"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Thanks,americans tourist couldn't pin point neither on the map,but they can tell you Kingston is foundation of ska,rock steady,dub and dancehall ( Bob Marley).New Orleans is known for food and Jazz,why are we not tapping the obvious world sellers? Instead my good friend Jangle wants to invent a new wheel ( Casino).Sass wants to stear clear of the heart of Kingston and push them to the edges,port royal and blue mountain.
The most salient point of this thread is Mexico has a booming tourist trade and it is in the middle of a drug war for over a decade,what is stopping us,throw in a couple of ganja lounge's and wi sell off.
Kingston should be sold like New Orleans,where Ska is at its foundation and all other genre revolve around it,Alpha should be an attraction.Duke street,Bond Street,etc ,etc.
The architecture of Kingston have buildings that can be marketed for whatever colonial era from its inception.Music and culture of Kingston is only rivaled by NYC,not even new Orleans.
The only conclusion I can come up with is we, don't know how to sell the product or we are embarrassed.
Kissteeth.!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
you have to realize, different tourists like different thing. Some just want to relax and do a little bit of local history. Others want to enjoy the music and cultural things. Hellshire in its hayday would also be a nice and unique spot.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
It can be done to an extent but remember Jamaica is also a small island.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Before you dismiss me ,I will add,that is what T*T has done market its tourist product to revolve around its music and culture in the heart of its main city.Sass it doesn't stop tourist from doing other things,if we do the obvious.
Carnival.
Kissteeth...a billion dollar earner.Yuh a tell me dat ave anything on us ?
Yes they havne tourist in Feb, but the last time I hear they were begging for a Sandals.
You have to think about family vacation, health tourism,Sports, cultural and historical tourism. Most of our visitors still come for sun and sea.
You realize the people related to the ship that came in say actually landing on a loading wharf was interesting to the people as they see Wharf operations.
Don't forget the food though, that is a big part of the New Orleans experience that goes with the music. Seafood, gumbo, beignet (similar to a festival) , red beans and rice and more. We have a culinary culture that matches that pretty well, but We don't have a downtown restaurant and club district, they have that in the French Quarter.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Big man mek sense! Mi say it a di least! Not that it should be disregarded ,all options on the table,yuh ear mi.cc: T*T carnival and New Orleans .
Mi nuh inna nuh circle long dance tonight.
There you go Island Zone a section of Kingston of downtown Kingston just for that .
That's all it takes eminent domain,tax breaks and marketing.The real estate boom,agricultural boom of providing services, plus the cultural music is what makes it into the money,no way water front property should be a ghetto.
Blue mountain and port royal a di least.
How much tourist Trinidad have? Not to deny music but family base tourism is much bigger than any music tourism and only in Feb. Carnival tourism is big. You have to have a very diverse offering if you want to attract people.
You miss the whole concept and you are a tourist man , who says music based tourism cant be family based ? or cant be used to attract family based tourism ? Who says its soley music based ?
You think T & T carnival or New Orleans only sells its destination as a music cultural destination, NO ! they use it as the primer means to get tourist to the destination.Some come at carnival some dont.
Can you tell me what is the premier event they use to attract tourist to these destinations and why ?
Your problem is the tribal- ness of your presetation , you seem to sepertae , music based tourism and family based tourism and not see them as a whole, as a mutually beneficially relationship.
The point to you is one is superior, in fact you said it , one is bigger .
The truth is music, food ,culture is a part of tourism , how we package and sell them is only a question when it comes for the consumer to purchase a destination.
It would be to Jamaica's benefit to follow T &T and New Orleans lead if kingston is to be a tourist attraction in how they pursue that goal.Many would bet , it would far out sell the family based tourism of the north coast, given the many angles that Kingston can sell , history ,music ,food, culture and family.
The problem is you attacked my point of adding Blue Mountain and Port Royal. I have never attacked adding Music tourism so I don't understand the tangent you are going off on. Yes Kingston is ripe for some music, cultural and food tourism. Music along with food, shopping at Cornation Market and relaxing on the beach in Port Royal, Hiking Blue Mountain and tasting some blue Mountain coffee is also part of my vision of tourism, relaxing on the beach of helshire while choosing your fish and waiting on it and enjoying it is also a part. I have nothing against music tourism but also in New Orleans Katrina tour is now a major tourism drawer now. I support music tourism but it must be diverse and unique.