Kingston gets first cruise ship for a very long time

just do me a favor and see how many people visit Yellow Stone, and places like Gatlinburg annually. Blue Mountain is listed as Heritage tourism site by the UN.

Attack, yes, Personal no. You gone off on a tangent because I said Blue Mountain and Port Royal to be added. There is nothing for me to argue about that vs music tourism.

Hushhh Johnny,it a di least .I am going to new orleans soon and it isnt carnival yet ,same with trinidad,can you guess why ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Certainly can't be scaled to any high volume of tourists.

Perhaps the idea was to get a sense of what might work and what won't.

you know more people go to Dunns River falls on a yearly basis than what go to Trinidad Carnival?
          Just think about it. It is not what you or I like. It is what Tourist travel for and it is ALL OF THE ABOVE.

Stop chat fawwt bout Dunn's River vs T* T carnival .I am glad you agree it's a package that can be sold,as what tourist like to include in all of the above.

Finally echoing my sentiments,that the package is mutually beneficial to both genres of tourism.

Yuh lucky mi nuh use Copacabana( Brazil) carnival as another example of using prime cultural events to bring in tourist to a destination.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mr. Tatham said tours of historic locations in and around Kingston including Port Royal, Devon House and Bob Marley Museum have been planned for the passengers.

Visits have also been planned for Spanish Town, St. Catherine and Dunn’s River Falls in St. Ann.

Mr. Tatham told JIS News that free shuttles have been arranged for Emancipation Park, the Craft Market, and the National Gallery of Jamaica

He said that although Kingston is located on the southern coast of the island, the capital city is capable of hosting successful tours, even though it does not fall “well on a traditional Western itinerary”.

The traditional Western itinerary usually includes The Bahamas, Jamaica, Cayman Islands, Grand Turk, Belize and/or a number of the Central America ports.

“Cruise lines leaving out of North America like to do four port calls in seven days or three in five days, and the mere fact that the ship has to come around and hit Jamaica’s south coast and south east coast for that matter makes their next point of call a bit difficult; but there is a lot of interest,” Mr. Tatham explained.

He said the Port Authority, Kingston Wharves, the Ministry of Tourism and other stakeholders are collaborating to ensure a successful call, noting that this will open up future opportunities for the Port of Kingston
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Docking in Kgn and going on a Dunn's River excursion makes no sense to me. The new highway does make it possible from a time perspective, but shouldn't the idea be to develop a different type of experience for a Kingston visitor? Better to tek them surfing in Bull Bay or something.

http://www.surfermag.com/videos/jama...EGMO4lmLqgP.97

Whole heaps hole in the wall restaurants downtown that sell oxtail and barbiefried chicken and fried chicken with curry gravy....

I have faith they will figure it out.

The coasters had police escort everywhere! Do t know if that could be maintained ....
                      Create a real Tourist Police Department and put in under the direct control of the JTB. Add a small security charge per person to each tour ticket and hand the security fee money over to the JTB instead of putting it in the consolidated fund. Start low cost with police motor bikes instead of cars etc.

They are currently taking money from the Tourism Enhancement Fund to give to the cops so that could be diverted. Not a bad idea, I remember in the 80s they had a special police to work within tourism, they were specially trained.

Any day they fix up downtown kingston and stem the level of violence in Kingston, then Ochie, Mobay and Negril will be competing for second place as Jamaica's tourist capital. The potential of downtown Kingston and Port Royal is limitless. Kingston has the potential to become the Manhattan of the Caribbean. FULL STOP!!!!
                          The JLP administration had outlined, in 2009, plans for the UDC spearheading a multi-stakeholder approach to the redevelopment of the capital city and adjoining Port Royal, to yield opportunities in the areas of residential and commercial development.

It said that conference and hotel facilities would also be made available, by linking the Jamaica Conference Centre to a reconfigured and restored Oceana Hotel on the scenic waterfront.

The redevelopment concept proposed a festival market place for the city, which would combine the elements of entertainment, cuisine and other commercial activities. The investment opportunities also included the availability of tax incentives which could be utilised by the developer in the development area.
                          http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...Kingston_83898
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So a plan is in the works from 09 ....ahhhhh sahhhh ! If dat caan get off di board , how your casino ting supposed to fly?

This is why I lean gently towards the JLP. These plans were interrupted by the change in administration.

Ok sah , so lets gi dem 3 terms....