Mutabaruka and Daggering

• Mutabaruka and Daggering

By now, every regular reader of this forum must be aware of my highly critical view of Jamaica's cultural direction in recent times, so I will make no further comment except to say to Mutabaruka, “Well said, my brother”! Hopefully, more and more influential voices will speak up as time passes. The responsible ones amongst us Jamaicans need to work harder if we believe that our country is worth saving!

Mutabaruka lashes out against 'daggering' tunes

By Basil Walters Observer staff reporter
    Sunday, February 01, 2009

Well-known poet Mutabaruka has used the opportunity of Lutan Fyah's album launch to weigh in on the "daggering" music trend, and appealed to fellow entertainers to take responsibility and be a part of the solution.

Mutabaruka: 'A lot of people lose focus. We losing focus.'
    Looking at the negative impact the current trend is having on the society, especially young people, the outspoken Rastafarian - while agreeing that parents have a role to play - said everybody has a responsibility to alleviate the problem.

"We see a lot of artistes who claimed dat dem nuh have nutten fi do wid weh a gwaan, dem just a mek music and is really the parents who should be blamed," Mutabaruka noted. While admitting this, he goes on to point out: "But when you look at the society today, mi feel that everybody have a responsibility fi do something fi alleviate the stress and the problem that we find we self in. And knowing that the artiste is the most influential person inna di society now, we feel sey you shouldn't have music dat a really carry the people dem inna certain way."

In his customarily no-hold-barred fashion, the controversial talkshow host didn't mince words when he turned the searchlight on his colleagues in the music industry. A lot of people lose focus. We losing focus," he stressed, "A lot of us blame politicians, and politicians is to be blamed, but look pon weh de artistes dem a gwaan wid now. Artistes involved wid gun, artistes involved wid not necessary knife play but "daggering" play. Artistes involved wid everything weh yuh hear dem fight against Babylon."

Added Mutabaruka: "If a artiste a hit out 'gainst politician, and when you look pon fi him life and fi him music, it worst den weh de politician dem a gwaan wid, den we really in a serious problem. We inna serious problem because we always a look pon de next man...

"And we see a lot of artistes stabbing up and "daggering" up or whatsoever you want to call it. The time so stressful yah now, the time so meaningless when it come on to life and property, dat is important that a artiste find him place and see how him can be a part of the solution and not be a part of the problem."

It was from that perspective that he lauded the music of Lutan Fyah whom he commended for the title of the album Africa. "To have a brethren who sey him gwine call him album Africa, is really saying much. It saying much because we see so much things changed in front of us overnight. So we give thanks that we see a brethren come right now in dis bleng time yah wid a album name Africa."

Mutabaruka also took a swipe at the media when he said: "We have a thing that is happening with the media...we still see dem a perpetuate the same craziness and madness."

I will play devils advocate here.

How do we make it better when the radio djs are not interested in playing good music?

How do you make it better when only the tug life the artist them know?

How do you make it better when a only "daggering" a sell and ge forward?

How do we make it better when the radio djs are not interested in playing good music?

How do you make it better when only the tug life the artist them know?
      Many of the artists no longer live "thug" lives. Dem live more comfortably dan me and yuh!

How do you make it better when a only "daggering" a sell and ge forward?
      Nuff odda chune a sell and a get forward.

Why is Mutabaruka associating Daggering with violence? And why is Historian following along like a blind sheep? Do these two fools even know what daggering is?

How do we make it better when the radio djs are not interested in playing good music? How do you make it better when only the tug life the artist them know? How do you make it better when a only "daggering" a sell and ge forward?

The simple fact is that Jamaica right now is a chaotic society lacking leadership at various levels. For example, the mass media (the so-called Fourth Estate) has a responsibility to lead and set standards, but that has not been happening. In the case of radio, the fault does not lie only with the radio deejays, but also with management. The management of any entity needs to set guidelines and standards, and those employees who cannot fall in line should be asked to leave! Has this been happening in our local media houses?

