Jamaica - A Marketing Failure?

• Jamaica - A Marketing Failure?

The posts on tourism and Kingston below make interesting reading, and I want to take the trend of thought in a slightly different direction without seeming to change the focus of that thread.

First, I’ll quickly state here that with our [*sarcasm button on] current success in fighting crime [*sarcasm button off], it’s in our best interest for tourism to continue to be relegated to Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Negril and Port Antonio. While we continue to slaughter each other (a homicide rate of 60-plus per 100,000 is not a joke!!), the world pays scant attention. As soon as the tourists begin to walk the streets of Kingston regularly, however, it may be a whole different ball game!

Now let me be clear on the issue of tourists: I support the tourism industry 100-percent. I always have, and I might add that the success of this industry in a tourism-reluctant country such as Jamaica has reached the point where it’s today our largest or second largest foreign exchange earner. I deliberately use the phrase “tourism-reluctant” because I feel strongly that most Jamaicans have never fully embraced the concept of tourism as a major industry in our country. There have never been any attempts, for example, to add tourism to our local school curricula. And despite the work of people like Desmond Henry and Diana McIntyre-Pike and others in community tourism during the 1970s and 1980s, that concept has yet to take off.

But we’re not alone, as other countries like Trinidad and Barbados and Guyana have belatedly (long after Jamaica) recognized the value of tourism to their economies.

Now, whenever I think of tourism and Jamaica, I end up smiling to myself. Quite bluntly, I will say this: without Gordon “Butch” Stewart and John Issa, our tourism would be much less today. Whatever the shortcomings of the all-inclusive concept, those two giants (Stewart and Issa) have done much, much more successful work in marketing Jamaica than any version of the Jamaica Tourist Board that have sprung up over the last fifty years!

Consider, for example, the fact that although Errol Flynn played a huge role some 50 years ago in getting little Jamaica exposed, and despite the exposure from sources as widely different as Bob Marley in the 1970s and 1980s, the Bobsled team and the resulting movie “Cool Runnings” in the late 1980s and early 1990s, the Reggae Boyz in the late 1990s, and our track and field superstars taking the notch even higher with their performance in Beijing, we still bring in a total of less than 300,000 tourists (both cruise and stopover) annually!

I cannot forget the fact that, to cite one best-forgotten example, Portia Simpson Miller was both Minister of Tourism and Minister of Sports back in the summer of 2004 when Jamaica’s athletes crowned the country in greatness with their high-profile performances in Athens. We failed to grasp opportunities then. Today in post-Beijing 2009, Jamaica has again failed dismally to market itself!

Let’s face it, the Jamaican decision makers at home have generally done a weak job of marketing our beautiful country, and time is running out rapidly! Many people suspect that Cuba is on the verge of opening up, and when that happens then it will be a whole new competitive situation in the Caribbean! (Please remember that all Caribbean countries, without a single exception, have today focused strongly on tourism as a major player in their economies.)

Our leaders in both government and the private sector have largely been unimaginative and lacking in creativity. Take for instance our tourism advertisement that airs on CNN each day between 7:00 a.m. and 7:30 a.m. What about this ad, when compared with Barbados’ tourism advertisement, for example, would make a tourist immediately book a flight to Jamaica? Damn, the tiny Bahamas boasts of an annual arrival figure of 500,000. Yet I’m sure that Jamaica is by far the most well known of the Caribbean countries!

But, like the mighty Titanic ship almost 100 years ago, Jamaica seems to have struck a iceberg (or some other stumbling block) and is slowly sinking. And there is no question that, all things considered, we are sinking slowly into that surreal world some call a failed state because of a combination of a failure of decisive, imaginative leadership, poor practices and activities at the grassroots level, and missed opportunities.
    Last edited by Historian; February 8, 2009, 03:14 PM.

Not all Doom and Gloom Historian.

Kingston can be a tourism destination. Like many other cities with high crime rate the tourist is just in a certain small section. Currently many tourist go to Bob Marley museum, Port Royal, and Blue mountain and few other places.

