• If the stimulus package is to work...

If the stimulus package is to work...

Wednesday, February 04, 2009
    The economic stimulus package unveiled last year-end by the Bruce Golding administration has tremendous potential for helping Jamaica out of the global crisis we are experiencing.

We at the Jamaica Observer need go no further than the testimony of our own chairman, Mr Gordon 'Butch' Stewart, who willingly shared the results of his use of the tax breaks offered by the plan to the tourism industry, in respect of the Sandals chain of hotels.

Mr Stewart said that his hotels in Jamaica had pumped the money retained through the tax break into an intense advertising and marketing campaign, utilising many of the big United States networks to push Jamaica and the tourism industry. It has paid big dividends, with brisk room occupancy in January and with February expecting, to use a Jamaican phrase, "room full, hall full, caan get a spoonful".

Very critically, Mr Stewart appealed to all beneficiaries of the stimulus package to ensure that the money is put to good use in the interest of the country.

We would like to go further by suggesting that the state's monitoring agencies do not wait on beneficiaries to do what is right but to make periodic checks to see that the money is being spent for the purpose it was given.

In the grand scheme of things, the stimulus package - $6.4 million in loans and 4.5 per cent of GCT allocated to the tourism sector to help with cash flow and $4.5 million toward small businesses - is a small one, especially seen in the light of the US package which is US$888 billion. But we are not the US economy, and if used wisely it can make a difference, especially with a bit more creative thinking.

Everyone knows and understands that the tourism industry was chosen for immediate benefits because of its volatility and vulnerability and its overriding importance to the economy. To get a complete picture of the situation, one needs only look at the fact that the currency of Jamaica's biggest tropical tourism competitor, Mexico, has devalued by 40 per cent!
    But we believe that Jamaica could get more out of the stimulus package if it were extended beyond the tourism industry, to areas such as manufacturing, commerce, agriculture, the entire export sector as a matter of fact. And the tax breaks should be widened to include import duties for the export sector, which is entirely under great stress.

If the finance ministry feels skittish about giving import duty breaks, it might consider a trial period of say three to six months and then review it to determine if it is having the desired effect of jolting the economy forward.

We have not yet received a report from the administration on how the package has been working, but we remind Mr Golding of his pledge to help workers who have lost their jobs and borrowers who are having difficulty making their mortgage payments. Since the unveiling of the package in December, the jobless figures have climbed steadily and are continuing to climb.

We all have a vested interest in a stimulus package which works for us at this critical time of need.
    Last edited by Karl; February 5, 2009, 09:42 PM.

As a matter of fact Sass, must say you were right when I questioned the continued advertising in this climate. The PM announced in Parliament last evening that tourist arrival for January 09 was more than January 08. He didn't give a figure, so it could be one. Anyway he did make it clear that alot of money was being spent.

Yes it's certainly a lot of money on ads. US residents who watch TV see Jamaica's tax dollars at work on a very regular basis.

Stewart has every right to be pleased.

Yes it's certainly a lot of money on ads. US residents who watch TV see Jamaica's tax dollars at work on a very regular basis.

Stewart has every right to be pleased.
        So, is it fair to say you're against the advertising campaign?

Lazie many people did last minute travel and some people who couldn't travel before got a good deal. Also remember this is one of the worst winter up north for a while.

Only if them coulda start conquer the Asian,South American, and other markets, then the prospect would be great.

As mi say give Barlett his due, he is working and trying to do things.

Even though Don1 don't like it but without this ad campaign we would be like some other destinations that have arrivals cut by up to 30%.

So, is it fair to say you're against the advertising campaign?
            I'm against the trickle down economic model which directs tax dollars to elites - to subsidize their businesses - in the hope that the country benefits.... especially where the visitors are encamped in fancy garrisons AKA all inclusives.... wherein most of the economic benefits are retained.

The ads themselves I find to be charming.

Well the people need to do more for themselves. Them running the tourist to the garrison with their holigan behavior in the craft market and visitors attractions.

there are some low interest loan to small businesess so I hope some a them take advantage of it. If the government did nothing and the hotel closed you would be singing a different tune. Although it putting money in Butch pocket but having more tourist can only be better for the economy.

I'm against the trickle down economic model which directs tax dollars to elites - to subsidize their businesses - in the hope that the country benefits.... especially where the visitors are encamped in fancy garrisons AKA all inclusives.... wherein most of the economic benefits are retained.

The ads themselves I find to be charming.
                Tax dollars to elites? There are times I read yuh posts I wonder if you're serious. I for one questioned the mass ad campaign, however, since then, I've been seeing numerous ads from other tourist destinations. Austrialia, Aruba, Bermuda, DR, Mexico, this morning I even saw one from Tanzania. Are you telling me all these countries are directing tax dollars to elites? I guess if they had thrown up their hands you would still find fault.