Jamaica in the 21st century is a chaotic society lacking leadership, as I stated above, and to some extent this is pretty obvious in BOTH the electronic media and the print media. A garbage publication like The Star, for example, probably contributes to the glorification of sh!t more than any of the other print media do.

Like Mosiah correctly stated above, a lot of the current controversial artists live good, comfortable lives.

Nevertheless, do these suddenly-successful artists follow the example of people like Shaggy, Etana and other positive role models? No, and so instead of enriching their communities by contributing in positive ways, these successful asses... sorry, artists... simply continue their crap in a more elaborate setting.

“Daggering” is the only thing “going forward” for the simple reason that that is what is highlighted via the broadcast media! There are many positive recordings out there, but is the public allowed to be aware of these? But trust me, a Caribbean backlash will be coming soon! Wouldn’t it be ironic if soca’s eventual take off was facilitated by dancehall’s descent into the unacceptable?

But, like I posted some time ago in my criticism of the political values of the 1970s, many have been socialized into thinking that poverty and filth are things to be cherished and marketed!

God help us!

I recently spoke to a few producers and artists and many have just taken a break because of the direction of music and the lack of sales.

There are a few positives, there is not the money out there to pay some of these big artist, big money to appear on a riddim, if you notice certain "big" artists are not recording. The music sales business has gone buss. Many of the record sellers have gone outa bancrupt in the US and England including Tower record, Virgin Record, Greensealves, Jet Star and others. There maybe a few oppurtunities out there but right now download a mash up things, so nuh artist just doing enough to keep on tour, or for the Jamaican crowd.

I have a long awaited project working on, hopefully soon be finished but there are many challenges out there right now.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
              The simple fact is that Jamaica right now is a chaotic society lacking leadership at various levels. For example, the mass media (the so-called Fourth Estate) has a responsibility to lead and set standards, but that has not been happening. In the case of radio, the fault does not lie only with the radio deejays, but also with management. The management of any entity needs to set guidelines and standards, and those employees who cannot fall in line should be asked to leave! Has this been happening in our local media houses?

Jamaica in the 21st century is a chaotic society lacking leadership, as I stated above, and to some extent this is pretty obvious in BOTH the electronic media and the print media. A garbage publication like The Star, for example, probably contributes to the glorification of sh!t more than any of the other print media do.

Like Mosiah correctly stated above, a lot of the current controversial artists live good, comfortable lives.

Nevertheless, do these suddenly-successful artists follow the example of people like Shaggy, Etana and other positive role models? No, and so instead of enriching their communities by contributing in positive ways, these successful asses... sorry, artists... simply continue their crap in a more elaborate setting.

“Daggering” is the only thing “going forward” for the simple reason that that is what is highlighted via the broadcast media! There are many positive recordings out there, but is the public allowed to be aware of these? But trust me, a Caribbean backlash will be coming soon! Wouldn’t it be ironic if soca’s eventual take off was facilitated by dancehall’s descent into the unacceptable?

But, like I posted some time ago in my criticism of the political values of the 1970s, many have been socialized into thinking that poverty and filth are things to be cherished and marketed!

God help us!
              No disrespect but you're an idiot

No Problem, boss, and no offence taken. I mean it !

In fact, Bricktop, the day I see you starting to agree with any of my opinions will be the day when I will be forced to stop and closely examine my life and its (presumably new) direction!!! That will surely be a most worrisome day for me!

We’d better recognize that most likely we’ll never agree on anything social or cultural as far as Jamaica is concerned. Sure, we might very well share similar political and economic views, but our views regarding the way forward for Jamaica both culturally and socially will quite likely never be even remotely similar. For my part, there’s absolutely no doubt in my mind that we cannot continue this way!

Anyway, let me leave this forum and go listen to my favorite recording group at this point in time, “Morgan Heritage.”

"“Daggering” is the only thing “going forward” for the simple reason that that is what is highlighted via the broadcast media! There are many positive recordings out there, but is the public allowed to be aware of these? But trust me, a Caribbean backlash will be coming soon! Wouldn’t it be ironic if soca’s eventual take off was facilitated by dancehall’s descent into the unacceptable?"

