• Kartel's 'Rampin' Shop' outlawed!!!!!

Slack song ban - Kartel's 'Rampin' Shop' among explicit lyrics outlawed

Published: Saturday | February 7, 2009

André Wright, Night Editor
    The [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Broadcasting[/COLOR][/COLOR] Commission of Jamaica, the watchdog over the island's electronic media, yesterday banned radio and television stations from airing songs with content deemed explicitly sexual and violent, even if concealed by bleeps.
    All dancehall songs which qualify as 'daggering' content - the rapidly emerging culture of quasi-erotic dances and music - will also be outlawed from the airwaves, the commission also said.
    The ban, which takes effect immediately, does not affect content recorded on CDs and DVDs.
    "There shall not be transmitted through radio or television, any recording, live song or music video which promotes the act of 'daggering' or which makes reference to, or is otherwise suggestive of 'daggering'," said Hopeton Dunn, commission chairman, in a release last night.
    "There shall not be transmitted through radio or television or cable services, any audio recording, song or music video which employs editing techniques or bleeping of its original lyrical content," Dunn continued.
    Widespread criticism
    The Broadcasting Commission's tough stance coincides with widespread criticism of the chart-topping hit, Rampin' Shop, a song laden with sexually explicit content and inferences. The song is performed by deejays Vybz Kartel and Spice.
    Debate was stirred when Esther Tyson, a Sunday Gleaner columnist, lambasted media managers for giving dancehall artistes a platform to "corrupt the psyche of Jamaican children".
    "We must work together to stop enriching people like Vybz Kartel who create filth and are then paid when they release it on the public.
    "The corporate giants in this nation who are promoting such filth need to come into the schools and see what is happening to the minds of the young," wrote Tyson, principal of the co-ed school, Ardenne High.
    The Broadcasting Commission has come under pressure in recent months as complaints mounted, particularly in print media, that the organisation should [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]ramp[/COLOR][/COLOR] up its policing of the airwaves and sanction stations which breach the Television and Sound Broadcasting Regulations.
    The Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ) last night told The Gleaner that it was in support of the move by the Broadcasting Commission to ban the airing of songs with extensive bleeping.
    "We believe that there should be a distinction between creative production for consumption or enjoyment in the dancehall vs the public airwaves," said PAJ President Byron Buckley.
    "We are against the current futile practice of bleeping out distasteful sections of a song on air when, in fact, the explicit content is widely available elsewhere."
    Gary Allen, chairman of the Media Association of Jamaica, the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]umbrella[/COLOR][/COLOR] representing both print and broadcast management, said entertainment-centred stations would likely suffer most from the new directive.
    "The entertainment stations will have a struggle as they will not be able to compete with the different entertainment tools such as CDs and iPods. But they still have to be mindful that it's a directive from the commission that has the authority without media houses questioning it," he told The Gleaner last night.
    Allen said the Media Association of Jamaica was categorically against the airing of songs "that clearly make reference to a daggering position" and said he was aware of the Broadcasting Commission's [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]bid[/COLOR][/COLOR] to balance popular interest with the boundaries of public decency.
    In recent years, church and [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]civic[/COLOR][/COLOR] groups have clamoured for a tighter leash to be placed on television and radio content. But dancehall proponents have argued that the musical genre has been an easy target of moral conservatives seeking to impose a generic standard of values.
    - Nadisha Hunter contributed to this story.
    Do you agree with the Broadcasting Commission's ban? Email comments to editor@gleanerjm.com

Mi guess these video will show more in JA no more dagegring
    Looking Hot, Push Yuh Bumper & Tempa Wine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wX_A5...eature=related

Wining Master - Pamputie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mjkpg...eature=channel
    Last edited by Naminirt; February 7, 2009, 09:00 AM.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
      Slack song ban - Kartel's 'Rampin' Shop' among explicit lyrics outlawed