I think its full time people stop attacking the All Inclusive concept.

the all inclusive saved tourism in this downturn.

When Halfmoon start to offer All inclusive package you know something is right.

The clients are demanding it now when the money is tight.

Also it is not trickle down as Don1 would want it to look as all hotels, small and large get the same tax break and loan.

You know Don1 love for Butch.

Well the people need to do more for themselves. Them running the tourist to the garrison with their holigan behavior in the craft market and visitors attractions.

there are some low interest loan to small businesess so I hope some a them take advantage of it. If the government did nothing and the hotel closed you would be singing a different tune. Although it putting money in Butch pocket but having more tourist can only be better for the economy.
                    Where you see a mere hotel chain with a happy owner ... I see an economic structure that is weak, twisted and not serving the best interests of the country... of course this is not the fault of Butch Stewart.

You are free to give the structure your uncritical support.

that is pretty unfair because others must have benefitted from this tax break. The observer only used Butch as an example but all the hotels, large and small got the same break and the smaller ones even got more in loan adjustments.

It would be interesting to hear from the smaller property but based on what I know from this industry if the bigger properties are full, more than likely the smaller ones will get more occupany as well.

Where you see a mere hotel chain with a happy owner ... I see an economic structure that is weak, twisted and not serving the best interests of the country... of course this is not the fault of Butch Stewart.

You are free to give the structure your uncritical support.
                        Do you complain about the stimulus package first world nations have implemented or are trying to get passed? Whats the objective of such packages? Well, the naysayers who obviously have no clue was all over the place claiming the gov't had no clue what they were doing. Well, the gov't implemented a stimulus package hence the reaction from Mr. Stewart,

He said Sandals had pumped the money saved back into an intense marketing campaign, using the major United States television networks and had started to reap the dividends, with the hotels nearly full in January and fully booked for February. And he urged all other beneficiaries to make maximum use of the stimulus package, in the interest of Jamaica. (Read the article)

Now lets see, hotels were sending home workers because of the crisis now we're hearing from the owner of a mere hotel chain along with the PM talking about the benefits of the stimulus package. I guess is not everybody can believe or appreciate that a correct move was made.
                        Last edited by Lazie; February 4, 2009, 04:33 PM.

Tax dollars to elites? There are times I read yuh posts I wonder if you're serious. I for one questioned the mass ad campaign, however, since then, I've been seeing numerous ads from other tourist destinations. Austrialia, Aruba, Bermuda, DR, Mexico, this morning I even saw one from Tanzania. Are you telling me all these countries are directing tax dollars to elites? I guess if they had thrown up their hands you would still find fault.

I think its full time people stop attacking the All Inclusive concept.
                          I don't know how the other destinations fund their ad campaigns nor am I opposed to Jamaica's advertising.

All inclusives have their place but the pertinent questions are:

1. What is the contribution of an all inclusive model to the economy vs the standard open hotel model... ie what is the optimal mix for Jamaica's tourism to maximize earnings for the entire community.
                          Just blindly subsidizing the current structure may not be the best use of our dollars.

2. If the open hotel model provides more relative benefits... how can we create an environment to sustain that model?
                          Are tax dollars better spent on community development rather than on promoting all inclusives where people are bottled up and don't spend money with local small businesses... where the multiplier effect of such spending is huge?

This, like all Jamaica's problems is a long term structural problem needing long term solutions.

that is pretty unfair because others must have benefitted from this tax break. The observer only used Butch as an example but all the hotels, large and small got the same break and the smaller ones even got more in loan adjustments.

It would be interesting to hear from the smaller property but based on what I know from this industry if the bigger properties are full, more than likely the smaller ones will get more occupany as well.
                            my issue is not with this or that hotel or hotelier. it's not personal. my issue is with the structure of the industry and how to maximize it.

Do you complain about the stimulus package first world nations have implemented or are trying to get passed? Whats the objective of such packages? Well, the naysayers who obviously have no clue was all over the place claiming the gov't had no clue what they were doing. Well, the gov't implemented a stimulus package hence the reaction from Mr. Stewart,

He said Sandals had pumped the money saved back into an intense marketing campaign, using the major United States television networks and had started to reap the dividends, with the hotels nearly full in January and fully booked for February. And he urged all other beneficiaries to make maximum use of the stimulus package, in the interest of Jamaica. (Read the article)

Now lets see, hotels were sending home workers because of the crisis now we're hearing from the owner of a mere hotel chain along with the PM talking about the benefits of the stimulus package. I guess is not everybody can believe or appreciate that a correct move was made.
                              I am more focused on long term development and just prefer to point out issues relating to that. I was not addressing stimulus issues or bailouts per se.