Ban carnival too, says Ras Kassa

That's the question that many people don't want to answer. I have never heard an outright slack soca song (not that I listen to many). They probably exist, but we need to stop acting like spoilt children about this issue.
    Wasn't the issue before about the lewd dances in the street? How quickly unnuh figget when it suit unnuh. Who dance more lewd dan carnival people and dem broadcast dat over free tv.

the dance is far from being metaphoric. and some a di chune dem, if not all, just brawlin'!

any word go suh?

Yuhseeit. Man all a tell artist what dem mean when dem a seh chi chi man. How can you tell an artist what him mean fi seh?

listen to slack calypso to make people happy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48qkA...eature=related

the dance is far from being metaphoric. and some a di chune dem, if not all, just brawlin'!

any word go suh?
            Now we getting somewhere. And what is metaphoric about wining up on half naked women in the street in spandex shorts?

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
              lazie... many people cannot answer that question because soca artists for as long as i can remember have employed the creative use of metaphors in their songs...

most people will never have a problem with that... people have been singing about sex from time immemorial across all genres without the outcry from the public as we have seen lately, because it was mostly done with creative metaphors...

however, the lack of creativity of many of the dancehall artists has caused a production lewd and graphic content that is offensive...

that is a problem and a cause for concern...
              Sound like we on the same page then.

You are confusing the issue. They are banning dancehall events from cable television because of suggestive dancing yet carnival is allowed to be shown on free tv. Who wine up more dan carnival people?
                Did they ban dancehall or the daggering tunes? Nuh tell me that the daggering garbage is all that dancehall have to offer?

Daggerin' backlash
                The commission, which monitors standards for electronic media, announced Friday that it had examined the genre of music classified as daggerin' songs', which it considers "explicitly sexual and violent".
                These songs, it noted, promoted hardcore sex and went against the provisions of the commission's Television and Sound Broadcasting Regulations.

A statement from the commission, published in The Sunday Gleaner, said radio, television and cable companies should not air songs or videos containing daggerin' lyrics or scenes.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                  listen to slack calypso to make people happy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48qkA...eature=related
                  Now, if the dancehall artistes could do stuff like this there wouldn't be a problem. I heard a track with Lady G and Lovindeer "Eat" but for some reason it nuh get played as much as the daggering garbage.

D
                    A statement from the commission, published in The Sunday Gleaner, said radio, television and cable companies should not air songs or videos containing daggerin' lyrics or scenes.
                    So "daggering" scenes in the dancehall are a no no for cable yet soca "daggering" scenes are acceptable on free television? What dancehall has or does not have to offer is of no relevance here

So "daggering" scenes in the dancehall are a no no for cable yet soca daggering scenes are acceptable on free television? What dancehall has or does not have to offer is of no relevance here
                      Come on BT!!! As Jangle (I think) said, daggering is sex wid clothes on. Stop point finger at soca and simply deal with dancehall.

When las yuh go carnival? What exactly is the difference between the two when it comes to dancing? First unnuh seh yuh long fi di days when man dance wit woman now when man start dance back wit woman it's "sex wit clothes on". Confusion mixed with hypocrisy

Well, if you want to be confused thats all on you! I support the move.

The argument isn't about if dancehall is wrong or right. Stop dodging the issue. Why can soca revellers dagger in the streets and television with impunity while dancehall patrons are chastised? Please focus on the issue at hand and answer only the issue at hand. Thanks

There is no issue as far as I'm concerned.