One can't discount what Butch and Issa has done but there are a lot of credit to go around. When you look at the elegant resorts of Ja(I don't know if they still go by that name) Halfmoon, Round Hill, Tryhall and others that are not all inclusive but has attracted a lot of big guest to Ja, you will agree with me.

Yes tourism should be taught in schools, no two way about it but we are a nation that will not teach anything about Garvey in schools either. We rather talk about European Geo and history than our own.

I don't know about the ad but I can say right now Ed Bartlett is the only tourism minister in a long time with some vision. Everybody prepared to fail since last year and things still going. He has made some moves that I won't agree with all but he has pushed Casino gambling like no other, he made the AA deal, he is optimistic about tourism and is cheer leader like no other. He says Jamaica to anybody who will listen.
    Jamaicans look into all the negitives why tourism won't be more successful when there is more opputunity available.

What this downturn has shown is that there is a market out there for more tourists, maybe not the big pocket ones but for the right price we can double our tourist arrivals, what is needed is productivity, how can we produce a less expensive product and encourage more visitiors to come?

Crime is a big deterent but you know what is worst? the fact that we don't clean our environment, venoders are lot licensed, held responible and pay not taxes. Tourists I meet normally talk about the driving on Jamaican roads and been hastle by vendors, and people wanting to sell drugs.

A lot of what you have said is true but we are people of beaten down mentality, we don't look at the oppurtunities to see where we can suceed, we look for failure. It is a good thing people like Butch, Issa, and now the Sunset people(the people who own yummy's bakery) have a different mentality. The fact is tourism is growing despite our recognition and embracing it like a Bahamas, and that says a lot for the product.

Talking about marketing a town like Negril or Kingston, what is needed is the local government, the chamber of commerce and tourism interst to come togather and do that, one can't depend on a JTB or Mr. of Tourism to do that.

Despite our best effort to destroy it tourism continue to flourish and more and more foriegners are taking the oppurtunity to grow their business from it.

Tourism ministry moves to lessen impact of Air Jamaica route cuts
      2009-02-07 Written by: Mark Thompson

In the face of Air Jamaica’s recent decision to slash routes to Atlanta, Miami, Los Angeles, Barbados, Grenada and Grand Cayman, Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett has announced several efforts by his ministry to counter the resultant loss of some 140,000 airline seats.
      Speaking at a press briefing last week, Minister Bartlett disclosed that talks were in progress with Air Jamaica to ensure that the Los Angeles gateway remains intact, while arrangements were being made with Delta Air Lines to strengthen the position out of Atlanta to minimise or negate any loss from that gateway.
      He indicated that the ministry is working with American Airlines to ensure that the Miami gateway would not be affected. Minister Bartlett added that Caribbean Airlines would be moving to fill the slack in intra-regional travel.
      “We think that the net result after all of this will be a maximum 15,000 seats being lost based on the work that we are doing now and the collaboration that we are putting together with the airline partners that are available and Air Jamaica. There is no need for panic in the system,” the minister said.
      “We’ve known ahead of time that this was going to happen because we have been in dialogue with Air Jamaica over the period and we have taken the steps to ensure that the airlift security of the industry is preserved,” stated Minister Bartlett.
      He used the occasion to point out that Virgin Atlantic would begin new flights into Montego Bay in the middle of the year and that Jet Blue would be coming out of New York in August.
      The minister added that Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) chairman John Lynch and Lionel Reid, executive director of Jamaica Vacations, were finalising arrangements in Europe with Blue Panorama (Italy), IberoJet (Spain) and Condor (Germany) for additional flights to come into the island during the latter part of this year.
      “We are going to make sure that if the people want to fly… there is access to the best destination in the world — Jamaica.”

January arrivals
      A beaming Minister Bartlett revealed that tourism arrival statistics for January exceeded expectations by registering an increase of 3.4 per cent over last January’s figure.
      “We surprised ourselves…138,000 tourists came into Jamaica in January this year, which makes it the largest number of visitors that have ever come to Jamaica in the month of January in any year.”
      He noted that while the first 14 days of the month saw a decline, the remaining two weeks and three days rebounded firmly. For the last three days of the month, the arrival figures were up by 51 per cent.
      Minister Bartlett credited the staging of the JTB-sponsored Jamaica Jazz & Blues Festival in Montego Bay with the increase.
      “You saw the spike during the two weeks when the festival took place. If it were not for that, the 3.4 per cent increase in arrivals that we were able to record in January would not have happened.”