Published: Saturday | February 7, 2009

André Wright, Night Editor
      The [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Broadcasting[/color][/color] Commission of Jamaica, the watchdog over the island's electronic media, yesterday banned radio and television stations from airing songs with content deemed explicitly sexual and violent, even if concealed by bleeps.
      All dancehall songs which qualify as 'daggering' content - the rapidly emerging culture of quasi-erotic dances and music - will also be outlawed from the airwaves, the commission also said.
      The ban, which takes effect immediately, does not affect content recorded on CDs and DVDs.
      "There shall not be transmitted through radio or television, any recording, live song or music video which promotes the act of 'daggering' or which makes reference to, or is otherwise suggestive of 'daggering'," said Hopeton Dunn, commission chairman, in a release last night.
      "There shall not be transmitted through radio or television or cable services, any audio recording, song or music video which employs editing techniques or bleeping of its original lyrical content," Dunn continued.
      Widespread criticism
      The Broadcasting Commission's tough stance coincides with widespread criticism of the chart-topping hit, Rampin' Shop, a song laden with sexually explicit content and inferences. The song is performed by deejays Vybz Kartel and Spice.
      Debate was stirred when Esther Tyson, a Sunday Gleaner columnist, lambasted media managers for giving dancehall artistes a platform to "corrupt the psyche of Jamaican children".
      "We must work together to stop enriching people like Vybz Kartel who create filth and are then paid when they release it on the public.
      "The corporate giants in this nation who are promoting such filth need to come into the schools and see what is happening to the minds of the young," wrote Tyson, principal of the co-ed school, Ardenne High.
      The Broadcasting Commission has come under pressure in recent months as complaints mounted, particularly in print media, that the organisation should [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]ramp[/color][/color] up its policing of the airwaves and sanction stations which breach the Television and Sound Broadcasting Regulations.
      The Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ) last night told The Gleaner that it was in support of the move by the Broadcasting Commission to ban the airing of songs with extensive bleeping.
      "We believe that there should be a distinction between creative production for consumption or enjoyment in the dancehall vs the public airwaves," said PAJ President Byron Buckley.
      "We are against the current futile practice of bleeping out distasteful sections of a song on air when, in fact, the explicit content is widely available elsewhere."
      Gary Allen, chairman of the Media Association of Jamaica, the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]umbrella[/color][/color] representing both print and broadcast management, said entertainment-centred stations would likely suffer most from the new directive.
      "The entertainment stations will have a struggle as they will not be able to compete with the different entertainment tools such as CDs and iPods. But they still have to be mindful that it's a directive from the commission that has the authority without media houses questioning it," he told The Gleaner last night.
      Allen said the Media Association of Jamaica was categorically against the airing of songs "that clearly make reference to a daggering position" and said he was aware of the Broadcasting Commission's [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]bid[/color][/color] to balance popular interest with the boundaries of public decency.
      In recent years, church and [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]civic[/color][/color] groups have clamoured for a tighter leash to be placed on television and radio content. But dancehall proponents have argued that the musical genre has been an easy target of moral conservatives seeking to impose a generic standard of values.
      - Nadisha Hunter contributed to this story.
      Do you agree with the Broadcasting Commission's ban? Email comments to editor@gleanerjm.com
      The ban should provide great exposure for whatever this Rampin Shop garbage is. Its popularity should explode.

Yes Mr Roast Breadfruit. The song is great. It shouldn't have been playing on the radio to begin with. It is a song for the dancehall.

Roast breadfruit?? Do you even know what that means?

One man's trash is another's treasure.

Keep on treasuring trash... you do have that right.

Roast breadfruit?? Do you even know what that means?
            Oh you're white. Sorry I should have said Mr. Slavery Man then. I don't treasure trash i treasure good music. When yuh a cock up yuh wife/husband dat a trash?

Good music?? Yes, I'm sure that drivel will last a long time... you'll probably be singing it in your dotage. LOL!!

Don1 you are a real critic of your culture well well well !!!

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                  Don1 you are a real critic of your culture well well well !!!
                  Thanks for the compliment.

Don1 is an excuse to a Jamaican. If a man nuh rate the music, unnuh fi stick to unnuh ska and calypso and leave us mek we do we ting. this is our generation. fi unnuh generation used to get condemned by the one that preceded it so i guess life is a cycle as they say. older folks in my family hate di music but dem nah fight it to fi unnuh extent because what they understand is that our generation is more widely accepted worldwide. if dancehall wasn't what it is today, there wouldn't that much hype over it by foreigners.

unno family luv soca mi bet bredda sista and female cousin

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                        Don1 is an excuse to a Jamaican. If a man nuh rate the music, unnuh fi stick to unnuh ska and calypso and leave us mek we do we ting. this is our generation. fi unnuh generation used to get condemned by the one that preceded it so i guess life is a cycle as they say. older folks in my family hate di music but dem nah fight it to fi unnuh extent because what they understand is that our generation is more widely accepted worldwide. if dancehall wasn't what it is today, there wouldn't that much hype over it by foreigners.
                        Some points youngster:

1. I don't condemn the whole genre of dancehall. There are dancehall artistes who stay positive. I condemn the songs and artistes who promote mindless violence and cultural degradation. These are the elements that people who promote "culture" music condemn. It's not about the style... it's about the performers who are wayward.
                        Jamaica suffers severely from violence and societal breakdown... we can't afford to promote the negative vulture music.

2. I don't particularly like or follow calypso.

3. This may be your generation (whatever age you may be) ... but when kids step out of line.. it's up to the more experienced to correct them and keep them on the right path... if you are old enough to have children you may know this.

4. I don't take instructions from foreigners so..because some of our vulture music may be accepted by them.. that doesn't concern me.
                        ...But as to being widely accepted worlwide.... dancehall can't compare to the impact of Jamaican music of the 1960's and 1970's.

i was going to comment that you can be such a simpleton sometimes but then i realised that you are a simpleton 100% of the time!

So when an aspect of your "culture" has deteriorated into the gutter with trash like "Rampin' shyte" it should be accepted?... oh yes, while we're at it we should hug up de gunman dem cause dat is Jamaican "culture" tuh.

Thanks bredrin... but don' tell that to the thousands of your countrymen who criticise the beads and bikini at Carnival time as it no longer depicts the thematic splendour of traditional carnival bands.

So when an aspect of your "culture" has deteriorated into the gutter with trash like "Rampin' shyte" it should be accepted?
                              You don't have to accept it. Let those of us who want to enjoy the "trash" do so. It is our right. Whatever old foogie music you listen i would probably also consider trash but you see me fighting it down? No I simply don't listen to it