Mutabaruka and Daggering

There are some simple things that we as a soceity can do to arrest the moral decline. I think legally, it would be too difficult to reintroduce corporal punishment in our schools, of which I am a total supporter. For those of you "ites" who are still on the rock or in the know, "Do they still say the national pledge or sing the anthem or even have prayers at assembly in the schools?"

I worked in the "big" bank down there for 11 years, and each branch had a designated day of the week when we would gather and have a morning devotion. In hindsight, sometimes it would seem so tedious to plan and execute (the responsibility for holding devotion was rotated amongst the departments), but I remember looking forward to it each week. Of course, being Jamaicans, it was always assumed that everybody was a Christian and you had to have a good reason (like being a Jehovah Witness)to miss the weekly devotions. We would sing hymns and other Sunday School songs like "Father Abraham", which would lighten our moods for the rest of the day.

The government, through the Ministry of Education, needs to reinforce the many positive aspects of Jamaica, its people and our culture in the schools. Again, I am not in the position to come to a conclusion, but from where I am, it seems that with each passing year, we are losing more of our traditions and culture to the internet and the media while we eagerly adopt the American culture. The teachings must start in the basic and primary schools and continued throughout high school. Learning about our culture and traditions should be part of the school curriculum throughout a child's school years. There should be at least one or two field trips to places of interest per grade per school year. I remember doing a history project on Religions in Jamaica and I had to go downtown to the Jamaica Institute (I can't remember the complete name) or the National Library to do the research. These were the days before the computer and internet....back when only a few had colored tv's (lol). I also remember the anticipation and preparation in performing at the Ward Theatre (our Carnegie Hall, Wembley Stadium or Madison Square Gardens) during our Independence Day celebrations. As a child growing up in Jamaica, nothing was greater than having your family coming to watch you perform at the Ward Theatre. Is the annual Pantomime still going and how well is it supported? Do Jamaicans still slap on some whitewash on the walls of their homes at christmas time? Bricktop, I think they should start signing off TV's again at midnight with the national anthem.........(lol).
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Badness... outta style!

Too much soca and Trinis on Tempo. Nah go reach nuh whey!
      so badness nuh out ah style

that is good but many a these kids a cuss badword before them reach a elementary school and them know what daggering is before them know the letter A.

We need better parenting and more responsible parents and less people leaving them kids behind to be raised by the "village", Vibe Kartel and Mavado.

Easier said than done. The parents can't be everywhere. Everyone has a responsibility to not promote crap onto the general populace.

And who determines what is crap? You?

No. You.

Parents can't be everywhere but too many parents don't even know their own pickney. Tooo many Parents leave them pickney too god. I can understand the fact that they have to make sacrifice but you can't leave teachers to raise your kids.

"corporal punishment" Missa J.? and more religion?

I am definitely against corporal punishment, not against religion though I don't see that as being effective in halting moral decline.

Where government can help is to introduce a mandatory character education programme in schools...every school should have a couple teachers who are trained to deliver it, they in turn can train others.

Sports...mandatory participation...

And schools should also probably run six days a week...teachers would probably hate that but....Saturday morning would be like a lessons morning for the younger ones and for H.S. rotate Saturday morning classes so that not all teachers would have to go out. And only half day.

Social workers would have to work more closely with families at risk... Principals, introduce a mentorship programme in your school...

The thing is there is a lot we can do if someone is willing to take the heat for being a dictator... and this one is for Bricktop ... BAN the daggering music from airplay between certain hours of the day, and not within 500 metres of any school.

Why don't we just ban electricty, batteries and studios that will do the trick

we ban some songs and get serious with the payola thing.. We should also stop the beeping out of words..as the meaning still get through..

Note I never said to ban the music..in America where you reside liquor is not banned but you just can't walk street a drink i' whenevah at yuh own leisure an pleasure... yuh drive cyar but yu haffi keep right (or left)...nutten nuh wrong wid guidelines fi maintain order. Same way certain show nuh broadcast before a certain hour..