...shout it Ed - long time the plans for the death of Air Jamaica were made!
        Last edited by Karl; February 10, 2009, 02:29 AM.

Jamaica collided with the 'iceberg' in 1972.

Our Ghettos have spawned a sub-culture that is quite marketable however and we have our sports heroes..

All who nuh like it.. Merica is next door.. get and education and become a Jamerican.

Re: Not all Doom and Gloom

Not all Doom and Gloom Historian.
            Assasin, this is actually another excellent post you’ve made, and not merely because I’m forced to agree with you for the most part. Your points are both logical and accurate, and show an intimate knowledge of Jamaica’s tourism industry.

Most definitely our Minister of Tourism, Ed Bartlett, has been doing really outstanding work and achieving equally commendable results. Unfortunately, my post earlier today forgot to include his efforts and results. I was surprised to learn, for example, that officials from Bartlett’s ministry had journeyed to Beijing with Jamaica’s contingent and actually did some tourism groundwork there! I don’t know how true this is, but if that was the case, much commendation should go to them!

Also, your suggestion regarding the desirability of various groups working in tandem with the Ministry of Tourism is an absolutely essential step and lies at the core of any development attempts Jamaica makes.

In fact, I have only two disagreements with your entire post.

My first such disagreement surrounds your statement that “Kingston can be a tourism destination.” While this is true, and while the work on the Norman Manley Airport has been really outstanding, my view is that until crime begins to be seriously addressed, I’d rather tourists stay away from the English speaking Caribbean’s largest city!

Despite our nationalism, as far as tourism is concerned Kingston is not the legendary Cancun. Far from it! I suspect that as a result, what Cancun can get away with (isn’t fame a damn…?), Kingston certainly won’t! One or two tourists killed in Cancun, I suspect, will not have the same results as one or two tourists killed in Kingston!

My other disagreement is the statement that unclean environment, unlicensed vendors are greater deterrents than crime. While it is absolutely important that visitors from the highly developed nations experience a standard of living that is at the very least acceptable, including a clean environment and a properly structured business environment (especially vendors), Jamaica’s high crime rate has to be a greater problem!

But other than these two personal queries, I enjoyed reading your post, Assasin!

By the way, I’m still curious as to why the previous Director of Tourism, Basil Smith, did not renew his contract with the Jamaican government. He had left a highly paid job elsewhere to return to Jamaica, then after only a couple of years (two years or so?) the press reports simply said that he would not be renewing his contract.

Ed Bartlett is trying to get Jamaica as a preferred Chinese destination. This status is important since China is a communist nation and everything have to be a approved.

last year Atlanta was excited about getting an approve connection port status so Chinese visitors would pass through. They said it would add another million people in their airport.

Now I know they are trying to work closer with Mexico and China with Jamaica been a focal point for travel to South America. If that work we could actually see 200,000 to a million more tourist, so let us see.

Yes I believe without violence we could be way ahead but it has to start. Some people in Kingston have to start seeing the benefits then it will change hearts and minds. Can you imagine what a cruise ship a day can do to the economy of Kingston if people from the community is involved? Say you have a market place where local craft vendors and artists can do their thing?

I was watching travel channel recently and they did a very good piece on Jamaica and the stand out piece believe it or not was Port Royal and Bath in St. Thomas even though there was no good road and the bath is very run down.

As for Mr. Smith he has a lot of experience but sometimes big heads do clash, and while I know he will be missed there are a few good and competent people in the tourist industry. One of the unsung hero is Carol Guntley-Brady who has worked for both sides of the political fence.

There are places that have very dangerous cities that are vibrant tourist destinations like Rio in Brazil and places like Lebonon, and more.
              I agree we need to work on it but we have to explore ways of gettng the tourist $$$.