Gov’t chided for silence on weakening dollar

This is pre-crisis thinking. Ball game changed. Paradigm shift.

Best thing to d is remain light on the feet and bobb and weave.

alright my apologies

bwoy when you dida warn nuff a we just put it aside.

We rather listen to Phinn.

My respect fi you get larger everyday.

Even Obama say him can't believe how things change from November to now.

If him a say that then you know that it bad.

I am still a little disapointed with the appreciation in the gold price, even though it has been my best investment of the past decade by far. Still I would have thought with the meltdown in September that it would be over $1000 for good by now.

Might be early days yet , mek we see what happen when the inflation start heating up. I would think thats at least a year way though, I don't see how you can have much inflation there is no demand.

Patience I-man!

The money man (samfie man) dem still ah fight gold in favour of paper.

I agree that inflation is still off in the horizon, but all roads seem to be pointing there. You do recall stagflation in the 70s, no?

Besides, it may just be a realignment of prices. Ipod can cost $30 while a loaf of bread costs $50. What you call dat?

Thats a good point. If there is inflation in the products we need but deflation in the products we don't need, then the figures may not show a lot of inflation, but it is a lot of sufferation!

I am always reminded of the story from Weimar Germany where the man tek a wheel barrow full of cash to the bakery and park it outside fi 30 secs while he poked hi head thru the bakery door to ask what was the price of bread that day. In that short nick of time, he was robbed! When he turned around, his cash was dumped on the ground and dem gone wid his wheel barrow!!!

BTW, like a year ago, I heard that Weimar Republic books were in short supply at Amazon, owing to the overwhelming demand!

Yuh mad,

Things are better than I expected at this stage!

Also, what is this fuss about our dollar. All things nowadays are transitory and can move in any direction. To my mind, the US dollar is structurally in an even worse shape than the JAD!!!!

In any case, all currencies are in a race to the bottom, so as to maintain an edge in a collapsing global economy. The Swiss are in a bind, as no matter what they do, people flee to the franc which is a surrogate for GOLD!

To stave off depression, interest rates will be cut to the bone, but that combined with freed up monetary spigots will lead to hyperinflation. Dangers everywhere...I am just hoping we can steer a relatively painless path thru this minefield.

Times hard, times dread!
                  mmmm?
                  No comment on what should be done?
                  Seems

Yuh mad,

Also, what is this fuss about our dollar. All things nowadays are transitory and can move in any direction. To my mind, the US dollar is structurally in an even worse shape than the JAD!!!!

In any case, all currencies are in a race to the bottom, so as to maintain an edge in a collapsing global economy. The Swiss are in a bind, as no matter what they do, people flee to the franc which is a surrogate for GOLD!

To stave off depression, interest rates will be cut to the bone, but that combined with freed up monetary spigots will lead to hyperinflation. Dangers everywhere...I am just hoping we can steer a relatively painless path thru this minefield.

Times hard, times dread!
                    mmmm?
                    Seems to me

Yuh mad,

Times hard, times dread!
                      mmmm?
                      Seems to me someone said, "make the presses roll and deal with the pyperinflation later"? ....er! er!

Yuh mad,

Times hard, times dread!
                        mmmm?
                        Seems to

Did you read my post on pre-crisis thinking?
                          Last edited by Willi; February 8, 2009, 10:39 AM.

Even Obama say him can't believe how things change from November to now.

If him a say that then you know that it bad.
                            Then either Obama is an idiot or he said that to nudge the House and Senate to move immediately!

btw - I still believe that the area that should get first priority is housing sector!

Halt the forecolsures, allow for the resturcturing of ALL mortgages i.e. persons in trouble making their payments and persons having no trouble making their payments - Makes no sense wasting time going through the process of vetting who needs mitigation and who does not - that is a sort of "while Nero fiddles, Rome burns" .

Dry up the excess houses on the market!
                            ...thus great numbers of new buyers at the new low rates of these more affordable homes will ramp up the residential real estate market...

...construction will take off...heavy equipment, haulage directly related to...

...and activities indirectly related to construction and home ownership, e.g. movement of furniture, household equipment - washing machines, fridges, etc...gets going again...

...the not inconsiderable 'repair and upgrading of houses, market' will also rebound...

...put a dent in the unemployment figures...

...identifies - rewrite loan values and outstanding debts and receivables...and then stems the losses...strengthen the bloody (...and they are bloodied at present with more bloodying to come) banks and other financial institutions...as the funds specifically targeting the above pours in - i.e. the government must set-aside funds specifically for this...funds to be used for no other purpose...demand immediate actions with necessary oversight...

...the renewal of activity in 'the market' then allows for turn-around in employment sweeping throughout the entire economy...finance, transportation, heavy equiipment, professionals & trades-persons, casual workers, manufacturers, distributors & wholesales...

What the hell is the size of the current residential real estate market? ...and the existing potential for growth...??????

...and the size of 'spin-offs' from the various allied industries and other sectors?

Come to think of it I have never heard the CNN and other media talking heads...put a 'money value' on these???? I wonder why not?

Did you read my post and pre-crisis thinking?
                              ...give me a link?

...btw - Your T&F site: I am waiting on your take on - i) the marketing of Bolt and our other T&F athletes;

...and...

ii) how that will impact (affect?) their preparation for this season and beyond?

Two different things...although #ii makes reference in some ways to i!
                              See yuh ova suh...just want to read!

Karl you must be a closet Republican. When they were in power they never thought about bailing out the housing sector but now in opposition it is the biggest thing on the agenda when it is now so bad that not only the housing sector need bailing out.

When the bank bailiout took place if they had bailed out housing then, we would be in a much better position but now so many sectors have collapse that the bailout can't be enough. Even with a good housing bailout we are still in deep trouble.

I remember when you were preaching tax cut with John McCain. The problem is now the housing sector can't take care of the current job lost and a much more comprehensive program is needed.