Jamaica vs. Trini Cultural Expression
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostGood! When yuh have time, listen to a Vybz Kartel song and den listen to a Bob.
That would be Bob, as in Marley, not Dylan. Yuh can listen to Dylan too. See if you can spot the difference in those styles/genres/beats."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Naminirt View PostThe biggest parties now in toronto are soca parties boy even lindo p do soca Doh Cay AH leaving the return fete
Gregory, Marcia, Barrington Levy, Beres, Buju, Capleton, Movado....All these stage shows drew crowds larger than any soca shows and they charge at least double what the soca shows charge. I've been hearing this soca taking over thing for decades yet the times I've been to Trinidad I hear more reggae than anything else unless it's carnival season. How do you explain this?
Wishful thinking on your part.
you know one of my bonafide bredin is from TT and some of the best parties was the soca parties.. But the females had me distracted I did not hear the music. Nothing against the music but I can only take it for so long.. same for dancehall and this is comming from someone who played part one and version side for years.
Originally posted by Rudi View PostI live in Toronto. Stop Lying. Redemption alone bigger than any soca dance.
Gregory, Marcia, Barrington Levy, Beres, Buju, Capleton, Movado....All these stage shows drew crowds larger than any soca shows and they charge at least double what the soca shows charge. I've been hearing this soca taking over thing for decades yet the times I've been to Trinidad I hear more reggae than anything else unless it's carnival season. How do you explain this?
Wishful thinking on your part.Last edited by Naminirt; January 26, 2009, 07:12 PM.
Mosiah, yuh still a wata pumpy, and kool & deadly. Keep out a young bwoy argument!!!Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Funny you should say that. I actually like the new daggerin dance. In fact, I love it!
I remember the first time I saw it, about 8 months ago or so, di way dem wenna hangle di girl, I was about to call the police! But I've gotten to really appreciate it as an art form.
Sorry to disappoint you, Historian, but a suh.