Truth to be told, I don't think the caribbean backlash ever really workas the support is mainly in the North East Diaspora. The Government in the caribbean countries are trying for a long time but the people have never supported it.

As you say the the values of society is what is wrong. When you have 8 year old telling you badword without been punished, how can you dictate what is made? While I don't listen to some of the garbage is some case it is just a reflection of society and visi versa.

One of the thing that is needed is more music in schools and to bend some of the future entertainers from early. We need a real Jamaica school of Music.

Why can't Morgan Heritage and Kartel/Beenie/Mavado coexist in the marketplace? Why can't the public choose what they would like to listen to? The people want to listen to Kartel/Beenie/Movado not Morgan Heritage.

“Daggering” is the only thing “going forward” for the simple reason that that is what is highlighted via the broadcast media! There are many positive recordings out there, but is the public allowed to be aware of these?
                      Come on now man everybody has access to the internet. You can listen to whatever you want to on demand. Younger people will always listen to "Pop" music it's an age old debate.

Excellent Points, Assasin

Originally posted by Assasin
                        As you say the the values of society is what is wrong. When you have 8 year old telling you badword without been punished, how can you dictate what is made? While I don't listen to some of the garbage is some case it is just a reflection of society and visi versa.
                        Originally posted by Assasin

One of the thing that is needed is more music in schools and to bend some of the future entertainers from early. We need a real Jamaica school of Music.
                        Excellent points! Despite my view of the media expressed above, I fully endorse everything you’ve stated here! Regarding your hope for a “real Jamaica School of Music,” this too has been my desperate hope for many years now.

Truth to be told, I don't think the caribbean backlash ever really workas the support is mainly in the North East Diaspora. The Government in the caribbean countries are trying for a long time but the people have never supported it.

Actually, Assasin, there’s a three-year-old television music network that currently broadcasts in almost 30 Caribbean countries. I’m referring here to Tempo music channel (Originally called “MTV Tempo” when it was owned by Viacom and was a subsidiary of MTV). In the past year or so, since it came under new ownership, Tempo has been placing heavy focus on soca. In fact, this television station has been singlehandedly ensuring that all sorts of new soca acts are given wide exposure across the Caribbean. BET Jazz has also been exposing soca to new audiences.

I’m not sure how long before the combined attempts by Caribbean governments and some Caribbean media houses and commentators start to bear fruit amongst their populace. Maybe disgust will grow among members of the general populace in the future, or maybe, like you suggested, it may never happen. I just do not know.

I agree with you about the North East Diaspora though.

Badness... outta style!

Too much soca and Trinis on Tempo. Nah go reach nuh whey!

You Continue to Miss the Crucial Point!

Why can't Morgan Heritage and Kartel/Beenie/Mavado coexist in the marketplace? Why can't the public choose what they would like to listen to? The people want to listen to Kartel/Beenie/Movado not Morgan Heritage.
                            Bricktop, you continue to miss the crucial point, boss!

We’re talking here about influence and effects on the society, in particular among children and teens, the very people who will be our future leaders and society shapers. Values are being instilled in these young ones that do not augur well for our country’s future!

Don’t you believe, for example, that there is possibly a link between perceptions of women in the dancehall environment (that is, as creatures that one should simply grind as hard as possible) and the general contempt shown towards women by many men (contempt which often results in mental and physical abuse, including rape)?

Anyway, I know you’re enjoying yourself in the great North and so shouldn’t be too concerned about the obvious sinking of Jamaica (and some other Caribbean countries) into unadulterated bacchanal amidst a growing economic and social abyss. Think the word “hell” in the context of Jamaica will always be a metaphor only? Well, think again!

I’m out of here now for the morning, but will read any responses later.

It is simple that what will happen is some cheaper version of t he caribbean station will come up exposing the badness and dirty songs and just like BET it will get traction.

The caribbean politicians have never failed to label or music from the 70s and banned numerous artists but when these artist go there they get huge shows.

Last time the other caribbean leaders were hitting against the passa passa like dance but to no effect. I don't think it will happen, if it does it will surprise me.