Ban carnival too, says Ras Kassa

• Ban carnival too, says Ras Kassa

ONE OF Jamaica's leading music video directors, Gerald 'Ras Kassa' Hynes, believes the Broadcasting Commission's clampdown on explicit content should target the airing of other risqué productions such as carnival parades, not only dancehall.
    Kassa, who has worked on music videos for Damian 'Junior Gong' Marley and Italian singer Alberosie, says the Broadcasting Commission is likely to get support from the dancehall community once it "goes straight across the board" with its directives.

"They should insist carnival is not shown live on TV because it's not only Grandma putting up her leg, but it's the children in Kiddies Carnival too," he pointed out.
    The local version of carnival is a largely middle-class affair that takes place in April when Jamaicans observe Easter, a Christian holiday.

Daggerin' backlash
    The commission, which monitors standards for electronic media, announced Friday that it had examined the genre of music classified as daggerin' songs', which it considers "explicitly sexual and violent".
    These songs, it noted, promoted hardcore sex and went against the provisions of the commission's Television and Sound Broadcasting Regulations.

A statement from the commission, published in The Sunday Gleaner, said radio, television and cable companies should not air songs or videos containing daggerin' lyrics or scenes.

Kassa says he believes tougher rules will force stakeholders in the music industry to be more creative.
    "I feel like we (music video and record producers) are going too far with some of the stuff we are doing, so I have no problem with it (the ban)," Kassa told The Gleaner.

The Broadcasting Commission's stance came in the midst of heated debate over whether Rampin' Shop, a song reeking of sexual material, by deejays Vybz Kartel and Spice should be played on radio and TV.
    In her February 1 column in The Sunday Gleaner, Esther Tyson said the song impacts negatively on youth and called for a shutdown of corporate support for dancehall artistes and events until the genre cleans up its act.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead2.html

Typical childish response! Pretty soon we gonna hear people a fight gainst dancehall cause a ghetto music.

How can you ban Dancehall events on cable TV but yet allow Soca events on free Television?

Did they ban all Dancehall events? Anyway, why not deal with dancehall instead of pointing finger at soca? How many soca songs yuh affi edit while playing?

the ras also said this...

Kassa says he believes tougher rules will force stakeholders in the music industry to be more creative.

"I feel like we (music video and record producers) are going too far with some of the stuff we are doing, so I have no problem with it (the ban)," Kassa told The Gleaner
          i am totally in support of an across the board ban on lewdness in the public domain... that means reggae, soca, hip-hop, r&b... as long as its coming across the public broadcast media... audio & video...

like the ras kassa said, its gone too far...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            the ras also said this...

i am totally in support of an across the board ban on lewdness in the public domain... that means reggae, soca, hip-hop, r&b... as long as its coming across the public broadcast media... audio & video...

like the ras kassa said, its gone too far...
            Again I ask, how many soca songs have you heard that require bleeping? The only one that may cause any uproar that I can think of is "nookie." Its the normal defensive stance when dancehall is criticised to point out soca music.

That's the question that many people don't want to answer. I have never heard an outright slack soca song (not that I listen to many). They probably exist, but we need to stop acting like spoilt children about this issue.

the Broadcast commission is not proactive. All will be done is the change of word from daggering to something else.

How can they ban the dances? them have fi ban some a the rap video and as the ras monitor the soca events too. If nobody complained the daggering would have continue and the bleeping would continue.

That's the question that many people don't want to answer. I have never heard an outright slack soca song (not that I listen to many). They probably exist, but we need to stop acting like spoilt children about this issue.
                  Thank yuh sah!

but banning the dancing?

Have you watch BET? I have never seeing daggering or romping shop but it can't be any worst. That is the challenge we have now, ban the local filth but import the foriegn one.

lazie... many people cannot answer that question because soca artists for as long as i can remember have employed the creative use of metaphors in their songs...

most people will never have a problem with that... people have been singing about sex from time immemorial across all genres without the outcry from the public as we have seen lately, because it was mostly done with creative metaphors...

however, the lack of creativity of many of the dancehall artists has caused a production lewd and graphic content that is offensive...

that is a problem and a cause for concern...

what th.....???!!! lazie/mosiah mosiah/lazie??!!!!

Did they ban all Dancehall events? Anyway, why not deal with dancehall instead of pointing finger at soca? How many soca songs yuh affi edit while playing?
                          You are confusing the issue. They are banning dancehall events from cable television because of suggestive dancing yet carnival is allowed to be shown on free tv. Who wine up more dan carnival people?

suh wait deh...daggering is not a metaphor?

Not feeling too well from mawnin...