This is indeed an interesting topic which I believe is worthy of further discussion because it is always great to see things(the Caribbean) from different perspectives. My take is a little different from what was said below, In fact I believe that the whole Caribbean is on the verge of being taken over by Jamaican culture and has been in the making for a while. Dancehall is certainly leading this take over as it is a fresh phenomena in comparison to calypso which has been around for ages and its offspring Soca. The younger generation throughout the caribbean is a Dancehall generation which gravitate to Reggae and Dancehall more than Soca. You see this in their fashion, attitude, slangs and the numbers in which they turn up at dancehall shows, and their knowledge of dancehall from the artists to the lyrics.
Even Soca as it is today is heavily influenced by Dancehall, and this is obviously evident in the artists and their lyrics who look and sound more like they are from Yard than anything else. One of the biggest soca artist ever Kevin Little, is still believed by many to be a Jamaican and in fact his dancehall appeal may have fueled his success. Carnivals are huge of course but they are usually one time events, while dancehall gets into the fiber of the society and is an everyday thing...it is not an event, it is life. Furthermore, Dancehall has waaay more superstars than Soca and Dancehall happenings are usually the current topic of discussions for Caribbean youths males and females. They all want to do the dances, dress the part and have the Yardman profile down pat to a T! The last time I checked, there was not one yardman trying to look, sound or do anything Trini.
Just recently during the Olympics after the 100m final, my wife's brother-in-law called us up in jubilation and screaming on the phone because Trinidad won the silver medal. He was elated and in celebration mode because he said they beat Asafa Powell, so I said to him "Bredrin who won the race and from which country?" He started stuttering unusually and then one big argument ensued about which country better and who better at what. He started talking about Trini carnival how it is the best and soca is the best, and this time I said to him "My youth, what kind a music yuh have inna yuh car?" The argument done immediately! He started laughing and saying "you got me, you got me!" Finally massive, the next time Kenwyn Jones score a goal fo Sunderland unnu look good pon him celebration and mek mi know which part a T&T dem Dance deh created!
Even Soca as it is today is heavily influenced by Dancehall, and this is obviously evident in the artists and their lyrics who look and sound more like they are from Yard than anything else. One of the biggest soca artist ever Kevin Little, is still believed by many to be a Jamaican and in fact his dancehall appeal may have fueled his success. Carnivals are huge of course but they are usually one time events, while dancehall gets into the fiber of the society and is an everyday thing...it is not an event, it is life. Furthermore, Dancehall has waaay more superstars than Soca and Dancehall happenings are usually the current topic of discussions for Caribbean youths males and females. They all want to do the dances, dress the part and have the Yardman profile down pat to a T! The last time I checked, there was not one yardman trying to look, sound or do anything Trini.
Just recently during the Olympics after the 100m final, my wife's brother-in-law called us up in jubilation and screaming on the phone because Trinidad won the silver medal. He was elated and in celebration mode because he said they beat Asafa Powell, so I said to him "Bredrin who won the race and from which country?" He started stuttering unusually and then one big argument ensued about which country better and who better at what. He started talking about Trini carnival how it is the best and soca is the best, and this time I said to him "My youth, what kind a music yuh have inna yuh car?" The argument done immediately! He started laughing and saying "you got me, you got me!" Finally massive, the next time Kenwyn Jones score a goal fo Sunderland unnu look good pon him celebration and mek mi know which part a T&T dem Dance deh created!