Kartel's 'Rampin' Shop' outlawed!!!!!
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostLazie you cannot legislate morality."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Does your right to listen to your music mean that it should infringe on mine NOT to hear it? When I take my kids (ok my 9 yr old) (I have a 22, 18 and 14 yr old btw so yes, I am an old fogie) to the beach, should it be ok for a "Bricktop" to be pounding music right next to me with lyrics such as "tek buddy gyal" or "mi pu$$y tight" and " mi a go ride cocky" etc. etc. or whatever the most lurid lyrics are?
...Fine if you want to listen to it but it is X-rated music and should be treated as such...we do it for movies, video games, music except the latter is not controlled in JA (or in T&T for that matter). I don't know if you have kids, but if you do, and you are concerned about what their values are, you would be concerned.Last edited by Peter R; February 9, 2009, 06:30 PM.Peter R
So a young people rule? So you see how disrespect is fostered. If you old you must siddung an shet up?!? Inna my days (I graduated 5th form in '73) we had songs like "wreck a pum pum" and there was a group that called themselves Lloydie and the Lowbites that used to make songs that were X-Rated... so it's not like what is happening is anything new... however this "generation" if you want to make it a generational thing has taken dutty lyrics to a whole new level;way more explicit and it has permeated the main stream of music so that now "Daggering" is a genre that a broad spectrum of the population is exposed to .In my day you had to tief a listen so it had and knew its place, now it's open broadcasting from all over.
Instead of promoting the analysisof Louise Bennet, or interpretation Andrew Salkey or Phillip Sherlock, Dennis Scott, John Figueroa etc. by creating and challenging the minds of our youths and people by creating appropriate lyrics, or those like the great dub poets etc. all the Vybz and Spices of the world are doing is promoting is raw sex under the guise of Jamaican culture; it is nothing short of pure unadulterated crap!Peter R
So narrow-minded! I listen to Ska, soca, claypso, reggae, dancehall, jazz...r&b, zouk, sala, blues, soul, and all the in betweens and blends. Yu need to broaden your scope a bit..why disrespect the man beacuse yu disagree with him...he makes valid, sound arguments...some I don't share but sm make sense...dont use your parochial experience to make sweeping statements......'bout "this is our generation"....and a call yuself Reggae Guru????