          Bricktop has no point. Check out the videos posted by Triniman. The BC duh the right thing, lets see if they follow through. The next move is the sound systems thats blasting the filth as far as possible.

Unnuh still nah understand the issue here. The broadcasting commission controls what is shown on Television. None of those videos are shown ON TELEVISION.

This is an example of a daggering music video....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMtiJbgPrgI

So, should that be banned? let's allow this to play then...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BD20Rcfsd-c

^^^yes, beach jouvert is shown on tv every year. we, as tv producers are not allowed to show any form of gyrating in the dancehall so you wont get daggering parties on tv.

Very good arguing Mr. Paw. This is no different from "daggering'. Plus here are the lyrics to (I assume) Allison Hinds song:

Bwoy bring de wine
                              Don't waste my time
                              I dare you, I dare you
                              Come test my wine
                              I dare you, I dare you
                              From front, from behind
                              I dare you, I dare you.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                                Unnuh still nah understand the issue here. The broadcasting commission controls what is shown on Television. None of those videos are shown ON TELEVISION.

This is an example of a daggering music video....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMtiJbgPrgI

So, should that be banned? let's allow this to play then...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BD20Rcfsd-c

^^^yes, beach jouvert is shown on tv every year. we, as tv producers are not allowed to show any form of gyrating in the dancehall so you wont get daggering parties on tv.
                                No matter how much good arguments yuh bring it falls on deaf ears. Dancehall has a stigma attached. It is a leggo beast ting and deserves scorn